This is the "History (United States)" page of the "History (United States)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Admin Sign In 

History (United States)  

Last update: Dec 15, 2011 URL: http://libguides.auburn.edu/HistoryUS  Print Guide   RSS Updates ShareThis

History (United States)Print Page
  Search: 
 
 
 

Welcome

UNDER CONSTRUCTION

 Welcome to the History (United States) page.  This page serves as a gateway to some of the library's American History resources.  General informaton is located here to help you get started with historical research.  This page is undergoing a major redesign but, for now, features rather extensive lists of resources useful to those doing research in the area of American History.

 

Reference Tools

Reference Tools

 

   There are, literally, hundreds of encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference tools relating to the field of United States history.  The few titles listed below are only a sample of some of the most helpful available in the Ralph Brown Draughon Library.

 

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

African-American Encyclopedia, 2nd Floor Reference E 185 .A253 1993
Airline Encyclopedia: 1909-2000, 2nd Floor Reference HE 9780 .S65 2002
American National Biography, 2nd Floor Reference CT 213 .A68 1999
Biographical Dictionary of Women, 2nd Floor Reference CT 3202 .C48 1996
Black Women in America, 2nd Floor Reference E 185.86 .B542 2005 (Second Edition)
Black Women In America: An Historical Encyclopedia, 2nd. Floor Stacks E 185.86 .B542 1993
Cambridge Dictionary of American Biography, 2nd Floor Reference CT 213 .C36 1995
Dictionary of American Biography, 2nd Floor Reference E 176 .D563
Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History, 2nd Floor Stacks E 185 .E54 1996
Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History: The Black Experience in the Americas, 2nd Floor Reference E 185 .E54 2006
Encyclopedia of African American History: From the Colonial Period to the Age of Frederick Douglass (1619-1895), 2nd Floor Stacks E 185 .E545 2006
Encyclopedia of the American Civil War, 2nd Floor Reference E468 .H47 2000
Encyclopedia of the Confederacy, 2d Floor Stacks E 487 .E55 1993

Statistical Sources

Datapedia of the United States: 1790-2000, 3rd Floor Stacks HA 214 .K87 1994
Datapedia of the United States: American History in Numbers (3rd. Ed.), 3rd Floor Stacks HA 202 .K87 2004
Historical Statistics of the United States, Colonial Times to 1970, 1st Floor Government Documents C 3.134/2:H 62/789-970/
Historical Statistics of the United States: Earliest Times to the Present, 2nd Floor Reference HA 202 .H57 2006
International Historical Statistics: the Americas, 1750-2000, 2nd Floor Reference HA 175 .M55 2003
Statistical Abstract of the United States, 2nd Floor Reference C 3.134: [year] and HA 202, 1st Floor Stacks (incomplete, 1892-) C 3.134: [year] and 3rd Floor Stacks (incomplete, 1892-) HA 202 Also available online (see Web Sites, below).

Other Reference Sources

American Bibliography [also known as Early American Imprints, 1639-1820], 1st Floor Library of Congress Collection, Z 1215 .E923
American Decades 1900-1999 (10 volumes), 2nd Floor Reference E 169.12 .A419 1994
American Eras (Pre-1600 through 1899) (8 volumes), 2nd Floor Reference E 169.1 .A471979 1997
American Newspapers, 1821-1936, 1st Floor Library of Congress Collection Z 6945 .A53
74
Historical Atlas of the United States, 2nd. Floor Reference Atlas Stand G 1201 .S1 H5 2003
)
 

Indexes and Databases

Indexes and Databases

Below are listed and described a few major History-related databases.  For a complete list, please see the History databases link found under the Articles and Databases tab and then the Databases by Subject link on the Auburn University Libraries homepage.    All databases are available on campus and remotely unless otherwise noted. To access a resource from home, you will need to type your global i.d. and password just as you would do for logging in to any campus computer. This log in procedure is required so that the database companies can verify if you are a currently enrolled Auburn University student or currently employed faculty or staff member of the university.

Subject Databases

America: History and Life
Historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes information abstracted from over 2000 journals published worldwide. Includes book reviews. From 1964 onward.''

 
American Civil War: Letters and Diaries
Full-text access to letters, diaries, and memoirs of participants in and observers of the Civil War including politicians, generals, slaves, farmers, housewives, and others from both the North and the South as well as a few foreign observers. The database also supplies biographical information about the authors of these documents and can be searched by author, date, battle, personal event, geographical location, and other criteria.
 
