This is the "Home" page of the "History (Non-United States)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Admin Sign In 

History (Non-United States)  

Last update: Dec 15, 2011 URL: http://libguides.auburn.edu/HistoryNon-US  Print Guide   RSS Updates ShareThis
HomePrint Page
  Search: 
 
 
 

Welcome

UNDER CONSTRUCTION

   Welcome to the History (Non-United States) page.  This page serves as a gateway to some of the library's History resources.  General informaton is located here to help you get started with historical research.  This page is undergoing a major redesign but, for now, features rather extensive lists of resources useful to those doing research in the area of History (except for the United States).

 

Reference Tools

Reference Tools

  There are, literally, hundreds of encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference tools relating to the field of (non-United States) history.  The few titles listed below are only a sample of some of the most helpful available in the Ralph Brown Draughon Library.

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Africana, 2nd Floor Reference DT 14 .A37435 1999

Airline Encyclopedia: 1909-2000, 2nd Floor Reference HE 9780 .S65 2002

Biographical Dictionary of Women, 2nd Floor Reference CT 3202 .C48 1996

Cambridge Biographical Encyclopedia, 2nd Floor Reference CT 103 .C26 1998

Dictionary of Historical Terms, 2nd Floor Reference D 9 .C67 1998

Dictionary of National Biography (British), 2nd Floor Reference DA 28 .D47

Dictionary of Political Biography, 2nd Floor Reference D 412 .D53 1998

Dictionary of the Second World War, 2nd Floor Stacks D 740 .W47 1989

Dictionary of the Vietnam War, 2nd Floor Reference DS 557.7 .W38 1999

Encyclopaedia of Islam Three, 2nd Floor Reference DS 37 .E523 2007 pt. 1 - pt. 3.

Encyclopedia of Asian History, 2nd Floor Stacks DS 31 .E53 1988

Encyclopedia of European Social History from 1350 to 2000, 3rd Floor Stacks HN 373 .E63 2001

Encyclopedia of Historians and Historical Writing, 2nd Floor Reference D 14 .E53 1999

Encyclopedia of India, 2nd Floor Stacks E 405 .E556 2005

Encyclopedia of Islam, 2nd Floor Reference DS 37 .E523

Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture, 2nd Floor Stacks F 1406 .E53 1996

Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment, 1st Floor Stacks B 802 .E53 2003

Encyclopedia of World Biography, 2nd Floor Reference CT 103 .E56 1998

Encyclopedia of World History, 2nd Floor Reference D 21 .E577 2000

Europe 1789 to 1914: Encyclopedia of the Age of Industry and Empire, 2nd Floor Stacks D 299 .E375 2006

Europe Since 1914: Encyclopedia of the Age of War and Reconstruction, 2nd Floor Stacks D 424 .E94 2006

Historic World Leaders, 2nd Floor Reference D 412 .H57 1994

Islamic Desk Reference, 2nd Floor Reference DS 35.53 .I83 1994

Merriam-Webster's Biographical Dictionary, 2nd Floor Reference CT 103 .M47 1995

Oxford Classical Dictionary, 2nd Floor Reference DE 5 .O9 1996

Oxford Companion to World War II, 2nd Floor Reference D 740 .O93 1995

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography,2nd Floor Reference DA 28 .O95 2004 (Also available electronically; see [#indexes Indexes and Databases] below).

Oxford Dictionary of World History, 2nd Floor Reference D 9 .D45 2000

Oxford Encyclopedia of World History, 2nd Floor Reference D 21 .E53 1998

Prominent Women of the Twentieth Century, 2nd Floor Reference CT 3235 .P76 1996

St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture, 2nd Floor Stacks E 169.1 .S764 2000

World War II: The Encyclopedia of the War Years, 2nd Floor Reference D 7435 .P57 1996

Almanacs, Chronologies, and Yearbooks

Chronology of World History, 2nd Floor Reference D 11 .M39 1999

Current Biography (1940-1954), 1st Floor Stacks CT 100 .C8

Current Biography Yearbook (1955- ), 1st Floor Stacks CT 100 .C8

Facts on File Yearbook, 2nd Floor Reference (1985-) D 410 .F3, 2d Floor Stacks (1941-84) D 410 .F3Historic Documents of [Year], E 839.5 .H57

Keesing's Contemporary Archives, (1931-1986) 2nd Floor Stacks D 410 .K4Keesing's Record of World Events, D 410 .K4

[edit] Statistical Sources

International Historical Statistics: Africa, Asia & Oceania, 1750-2000, 2nd Floor Reference HA 4675 .M552 2003

International Historical Statistics: Europe, 1750-2000, 2nd Floor Reference HA 1107 .M5 2003

International Historical Statistics: the Americas, 1750-2000, 2nd Floor Reference HA 175 .M55 2003

Other Reference Sources

Reference Sources in history: An Introductory Guide, 2nd Floor Stacks D 20 .F75 2004 (2nd. Ed.)