American State Papers, 1789-1838
A major collection of U. S. federal government documents, the American State Papers consist of bound volumes of all reports, documents, and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives for the years 1789-1838. The American State Papers are the predecessor to the U.S. Congressional Serial Set which begins with the 15th. Congress in 1817 and continues through the present. The digitization of the Serial Set is being done in stages by the Readex company and is part of the Archive of Americana series of databases and currently is available for the 15th. - 58th. Congress (1817-1904). Eventually, this database will provide coverage through the 96th. Congress (1980). This database can be searched and browsed. PDF images of all documents are available for downloading and printing
.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online
Eighteenth Century Collections Online provides full text of significant English-language and foreign-language titles printed in Great Britain during the eighteenth century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas encompassing the American Revolution, the Industrial Revolution, the French Revolution, and the Age of Reason.

Historical Abstracts  Historical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada). Includes information abstracted from more than 2000 journals published worldwide. From 1955 onward.

JSTOR
A full-text index to backfiles (up until the last five-six years) of selected journals in the social sciences, history included.
 
Project Muse
A full-text index to selected humanities and social science journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press
 
U. S. Congressional Serial Set
A major collection of U. S. federal government documents, the U. S. Congressional Serial Set consists of bound volumes of all reports, documents, and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives. The digitization of the Serial Set is being done in stages by the Readex company and is part of the Archive of Americana series of databases and currently is available for the 15th. - 58th. Congress (1817-1904). Eventually, this database will provide coverage through the 96th. Congress (1980). This database can be searched and browsed. PDF images of all documents are available for downloading and printing.
 
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000
Access to a variety of document and primary resources pertaining to women and social movements from 1600 to 2000.


 

Journals

 Journals

Journal titles are not listed here because of instability caused by subscription cancellations (due to budget cuts) and an increasing shift from print format to electronic-only format.  Be sure to check the A.U. Libraries' online catalog to see if the libraries subscribe to that journal and to see the availability of back issues in any format (print, microform, or electronic).

Web Sites: United States

United States and Canada

Across the Generations: Exploring U.S. History through Family Papers Online exhibit of papers of four prominent northeastern families from the late 18th. through early 20th. century.

Ad*Access Reproduces over 7,000 printed advertisements from 1911-1955

African-American Mosaic A Library of Congress resource guide for the study of black history and culture.

African American Odyssey Digitized primary resources from the Library of Congress.

African American Perspectives: Pamphlets from the Daniel A. P. Murray Pamphlet Collection, 1818-1907

Africans in America Primary documents c. 1450-1865.

Afro-Louisiana History and Genealogy, 1719-1820 Demographic information on 100,000 slaves in colonial Louisiana.

Alabama Department of Archives and History Web site of the state archives for the state of Alabama.

Alabama Mosaic A cooperative project to create a dynamic collection of images and sounds relating to Alabama history. Developed under auspices of The Cornerstone Project, a collaborative statewide initiative.

Alaska's Digital Archives Primary sources on Alaskan cultural and political history.

Alaskool Central Online materials about Alaska Native history, education, languages, and cultures.

AMDOCS: Documents for the Study of American History A bibliography of primary documents available online.

America in the 1930s

America at Work, America at Leisure: Motion Pictures from 1894-1915 150 films. Part of the Library of Congress American Memory collection. NOTE: must download special software to view films.

The American Civil War Homepage

The American Folklife Center: the Library of Congress

The American Geographical Society Collection

American Indian Materials in the Federal Depository Libraries of Oklahoma Bibliography listing federal and non-federal documents located in 19 federal depository libraries concerning American Indians.

American Indians of the Pacific Northwest

American Journeys Full-text access to eyewitness accounts of early American exploration and settlement, c. 1000-1844.

American Life Histories Manuscripts from the Federal Writers' Project, 1936-1940

American Memory Primary source and archival materials relating to United States history and culture from Library of Congress special collections.

American Notes: Travels in America, 1750-1920 253 published narratives by Americans and foreign travelers provide observations about people, culture, and places.

The American Presidency Project Includes the Public Papers of Presidents Hoover through George W. Bush and much more.

American Slave Narratives Text of interviews with former slaves conducted by the Works Progress Administration, 1936-38.

American Variety Stage: Vaudeville and Popular Entertainment, 1870-1920

American Women: A Gateway to Library of Congress Resources for the Study of Women's History and Culture in the United States

American Women's History: A Research Guide

AmericanPresident.org Detailed overviews of the presidents arranged by periods: 1789-1850, 1850-1897, 1897-1969, 1969-present.

Annotated Bibliography of Government Documents Related to the Threat of Terrorism and the Attacks of September 11, 2001 Produced by the Oklahoma Department of Libraries, this bibliography provides over 700 pages of listings of federal government documents from c. 1980 onward.

Antietam on the Web About the Civil War battle of September 17, 1862 described as "the single bloodiest day in American history."

Appalachian Studies Bibliography Covers publications from 1994-2004.

Appalachian Treasures Gateway A directory of Internet sites on Appalachian culture, images, social customs, history, and more.

Archives.gov Web site of the National Archives and Records Administration.

The Atomic Bomb and the End of World War II: A Collection of Primary Sources From the National Security Archive at Gelman Library, George Washington University.

Auburn University Digital Collections Features a variety of digitized documents and images relating to Auburn University, the state of Alabama, and more.

Battle Lines: Letters from America's Wars From the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History. Digitizedimages of letters between soldiers and families plus audio reading aloud of the letters.

A Biography of America Described as "a self-contained college-level history course."

Birmingham Public Library Digital Collections Digitized documents including photographs mainly relating to the history of Birmingham, Alabama.

Black Members of the United States Congress, 1870-2005 A report by the Congressional Research Service of the Library of Congress.

Black Studies Over 50 broad categories with links to fulltext documents and images.

BlackPast.org: Remembered & Reclaimed Combines secondary research and primary sources relating to African American history. Described as "the Google" of African American history.

The Booker T. Washington Papers Digitization of the 14-volume work published by the University of Illinois Press. Also includes links to supplemental materials.

Boston African Americana Project Digitized archival materials from the Boston Athenaeum, the Bostonian Society, Historic New England, and the Massachusetts Historical Society c. 1770-1950, mostly from the 1860's.

Built in America: Historic American Buildings Survey/Historic American Engineering Record, 1933 - Present Over 350,000 drawings, photographs, and short histories about more than 35,000 historic sites.

"California as I Saw It": First-Person Narratives of California's Early years, 1849-1900

Calisphere: A World of Primary Sources and More The California Digital Library's free database of digitized primary resources from the University of California system and partner institution collections. Features over 150,000 unique items, including a rich variety of photos, diaries, cartoons, ads, art, newspaper images, oral history transcripts, and other material concerning the history and development of California.

Canadian Studies: A Guide to the Sources Government and academic sources covering Canada's culture, history, and literature.

Canadiana: The Canadian Resource Page

Catherwood Digital Collections A product of the Martin P. Catherwood Library, School of Industrial and Labor Relations at Cornell University. Over 350,000 digitized photographs plus other materials pertaining to economic history.

CensusScope A product of the Social Science Data Analysis Network, University of Michigan. Demographic media for the use of students, researchers, policy makers, and the public. Mostly from the 1990 and 2000 Census of Population and Housing.

Center for Jewish History

Center of Military History (CMH) U.S. Army's Center of Military History.

Center of the American West Mainly articles relating to the modern history of the American West.

A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation U.S. Congressional documents and debates 1774-1875.

The Chinese in California, 1850-1925 Over 8000 digitized documents and archival materials.

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers A project of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP), it is jointly sponsored by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress. When complete, this free online database will allow users to search a directory of 23,000 American newspaper titles published from 1690 to the present. Still under development.

CIA FOIA: Electronic Reading Room Information provided by the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) on how to request information from the Central Intelligence Agency (CIA). Site provides access to previously declassified documents, some dating back to 1940.

Civil Rights Digital Library Includes digitized news film on major Civil Rights events; a digital portal to resources from 75 academic libraries and other institutions; and an instructional component.

Civil Rights in Mississippi Digital Archive Focuses on the Freedom Summer Project of 1964.

Civil Rights Movement Veterans Memories and reflections by civil rights movement veterans of the 1960s.

Colonial Williamsburg

Combat Studies Institute (CSI) Nearly all publications of the CSI from 1979 onward available online. The CSI is part of the U.S. Army Command and General Staff College.