Library of Congress Call Numbers for History

C Auxilary Sciences of History
--CB History of Civilization
--CD Archives
--CT Biography
D General and Old World History
--DA-DR Europe
--DS Asia
--DT Africa
--DU Oceania
E General U.S. History
F Local U.S., Canadian, and Latin American History
----1-975 U.S. Local
----1001-1140 Canada
----1201-1392 Mexico
----1401-3799 Central-South America

Indexes and Databases

Indexes and Databases

Below are listed and described a few major History-related databases.  For a complete list, please see the History databases link found under the Articles and Databases tab and then the Databases by Subject link on the Auburn University Libraries homepage.    All databases are available on campus and remotely unless otherwise noted. To access a resource from home, you will need to type your global i.d. and password just as you would do for logging in to any campus computer. This log in procedure is required so that the database companies can verify if you are a currently enrolled Auburn University student or currently employed faculty or staff member of the university.

Subject Databases

Eighteenth Century Collections Online

Eighteenth Century Collections Online provides full text of significant English-language and foreign-language titles printed in Great Britain during the eighteenth century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas encompassing the American Revolution, the Industrial Revolution, the French Revolution, and the Age of Reason.
 
Handbook of Latin American Studies
Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress. Alternates annually between social sciences and humanities from 1935 onward.
 
HAPI Online
Hispanic American Periodicals Index made available online. Provides citations to worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. Coverage is 1970 to the present and includes articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in more than 500 social science and humanities journals. Many of the citations are linked to full text.
 
Historical Abstracts
Historical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada). Includes information abstracted from more than 2000 journals published worldwide. From 1955 onward.
 
Historical Newspapers Online
Online indexing of the Times (London) from 1790 - 1980 and the New York Times from 1851 - 1923. Also includes full text of the Times (London) from 1785 - 1870.
 
Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research
Search and browsing access to abstracts and data sets in the world's largest archive of computerized social science data.
 
 
JSTOR
A full-text index to backfiles (up until the last five-six years) of selected journals in the social sciences, history included.
 
Military & Government Collection
Provides access to over 500 military-related publications.
 
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography.
An illustrated collection of 50,000 biographies of people who have shaped all aspects of British history from 400 B.C. to 2000. (Also available in print; see [#reference Reference Tools] above).
 
Project Muse
A full-text index to selected humanities and social science journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press
 
Women Writers Online
A project of Brown University making early modern women's writings available in full-text online.


      
     

    Journals

     Journals

    Journal titles are not listed here because of instability caused by subscription cancellations (due to budget cuts) and an increasing shift from print format to electronic-only format.  Be sure to check the A.U. Libraries' online catalog to see if the libraries subscribe to that journal and to see the availability of back issues in any format (print, microform, or electronic).

      

     

    Web Sites

    Web Sites

    By Geographic Region


    '
    Latin America and Caribbean

    Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC) Digitized materials concerning the study of Caribbean culture and history

    Internet Resources for Latin America A variety of sources relating to numerous aspects of Latin American studies.

    Latin American Pamphlet Digital Collection Digitized images of more than 5,000 pamphlets owned by Harvard University. Mostly 19th century. The pamphlets cover a variety of topics related to cultural life, boundary disputes, religion, and politics from numerous countries.

    The Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC) A comprehensive website on Latin America including numerous History links.

    Library of Congress Hispanic Reading Room Digital information on Iberia and Latin America including history.

    Library of Congress HLAS Online: Handbook of Latin American Studies Online version of the standard reference source published from 1935 onwards. Multidisciplinary. Provides thousands of citations per year to literature relating to Latin American studies.

    Online Resources for Cuban and Cuban-American Studies from the Cuban Heritage Collection Several separate collections at the University of Miami of personal papers, music, photographs, and postcards from the 1850's to the present.