Computerhistory.org Web site of the Computer History Museum (located in Mountain View, Calif.)

Contrails Formerly known as Wright Air Development Center (WADC) Digital Collection. Federal Government-produced technical reports relating to the space race of the 1950's and 1960's.

The Core Historical Literature of Agriculture Digitized selections from the Mann Library at Cornell University. Note limitations: lacking coverage c. 1850-1900 and lacking coverage of South.

Council of State Archivists (CoSA) A directory and clearinghouse of information.

The Crisis of the Union: An Electronic Archive about the Causes, Conduct, and Consequences of the US Civil War

CultureCanada.gc.ca Canadian cultural information, including History. Site is available in English or French language versions.

David Rumsey Map Collection Digitized images of mainly nineteenth-century American atlases and school geographies.

"The Decisive Day Is Come": The Battle of Bunker Hill Digitized primary accounts of the Revolutionary War battle from the collections of the Massachusetts Historical Society.

Densho: The Japanese American Legacy Project Concerns the internment of Japanese Americans during World War II.

Dictionary of Canadian Biography Online Includes persons who died or were active c. 1000-1920.

Dictionary of Wisconsin History

Digital History: A Guide to Gathering, Preserving, and Presenting the Past on the Web

Digital Library of Georgia Provides access to the history of Georgia as found in manuscripts, photographs, books, newspapers, maps, and audio/video resources. An initiative of GALILEO, a Web-based virtual library supported by the Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia. A portal to more than 500,000 digital objects in 100-plus collections from 60 institutes and 100 government agencies.

Digital Library on American Slavery Abstracted data on individual slaves, slaveholders, and free people of color. Entries come from petitions, wills, and other official documents filed at county courts and legislatures in 15 slaveholding states over a period of nearly 100 years.

Digital Schomburg Images of African Americans from the Nineteenth Century

Disability History Museum Focuses on the history of disability as a social rather than a medical phenomenon.

Discovering American Women's History Online Provides access to over 400 digital collections covering the 17th. Century to the present.

Documenting the American South A collection of primary documents from the colonial period through 1940.

Documents from the Continental Congress and the Constitutional Convention 1764-1789 From the Library of Congress.

The Dolley Madison Project Digitized images of Dolley Madison (wife of President James Madison), archive of her letters, and other online resources.

The Duluth Lynchings Online Resource: Historical Documents Relating to the Tragic Events of June 15, 1920 A product of the Minnesota Historical Society.

The E Pluribus Unum Project Electronic archive of sources pertaining to the 1770s, 1850s, and 1920s focusing on questions of American identity.

E.H.Net Encyclopedia of Economic and Business History A product of the Economic History Association.

Early Modern Women Database A portal to over 200 Web resources on women in early modern Europe and the Americas c. 14th. - early 19th. centuries.

Early Recognized Treaties with American Indian Nations. See also Indian Affairs: Laws and Treaties

Emergence of Advertising in America, 1850-1920 Over 9000 digitized images plus essays.

Encyclopedia of Alabama

The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History and Culture

Encyclopedia of Chicago

Encyclopedia Virginia Covers the commerce, history, culture, arts, and sciences of Virginia.

English Short Title Catalogue Covers monograph and serial letterpress items printed before 1801 in the British Isles, Colonial America, and the United States of America (1776-1800), Canada, or territories governed by Britain, in all languages. This is a bibliography, not a full-text database.

Eugenics Archive: Image Archive on the American Eugenics Movement

Feeding America: The Historic America Cookbook Project Digitized significant works in American culinary history c. 1798-1922.

The First American West: the Ohio River Valley, 1750-1820 Part of the Library of Congress's American Memory project. Features digitized materials on the history, economy, and social life of the trans-Appalachian West.

First Person Narratives of the American South, 1860-1920 Includes diaries, autobiographies, memoirs, travel accounts, and ex-slave narratives.

First World War.com Summaries, time lines, essays, and primary documents.

The Flint Sit-Down Strike Audio Gallery Interviews conducted 1978-1984 of participants in Flint, Michigan General Motors strike of 1936-1937.

Florida Memory Project Significant Florida documents and photographs online. A project of the Florida Bureau of Archives & Records Management.

Foreign Relations of the United States Online version of the important series published by the U.S. Department of State. Covers 1861-1976 so far. Presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity.