    Pew Hispanic Center The Pew Hispanic Center at the University of Southern California is a think tank concerned with primarily current/recent policy issues affecting U.S. Latinos.

    Slave Trade Archives A joint project of UNESCO and the Slave Trade Archives Project to preserve primary documents concerning the transatlantic slave trade that are housed in the libraries and archives in Benin, Cape Verde, Gambia, Ghana, Senegal, Argentina, Barbados, Brazil, Colombia, Cuba, and Haiti.

    The South Texas Border, 1900-1920: Photographs from the Robert Runyon Collection Includes photographs of participants in the Mexican Revolution (1910-1920).

    The Spanish-American War in Motion Pictures68 motion pictures produced 1898-1901 of the Spanish-American War and Philippine Revolution. Viewing the films requires downloading video software available on the site.

    United States and Brazil: Expanding Frontiers, Comparing Cultures A cooperative project of the Library of Congress and the National Library of Brazil. Covers 18th. century to present. Available in both English and Portuguese.


    '
    Europe

    The 1916 Rising: Personalities and Perspectives Digitized primary source documents from the National Library of Ireland relating to the Easter Rising of 1916.

    Academic Guide to Jewish History: Major Print & Internet Scholarly Resources

    An Gorta Mor: The Great Hunger Archive Digitized minute books of the Killarney Workhouse in County Kerry for 1845-48 and other works relating to the Irish potato famine.

    Ancient World Mapping Center Mainly European and Middle Eastern.

    Archaeological Resource Guide for Europe: WWW Virtual Library for European Archaeology

    Archive of European Integration - AEI A growing collection of working, policy, and conference papers, small monographs, and pre-prints.

    BOPCRIS (British Official Publications Collaborative Reader Information) British official publications (government documents, etc.) covering 1688-1995. NOTE: many documents not yet available in full-text.

    British History Online Most useful for county/local, London, and parliamentary history.

    Byzantium: Byzantine Studies on the Internet

    Center for Jewish History

    The Churchill Papers: A Catalogue Online catalogue to approximately 1,000,000 records associated with Winston Churchill held at the Churchill Archives Centre in Cambridge, England.

    Classical Myth: The Ancient Sources Greek.

    De Re Militari: The Society for Medieval Military History Includes lists of books, articles, primary sources, book reviews, and links to web sites. Covers Europe and the Middle East.

    Early Modern Women Database A portal to more than 200 Web resources on women in early modern Europe and the Americas c. 14th. - 19th. centuries.

    Encyclopedia of British History, 1500-1980

    Encyclopedia of 1848 Revolutions Brief scholarly essays on topics relating to the European revolutions of 1848.

    English Short Title Catalogue Covers monograph and serial letterpress items printed 1473-1800 in mostly Britain and North America, mostly in the English language This is a bibliography, not a full-text database.

    EuroDocs Primary historical documents from Western Europe.

    EuroInternet: the World Wide Web Virtual Library for European Integration Comprehensive collection of Internet resources for all aspects of European integration.

    Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index Indexes journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages.

    First World War.com Summaries, time lines, essays, and primary documents.

    France in America=La France en Amerique Bilingual collection of digitized documents relating to the French presence in North America from the 16th. through 19th. centuries. A cooperative project of the Library of Congress and La Bibliotheque Nationale de France.

    French Studies Web: Reference Shelf

    Gallica Digital library project of the French national library (Bibliotheque Nationale de France). Over 90,000 documents from the Middle Ages through the 19th. Century.

    Gathering the Jewels = Casglu'r Tlysau: The Website for Welsh Cultural History Over 20,000 digitized images covering Welsh history from prehistoric times to the present.

    [http://www.ihrinfo.ac.uk/cmh/gaz/gazweb2.html Gazetteer of Markets and Fairs in England and Wales to 1516.

    Historical Directories Digitized local and trade directories published in England and Wales c. 1750-1919.

    Historical Research in Europe Information about European libraries and archives.

    History Guide A guide to scholarly Internet and CD-ROM resources in Anglo-American history and Central and Western European history.

    History of the United Kingdom: Primary Documents

    Holocaust Encyclopedia Produced by the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum.

    Imperial War Museum Collections On-Line A digital repository of the Imperial War Museum's (Great Britain) physical collection. Main focus is Great Britain and war in the 20th. century.

    Irish History on the Web

    The Labyrinth: Resources for Medieval Studies

    Liberty, Equality, Fraternity Provides overview of major players and proceedings of the French Revolution. Provides over 600 digitized primary sources.

    Making the History of 1989 Focusses on the fall of communism in Eastern Europe. Includes of 300 digitized primary sources.

    Medieval & Early Modern Studies Subject Guide Produced by University of Florida.

    Medieval English Towns

    Medieval Studies Guide Produced by Yale University. Many resources including an annotated bibliography.

    Meeting of Frontiers Covers exploration and settlement of the West by the United States and the Russian experience in Siberia, the Far East, and Alaska.

    Museum of Jewish Heritage Digitized materials pertaining to 20th. century Jewish history including the Holocaust.

    The National Archives of England, Wales and the United Kingdom The National Archives were created in 2003 by combining the Public Records Office and the Historical Manuscripts Commission. This web site is a catalog of more than 9 million records housed in the National Archives.

    naval-history.net Naval history, mainly British, focusing on World War I, World II, and the Falklands War.

    Nazi and East German Propaganda Guide Page

    NetSERF: The Internet Connection for Medieval Resources

    New France, New HorizonsImages and documents covering the 400-year history of the French presence in North America. (The viewer can select either English or French language options).

    The Nizkor Project Documentation of the Holocaust.

    Official DocumentsLink to the Stationery Office, the publisher of most British government documents. Citations to documents published 1994 onward. NOTE: some major government documents such as Acts of Parliament not included here.

    The ORB - Online Reference Book for Medieval Studies

    The Perseus Digital Library An evolving digital library on ancient Greece.

    The Prehistoric Archaeology of the Aegean

    The Proceedings of the Old Bailey, London, 1674-1913 Digitized proceedings of nearly 200,000 trials in London's main criminal court.

    REESWeb: Russian and East European Studies

    Royal Historical Society Bibliography An authoritative guide to what has been written about British and Irish history from the Roman period to the present day. The Bibliography is hosted by the Institute of Historical Research, which is part of the University of London. Over 440,000 entries. Updated three times a year.

    Russian and East European Network Information Center (REENIC)

    The Soldier in Later Medieval England 250,000 service records of English soldiers who saw active duty in the latter phases of the Hundred Years War (records cover 1369-1453). Three different databases of records (muster roll, protection, Normandy Garrison) from England and France. They provide the names, rank, year of service, and other information about those who took part in the English military.

    The Spanish-American War in Motion Pictures68 motion pictures produced 1898-1901 of the Spanish-American War and Philippine Revolution. Viewing the films requires downloading video software available on the site.

    Tennessee Bob's Famous French Links Despite the name, a site useful to scholars of French and Francophone studies. Includes links to sites concerning the history of France and the French-speaking world.

    20 Years After: Life Beyond Communism in Central and Eastern Europe

    United States Holocaust Memorial Museum

    Uniting the Kingdoms? An exhibit sponsored by the United Kingdom National Archives concerning the British Isles and France, c. 1066-1603.

    Victorian Studies on the Web Covers all aspects of British Victorian studies.

    Victorian Web Information about 19th-century Britain.

    WESSWEB: Western European Specialists Section Created by the Association of College and Research Libraries. Regional and historical information about Western Europe.

    The World War I Document Archive Digitized primary material including diplomatic correspondence and treaties, military records, and more.

    WWW Virtual Library: West European Studies

    Yad Vashem: The Holocaust Martyrs' and Heroes' Remembrance Authority


    Africa

    16th.-20th. Century Maps of Africa Digitized maps of Africa collected by the Melville J. Herskovits Library of African Studies at Northwestern University.

    Africa Focus: Sights and Sounds of a Continent Multimedia materials concerning African history and culture. Sound files are mainly from West Africa.

    Research Central Online guide to primary resources and repositories.

    Africa South of the Sahara

    AfricaBib.org Bibliographical databases: Bibliography of Africana Periodical Literature Database and African Women's Database. Also Women Travelers, Explorers and Missionaries to Africa: 1763-2004: A Comprehensive English Language Bibliography).

    African Studies Center Web site produced by the African Studies Department at the University of Pennsylvania. Links to news sources, a multimedia library, and Web links.