Foreign Relations of the United States Digitized version by the University of Wisconsin - Madison Libraries of the important series published by the U.S. Department of State. 1860's - 1950's, incomplete.

The Founders' Constitution Web version of five-volume reference anthology of primary documents antecedent to the U.S. Constitution

France in America=La France en Amerique Bilingual collection of digitized documents relating to the French presence in North America from the 16th. through 19th. centuries. A cooperative project of the Library of Congress and La Bibliotheque Nationale de France.

The Franklin D. Roosevelt Presidential Library and Museum Digital Archive Concentrates mostly on diplomatic and wartime records.

The Frederick Douglass Papers at the Library of Congress

Free Speech Movement Digital Archive Digitized records concerning the Free Speech Movement at the University of California at Berkeley. A major development in campus radicalism of the 1960's.

Gateway for the Organization of American Historians A directory of general and specific history sites.

A Geographic Guide to Uncovering Women's History in Archival Collections Arranged by state and a few international sites.

The Gilder Lehrman Center for the study of Slavery, Resistance, and Abolition Includes over 200 digitized primary documents concerning the Atlantic slave trade and its aftermath.

Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History Intended for historians, educators, students, and the general public. Also includes digitized documents.

Government Views of the Rosenberg Spy Case Declassified federal government documents from the F.B.I., C.I.A., and other agencies concerning this important Cold War era case.

The Great Chicago Fire and the Web of Memory''''' About the fire of 1871. Covers causes, course, and consequences of the fire and its cultural representation.

Harlem History''' Online information concerning this predominently African American New York City neighborhood focussing on culture and politics.

Historic Government Publications from World War II: A Digital Library Digitized U.S. government documents from the collections of Southern Methodist University.

Historical Census Data Browser U.S. census data, 1790-1960.

Historical Maps Online Digitized maps focussing on Illinois and the Northwest Territory c. 1650-1976.

Historical Publications of the United States Commission on Civil Rights

Historical Statistics of the United States, Colonial Times to 1970 Click on "Bicentennial Edition: Historical Statistics of the United States, Colonial Times to 1970" Part 1 and Part 2). Online version of the print reference source.

History Guide A guide to scholarly internet and CD-ROM resources in Anglo-American history and Central and Western European history.

History Matters: the U.S. Survey Course on the Web Designed for teachers of U.S. survey courses at high school and college levels.

The History of Jim Crow Information on the systematic segregation of African Americans c. 1870's - 1950's.

History of the American West, 1860-1920''''' 30,000 digitized photographs of daily life in Colorado c. 1860-1920.

The History of the Supreme Court Authored by professors and sponsored by the New York Life Insurance Company in conjunction with their sponsorship of the PBS series The Supreme Court, this site includes teacher resources, time lines, factual articles, and a separate encyclopedia.

HistoryLink.org: The Onlinline Encyclopedia of Washington State History

Holocaust Encyclopedia Produced by the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum.

Homicide in Chicago, 1870-1930 Online primary and secondary sources concerning 11,000 homicides committed in Chicago during the period 1870-1930.

Illinois during the Gilded Age Digitized primary sources c. 1866 - 1896.

In Motion: The African-American Migration Experience Covers 13 migrations from the 16th. century to the present. Developed by the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture.

Indian Affairs: Laws and Treaties Full text of (nearly) all treaties between the United States and Native American tribes. See Early Recognized Treaties with American Indian Nations for additional treaties.

Indian Land Cessions Maps of Indian land sessions up to 1894 reproduced from 18th. Annual Report of the Bureau of American Ethnology (1896-97).

Indian Peoples of the Northern Great Plains

Invincible Cities Combination of essays and photographs documenting urban change in Camden, N. J., Richmond, Calif., and Harlem in New York City. A "multilayered archaeology of the modern city."

IPUMS - CPS Integrated Public Use Microdata Series - Current Population Survey. Provides integrated data and documentation from the March Supplement of the Current Population Survey (CPS) from the period 1962 to 2005. The harmonized CPS data are designed to be compatible with decennial census data in IPUMS-USA. Registration required: users are automatically registered when they agree to all conditions for use.

IPUMS - International International (Integrated Public Use Microdata Series, International) is the world's largest collection of publicly available individual-level census data. The data are samples from population censuses from around the world taken since 1960. Names and other identifying information have been removed. The variables have been given consistent codes and have been documented to enable cross-national and cross-temporal comparisons. Registration required: users must submit abstract of research project when registering for IPUM-I approval.