    The African Studies Companion: A Guide to Information Sources Covers print and electronic resources, databases, and repositories in the field of African Studies.

    African Studies Internet Resources

    Africaresource.com Includes data resources on Africa and the Diaspora and scholarly essays.

    Afrique Francophone Interdisciplinary site in French.

    Digital Egypt for Universities Basic information on and images of Ancient Egypt.

    Slave Trade Archives A joint project of UNESCO and the Slave Trade Archives Project to preserve primary documents concerning the transatlantic slave trade that are housed in the libraries and archives in Benin, Cape Verde, Gambia, Ghana, Senegal, Argentina, Barbados, Brazil, Colombia, Cuba, and Haiti.



    Middle East'

    Academic Guide to Jewish History: Major Print & Internet Scholarly Resources

    Ancient World Mapping Center Mainly European and Middle Eastern.

    Arab Culture and Civilization A project of the Natiional Institute for Technology and Liberal Education. This site is also known as the NITLE Arab World Project.

    Arab-Islamic HistoryLinks to full-text articles and book chapters covering 12 centuries of Arabic and Islamic history.

    ArabNet: the Online Resource for the Arab World in the Middle East & North America Mostly news, business, and cultural information rather than history.

    ArmenianHouse.orgFull-text collection of documents and books related to Armenian history and literature.

    CDLI: Cuneiform Digital Library Initiative Open-access digital archive of all known cuneiform tablets from ancient Mesopotamia dating between 3350 B.C. and 100 A.D. More than 200,000 tablets have been cataloged so far.

    De Re Militari: The Society for Medieval Military History Includes lists of books, articles, primary sources, book reviews, and links to web sites. Covers Europe and the Middle East.

    Digital Egypt for Universities Basic information on and images of Ancient Egypt.

    Distinguished People in Arab HistoryLinks to biographical articles.

    Eternal Egypt From the predynastic era to the present. Produced by the Egyptian Center for Documentation of Cultural and Natural Heritage.

    The Gertrude Bell Project Digitized collection of correspondence, diaries, and photographs of Gertrude Bell (1868-1926), an English world traveler who focussed much of her attention on the Middle East.

    Government Views of Iraq Mostly U.S. federal government documents available online concerning Iraq including history.

    History in the News: Middle East History, Society, and Culture Resources

    Internet Islamic History Sourcebook

    Introduction to the Arab WorldComprehensive introduction to general Arab history. Site a product of Middle East News and World Report.

    Iraq: The Cradle of Civilization at Risk: Cultural Heritage and Historical Monuments

    MENIC: The Middle East Network Information Center Online directory of Middle East Internet sites arranged by 10 broad categories. (History is located under "Arts and Humanities").

    The Middle East, 1916-2001: A Documentary Record Information about the Middle East through government documents, transcripts of government leaders' speeches, and UN resolutions. Part of the Avalon Project at the Yale Law School.

    Middle East and Jewish Studies Electronic bibliographic and research resources concerning Middle East and Jewish studies.

    The Middle East North Africa Internet Resource Guide Electronic resources covering the "Middle East" defined as 30 states and regions from Mauritania to Pakistan.

    MuslimHeritage.com Articles and article summaries about Muslim culture and history.

    POxy: Oxyrhynchus OnlineOnline guide to this ancient Egyptian city and the papyri found there.

    Theban Mapping ProjectDocumentation of Valley of the Kings and Theban necropolis of Ancient Egypt.


    Asia, Australia, and the Pacific


    Asian Studies WWW Virtual Library

    The Atomic Bomb and the End of World War II: A Collection of Primary Sources From the National Security Archive at Gelman Library, George Washington University.

    Australian History: Selected Websites A product of the National Library of Australia. A comprehensive list of assessed subject web sites.

    Bibliography of East Timor Online bibliography of scholarly books and articles on East Timor society and history.

    Cambodia Genocide Program Links to newspaper, journal articles, photos, and databases covering the events of 1975-79.

    Central Eurasian Studies Worldwide Sponsored by the Harvard Program on Central Asia and the Caucasus.

    Dictionary of New Zealand Biography

    Digital South Asia Library Access to journal articles, statistics, maps and photographs, dictionaries, 19th.-century reference books, and more.

    East & Southeast Asia: an Annotated Directory of Internet Resources

    Korea: The Unfinished War Source materials relating to the Korean War.

    Korean American Digital Archive A virtual library concerning the Korean American community c. 1903-1965.

    Meeting of Frontiers Covers exploration and settlement of the West by the United States and Russia's experience in Siberia, the Far East, and Alaska.

    The Mongols in World History Online curriculum materials including some primary sources.

    National Library of Australia Indonesia Site Bibliographies, library resources, and Internet sites on Indonesian studies.

    National University of Singapore Digital Library Original documents and bibliographies.

    NativeWeb Resources for indigenous peoples worldwide, some relating to history.

    New Zealand Text Centre Collection of digitized images, books, manuscripts, and journals on topics related to New Zealand and Pacific Island history/culture. Over 2,600 documents.

    Pacific Studies WWW Virtual Library A directory of links to Web sites, bibliographies, and discussion lists mostly about the Pacific Islands.

    PAIR: Portal to Asian Internet Resources Provides access to more than 6000 resources in a variety of disciplines including History.

    Research Site on Indonesia, Southeast Asia, the Islamic World, and American Society

    The Spanish-American War in Motion Pictures68 motion pictures produced 1898-1901 of the Spanish-American War and Philippine Revolution. Viewing the films requires downloading video software available on the site.

    Te Ara - The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

    Te Puna Web Directory: A Directory to New Zealand & Pacific Island Web Sites

    Tibetan & Himalayan Digital Library Wide variety of resources and wide variety of subjects including history.

    The Vietnam Project, Texas Tech University Scholarship of the American experience in Vietnam plus materials on the Vietnamese revolution and war.

    Vietnam War Bibliography Annotated. Covers books, articles, microforms, and government documents 1946-75.

    Virtual Vietnam Archive Digitization of all non-copyrighted material at Texas Tech University's Vietnam Archive.

    A Visual Sourcebook of Chinese Civilization Provides a history of Chinese civilization via images rather than text. Appropriate for K-12 plus undergraduate students.

    The Wars for Viet Nam: 1945 to 1975 Brief narrative history of the Viet Nam War plus links to primary documents and to related websites.


    International

    Academic Guide to Jewish History: Major Print & Internet Scholarly Resources

    American Geographical Society Library Digital Map Collection

    The Avalon Project at the Yale Law School Reproduces important documents in law, history, and diplomacy from the Code of Hammurabi through the present.

    Best of History Web Sites Online directory to over 700 History web sites covering everything from Prehistory to the Twentieth Century.

    The Biographical Dictionary Entries for over 28,000 "notable men and women who have shaped our world from ancient times to the present day."

    Biography.com A product of Arts and Entertainment television network. Includes The Cambridge Biographical Encyclopedia (1994).

    Center for History and New Media Gateway to academic directories, journal articles, databases, and more with information on the use of electronic media within the discipline of history.

    Center for Jewish History

    Chief George Manuel Memorial Library and the Fourth World Documentation Archive Full-text access to social, political, economic, and political rights documents pertaining to the Fourth World ("nations forcefully incorporated into states which maintain a distinct political culture but are internationally unrecognized").

    The Cold War International History Project Online access to government documents and archival materials from the former Communist bloc countries as well as from the West.

    Computerhistory.org Web site of the Computer History Museum (located in Mountain View, Calif.)

    Constitution Finder Provides a listing of and the text of constitutions, charters, amendments, and related documents for 211 governmental entities worldwide (as of 2007).

    Country Studies Online version of the standard federal government-produced series providing detailed information about the politics, anthropology, history, religion, economics, and more about countries throughout the world.

    David Rumsey Map Collection Digitized images of mainly nineteenth-century American atlases and school geographies.

    Digital History: A Guide to Gathering, Preserving, and Presenting the Past on the Web

    Diotima: Materials for the Study of Women and Gender in the Ancient World

    E.H.Net Encyclopedia of Economic and Business HistoryA product of the Economic History Association. Mostly, but not entirely, focusses on the United States.

    Exploring Ancient World Cultures: An Introduction to Ancient World Cultures on the World Wide Web

    Fordham University's Internet History Sourcebooks Project

    Foreign Relations of the United States Online version of the important series published by the U.S. Department of State. Covers 1861-1976 so far. Presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity.

    Foreign Relations of the United States Digitized version by the University of Wisconsin - Madison Libraries of the important series published by the U.S. Department of State. Presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity.1861 - 1960, incomplete.