IPUMS - USA The Integrated Public Use Microdata Series (IPUMS) consists of thirty-eight high-precision samples of the American population drawn from fifteen federal censuses and from the American Community Surveys of 2000-2004. The IPUMS assigns uniform codes across all the samples and brings relevant documentation into a coherent form to facilitate analysis of social and economic change. Registration required: users are automatically registered when they agree to all conditions for use.

The James Fenimore Cooper Society Digitized primary and secondary sources concerning the novelist and historian (lived 1789-1851).

The James Madison Papers Over 12,000 digitized documents c. 1723-1836 relating to the president and his family from the Manuscript Division of the Library of Congress.

Jamestown Rediscovery Information about archaeological research conducted in Jamestown Island, Virginia.

Jewish Women's Archive Variety of online resources pertaining to North American Jewish women.

Jews in America Audiovisual and text materials available online covering 1654 onward presented by the Center for Jewish History.

Kansas State Historical Society

Kentuckiana Digital Library Digitized materials from Kentucky libraries, archives, historical societies, and museums

Korea: The Unfinished War Source materials relating to the Korean War.

Korean American Digital Archive A virtual library concerning the Korean American community c. 1903-1965.

Lakota Winter Counts: An Online Exhibit Sioux pictographic calendars recording events in Plains Indian history. Digitzed by the Smithsonian Institution.

Lewis and Clark: The Journey of the Corps of Discovery

Library and Archives Canada National Library of Canada web site with a focus on the history of Canada from 1867 onward.

Library of American Civilization Full-text access to many titles in this microfiche set of 19th.-century documents.

Lincoln/Net: Abraham Lincoln Historical Digitization Project Primary sources on Lincoln and antebellum Illinois, and a collection of narrative essays.

The Living Room Candidate: Presidential Campaign Commercials, 1952-2008 This site requires appropriate software for viewing/playing the commercials. It is possible to view transcripts as well.

Lyndon Baines Johnson Library and Museum An archives of primary sources focussed on his presidency, c. 1963-1969.

Maine Memory Network Over 12,000 primary documents relating to Maine and New England. A product of the Maine Historical Society.

Making of America Primary sources for nineteenth-century American social history.

The Malcolm X Project at Columbia University A variety of resources pertaining to Malcolm X and his impact on American society. Includes an index to 4000 pages of F.B.I. files.

Map Collections: American Memory From the Geography and Map Division (GMD) of the Library of Congress, through the American Memory project.

Martin Luther King, Jr. Research and Education Institute

Meeting of Frontiers Covers exploration and settlement of the West by the United States and Russia's experience in Siberia, the Far East, and Alaska.

MermoryArchive: The Encyclopedia of Memories Hundreds of memoirs submitted by members of the general public via "Wiki" technology. Focus is primarily, but not exclusively, the United States.

Mission to Arizona, 1916-1940: Father Augustine Schwarz, O.F.M. Photographs of Catholic missionary activity among the Pima, Papago, and Apache Indians.

Monticello: The House of Thomas Jefferson

A More Perfect Union: Japanese Americans & the U. S. Constitution Concerns the internment of Japanese Americans during World War II.

Museum of Jewish Heritage Digitized materials pertaining to 20th. century Jewish history including the Holocaust.

NARA: United States Archives and Records Administration

National Geographic: Remembering Pearl Harbor Virtual war maps, first-hand accounts, photographs, and timelines pertaining to the attack of December 7, 1941 and World War II.

National Postal Museum Online exhibitions plus reference material covering postal history.

National Security Archive Full-text access to declassified documents from federal agencies such as the Department of State, Department of Defense, the C.I.A., and the National Security Council.

National Women's History Museum Educational resources for a general audience.

Native American Documents Project Primary source materials on the Allotment Act, the Indians of California, the Rogue River War, and the resettlement of Indians on the Oregon coast.

Nature Transformed: The Environment in American History''''' Interpretive essays and teaching guides, mainly at the high school level but useful to undergraduates as an introduction.

Naval Historical Center (NHC) Gateway to U.S. Navy history on the World Wide Web.

New France, New Horizons Images and documents covering the 400-year history of the French presence in North America. (The viewer can select either English or French language options).

New Georgia Encyclopedia Described as an authoritative source of information about people, places, events, institutions, and many other topics relating to the state."

New York History NetState history information.

Online Resources for Cuban and Cuban-American Studies from the Cuban Heritage CollectionSeveral separate collections at the University of Miami of personal papers, music, photographs, postcards, and more from the 1850's to the present.

Panoramic Maps, 1847-1929 Over 1,500 maps of American cities and towns.

Papers of the War Department, 1784-1800 Digitized documents pertaining to the War Department that are physically scattered in repositories across the nation. A project of the Center for History and New Media at George Mason University.

Peace Corps Digital Library A searchable collection of select electronic Peace Corps materials from 1961 to the present.

Pew Hispanic CenterThe Pew Hispanic Center at the University of Southern California is a think tank concerned with mostly current/recent policy issues affecting U.S. Latinos.

Photography History: Fred J. Maroon and the Nixon Years, 1970-1974'Internet exhibit of photographs of Richard Nixon and other government officials taken by Fred J. Maroon.

The Plymouth Colony Archive Project Scholarly analyses, documents, and data on the reconstruction of the 17th.-century Plymouth Colony in Massachusetts.

Poetic Waves: Angel Island Interactive web site exploring experience of Chinese immigrants on Angel Island, San Francisco during era of exclusion (1882-1943). The Angel Island immgiration station opened in 1910. Some of the immigrants carved poetry into the walls while detained in the barracks.

The Presidential Timeline of the Twentieth Century An interactive timeline for Presidents Hoover through Clinton covering most of the Twentieth Century.

Radical America Digitized issues of the radical college student magazine c. 1967-1981.

Public History Resource Center Information about public history, resources held by historical societies, and a history of historical societies.

Raid on Deerfield Site explores histories, cultures, and encounters of five nations (two European and three Indian) starting with the 1704 raid on Deerfield, Massachusetts.

Regional Oral History Office Approximately 2000 transcripts of interviews relating to life in San Francisco, California, and the western United States.

The Rutgers Oral History Archives of World War II, Korea, Vietnam, and the Cold War More than 425 transcripts of interviews with Rutgers alumni.

Salem Witch Trials Documentary Archives and Transcription Project

Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture Online access to resources of the Center, a research unit of the New York Public Library, devoted to collecting materials on the African diaspora.

Seattle Civil Rights and Labor History Project A series of research papers on civil rights history in relation to Seattle, Washington.

The "Second Wave" and Beyond: Primary Sources of the Women's Movement 1960 to Present

Selected Historical Decennial Census Population and Housing Counts Data from 1790 onward.

September 11, 2001, Documentary Project Reactions, eyewitness accounts, and diverse opinions.

Slave Trade Archives A joint project of UNESCO and the Slave Trade Archives Project to preserve primary documents concerning the transatlantic slave trade that are housed in the libraries and archives in Benin, Cape Verde, Gambia, Ghana, Senegal, Argentina, Barbados, Brazil, Colombia, Cuba, and Haiti.

Social Explorer Historical census data using interactive maps and reports. Currently covers 1940-2000 censuses of population. Eventually, this database is planned to cover 1790 onward as well.

The Sonja Haynes Stone Center Library for Black Culture and History Guide to the Web Searchable guide to overr 600 web sites under 30 subjects.

The South Texas Border, 1900-1920: Photographs from the Robert Runyon Collection

The Spanish-American War in Motion Pictures 68 motion pictures produced 1898-1901 of the Spanish-American War and Philippine Revolution. Viewing the films requires downloading video software available on the site.

Statistical Abstract of the United States All editions from 1878 onward.

Studs Terkel: Conversations with America Oral history. Site requires appropriate software for hearing/viewing interviews.

A Study Guide to the Vietnam War (Using Books) Covers 14,000+ English-language titles.

The Supreme Court Historical Society Much research material concerning the U.S. Supreme Court including biographies, bibliographies, papers of the justices, opinions, procedures of the court, and more.

The Tennessee Encyclopedia of History and Culture

Territorial Kansas Online, 1854-1861 Digitized primary sources.

Thomas A. Edison Papers Online access to at least 180,000 items selected from the holdings of the Edison National Historic Site in West Orange, N.J.

Thomas Jefferson Digital Archive Digitized correspondence of Jefferson via the Electronic Text Center of the University of Virginia Library.