    Frontline Diplomacy: The Foreign Affairs Oral History Collection of the Association for Diplomatic Studies and TrainingMore than 1300 transcribed interviews of foreign service officers in the diplomatic corps. Mostly concerning Europe and Latin America, c. 1920's - 1940's.

    Genocide Studies Program Articles, maps, and databases relating to projects of Yale University's Genocide Studies Program.

    The Gertrude Bell Project Digitized collection of correspondence, diaries, and photographs of Gertrude Bell (1868-1926), an English world traveler who focussed much of her attention on the Middle East.

    Holocaust Encyclopedia Produced by the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum.

    The Index of Articles on Jewish Studies Bibliography with worldwide coverage.

    International Institute of Social History Online access to catalog of the Institute, established in 1935 in Amsterdam. Focus is on labor history.

    Internet Islamic History Sourcebook

    Intute: Arts & Humanities Large gateway (over 18,000 Web resources) for various specialities including History and Archaeology.

    The Jewish history Resource Center Thousands of links to organizations and Internet resources covering all eras of Jewish history.

    Library of Congress: Country Studies Online version of the standard "Country Studies" (also known as "Area Handbook") series. Valuable information about countries of the world, including history.

    Map History/History of Cartography: THE Gateway to the Subject

    MemoryArchive: The Encyclopedia of Memories Hundreds of memoirs submitted by members of the general public via "Wiki" technology. Focus is primarily, but not exclusively, the United States.

    The Mongols in World History Online curriculum materials including some primary sources.

    Museum of Jewish Heritage Digitized materials pertaining to 20th. century Jewish history including the Holocaust.

    MuslimHeritage.com Articles and article summaries about Muslim culture and history.

    National Geographic: Remembering Pearl Harbor Virtual war maps, first-hand accounts, photographs, and timelines pertaining to the attack of December 7, 1941 and World War II.

    NativeWeb "A cyber-community for Earth's indigenous peoples." Includes some historical information.

    naval-history.net Naval history, mainly British, focusing on World War I, World War II, and the Falklands War. Some information provided on American, European, and Japanese naval history.

    NYPL Digital Gallery Hundreds of thousands of digitized images from the collections of the New York Public Library. Broad subject divisions include History & Geography.

    OAIster Broad, generic information retrieval resource for publicly available digital library resources. A collaborative project among research libraries based at the University of Michigan.

    The Online Library of Liberty Online full-text access to over 1450 titles on individual liberty, limited government, and the free market. This web site is a product of Liberty Fund, Inc., a private educational fund promoting "a society of free and responsible individuals."

    Peace Corps Digital Library A searchable collection of select electronic Peace Corps materials from 1961 to the present.

    Portals to the World Links to "authoritative, in-depth information" about nations of the world selected by Library of Congress subject specialists.

    Repositories of Primary Sources Links to over 5500 repositories worldwide.

    Slave Trade Archives A joint project of UNESCO and the Slave Trade Archives Project to preserve primary documents concerning the transatlantic slave trade that are housed in the libraries and archives in Benin, Cape Verde, Gambia, Ghana, Senegal, Argentina, Barbados, Brazil, Colombia, Cuba, and Haiti.

    Social Science Data Archives Links to a wide variety of topics in sociology, history, and other social sciences.

    The Spanish-American War in Motion Pictures68 motion pictures produced 1898-1901 of the Spanish-American War and Philippine Revolution. Viewing the films requires downloading video software available on the site.

    The Torture Archive Part of the National Security Archive at George Washington University, provides access to over 83,000 pages of primary documents concerning the detention and interrogation of individuals by the U.S. government.

    Women's Studies Librarian's Website A comprehensive web site of resources relating women's studies including the field of history.

    The World Wide Web Virtual Library: Indigenous Studies

        
       

      Book Reviews in History

       

      Finding BOOKS REVIEWS IN HISTORY

       

      Book Review Index; 1965-present. Location: 2nd floor Reference Collection. (Blue/yellow covers!) Citations to reviews listed alphabetically by author. Check the volume for the year in which book published as well as the next few years. A title index is included in back of each volume if author uncertain. Obtain full title of periodical from list of abbreviations in front of volume. Search Aubiecat to see if we have journal and issue

      Book Review Digest

      ; 1906-1999. Location: 2nd Floor Reference Collection. Citations to reviews listed alphabetically by author. Excerpts of some reviews included. A subject/title index found in back volume. Check the volume for the year in which book published as well as the next few years. To search Aubiecat to see if we have periodical, get full title from list of abbreviations in front.

      Combined Retrospective Index to Book Reviews in Scholarly Journals, 1886-1974.

      Location: 4th floor, Call Number: Z 1035 .A1 C64. Citations to reviews in history, political science, and sociology listed alphabetically by author. Volumes 13-15 are a title index. Search Aubiecat to see if we have the journal and issue you need.

      Academic Search FULLTEXT Elite

      ; 1990 - present. Electronic general index available under Indexes and Databases on homepage (use drop down arrow.). Many citations include full text of article indicated by book icon. If you do not have a full-text article, you must search Aubiecat under journal title to see if we have the periodical and issue needed to obtain the review.

      JSTOR

      . Location: from library homepage select Full-Text Databases. JSTOR is a full text index to backfiles of selected academic journals, mainly in social science, among them, fifteen titles in history. Each journal is indexed from the first issue until 1993-95, depending on the journal. In the first search box at the top of the screen, type in the title of your book, and select "title" from the drop-down menu next to it. Under "Search in," check off "All History journals", and under "Include only," choose "reviews." Scroll down to the bottom and click "Search."

      America: History and Life

      . 1969- Location: from Library homepage, select Indexes and Databases by Title. Type the title of the book in quotation marks in the title field. The title of the journal in which the review has been published appears in the full entry. Reviews of books in history sometimes appear two or more years after the publication of the book. Search Aubiecat to see if we have journal and year needed to obtain the full text of the review. Print volumes located on 3rd floor, index table #9, side A, cover from 1954-1995.

      Social Sciences Citation Index

      1984- Choose from list of Indexes and Databases from the home page. Choose full search option, check Social Sciences Citation Index and choose General Search option. Enter keywords for topic with an "and" connector then scroll to the bottom of the page and choose book reviews for document type. Enter search. Check Aubiecat to see if we have the journal listed in the citation.

      H-Net Reviews

      Online; 1993 - present. Location: URL: http://www.h-net.msu.edu/reviews/This website lists all the reviews of books posted to the H-net group of history listservs. Click on either "1998 Book

      Reviews," "Search the H-Net Reviews", or "Browse the H-Net Reviews" on the left of the page.

      Project Muse: Reviews in American History

      ; 1995/96 - present. Location: from library homepage, select Full-Text Databases, then Project Muse or Indexes and Databases by Title. Click "Search." In the search box at the top, type in your title in single quotation marks, the word "and," followed by the author�s last name. Example: �daybreak of freedom� and burns. At the bottom, check off the box next to Reviews in American History, and the circle next to search in titles, authors and subjects. Then select the "simple" search type option.

       

      Associations and Societies

      Associations and Societies

      Alabama Department of Archives and History
      Alabama Historical Association
      American Historical Association
      International Institute of Social HistoryEstablished in 1935.
      Organization of American Historians (Formed in 1907; American history)
      Southern Historical Association (Formed in 1934; history of the American South)
      SHOT: Society for the History of Technology (Formed in 1958; an interdisciplinary organization to encourage the study of the development of technology and its relations with society and culture.)
      Society of Alabama Archivists
      The Society of American Archivists
          

        Discussion Lists and Newsgroups

        Discussion Lists and Newsgroups

        Subject Specific

        H-Net book reviews The major listserv for research in history; includes book reviews.
        Electronic Mailing Lists at Auburn University Contains links to help sites for all varieties of mailing lists.
            

          Auburn University Department and Course Pages

          Auburn University Department and Course Pages

          History Department

          Top of page


          If you have any comments about this information page, please contact:
          Tim Dodge at RBD Library Last updated December 15, 2011at 9:07 a m.

              

            My Profile

            Profile Image
            Tim Dodge
            Contact Info:
            Reference Department
            Ralph Brown Draughon Library
            231 Mell St.
            (334) 844-1729
            Send Email
             

            Auburn University Libraries | 231 Mell Street | Auburn, Alabama 36849 | (334) 844-1737 or (800) 446-0387 |

            Follow The Libraries on Twitter Follow the Auburn Libraries on Flickr Follow the Auburn Libraries on Facebook

            Description

            Loading  Loading content... please wait