Thomas Jefferson Encyclopedia A product of the Jefferson Library staff at Monticello.

Thomas Jefferson Papers Digital images and transcriptions of Jefferson manuscripts at the Library of Congress.

The Torture Archive Part of the National Security Archive at George Washington University, provides access to over 83,000 pages of primary documents concerning the detention and interrogation of individuals by the U.S. government.

Touring Turn-of-the-Century America: Photographs from the Detroit Publishing Company, 1880-1920

Trails of Hope: Overland Diaries and Letters, 1846-1869 Digitized documents of Mormon settlers.

Trails to Utah and the Pacific: Diaries and Letters, 1846-1869 Digitized documents of Mormon settlers.

Uncle Tom's Cabin and American Culture Popular culture materials c. 1830-1930 relating to Harriet Beecher Stowe's 1852 antislavery novel.

United States and Brazil: Expanding Frontiers, Comparing Cultures A cooperative project between the Library of Congress and the National Library of Brazil. Covers 18th. century to the present. Available in both English and Portuguese.

United States Experiment Station Publications From the Digital Collections of the University of North Texas Libraries, a digitized collection of reports and annual publications covering the period 1889-1946 so far, and, eventually up through 1954.

United States Military Academy Digital LibraryDigitized materials primarily focussing on the history of the U. S. Military Academy.

U. S. Army Military History Institute (MHI) Primary source materials documenting the history of the U.S. Army.

United States Senate Historical Office Wide range of historical resources including statistics, primary texts, and interpretive materials about the U.S. Senate

Urban Experience in Chicago: Hull-House and its Neighborhoods, 1889-1963 Primary source documents, illustrations, and restrospective essays.

The Valley of the Shadow: Two Communities in the American Civil War Thousands of hyperlinks describing the Civil War experience of a community in Virginia and another in Pennsylvania.

Veterans History Project Firsthand accounts of American veterans of Twentieth-Century wars.

The Vietnam Project, Texas Tech University Scholarship of the American experience in Vietnam plus materials on the Vietnamese war and revolution.

Vietnam War Bibliography Annotated. Covers books, articles, microforms, and government documents 1946-75.

Virtual Jamestown Digital resources on the first permanent English settlement in North America. Explores connections between Europeans, Africans, and Indians.

Virtual Museum & Archive of SEC and Securities History Digitized archival materials pertaining to the Securities and Exchange Commission. Especially good coverage of the New Deal era.

Virtual Vietnam Archive Digitization of all non-copyrighted material at Texas Tech University's Vietnam Archive.

Voices of Civil Rights A collection of personal stories of participants in modern civil rights movements c. 1945-1975.

Voices of World War II: Experiences from the Front and at Home

The War of the Rebellion: a Compilation of the Official Records of the Union and Confederate Armies Complete text online of the official records as published by the Government Printing Office between 1880 and 1901. This online version supplied by Cornell University Library.

The Wars for Viet Nam: 1945 to 1975 Brief narrative history of the Viet Nam War plus links to primary documents and related websites.

We Shall Overcome: Historic Places of the Civil Rights Movement

WhiteHousetapes.org 5000 hours' worth of U.S. Presidents' recordings from Franklin Roosevelt through Richard Nixon. Must use FLAC or MP3 software for access.

Who Killed William Robinson? Race, Justice, and Settling the land - A Historical Whodunit' Site provides transcribed newspaper reports, letters, diaries, oral histories, official correspondence, and court records relating to this murder committed in 1868 in British Columbia.

The Wilbur and Orville Wright Papers at the Library of Congress Digital images of over 10,000 items from the Wright Papers and related collections mostly from c. 1900-1940.

Without Sanctuary Photographs and postcards of lynching in America.

Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600 to 2000

Women, Enterprise & Society: A Guide to Resources in the Business Manuscripts Collection at Baker Library A guide to materials at the Baker Library of the Harvard Business School. Covers eighteenth through twentieth century collections.

Women in Print: Essays on the Print Culture of American Women from the Nineteenth and Twentieth Centuries PDF version of the book edited by James P. Danky and Wayne A. Wiegand. Published by the University of Wisconsin.

Women Working, 1870-1930 Digitized historical, manuscript, and image resources from the Open Collections Program at Harvard University Library.

Women's Studies in Digital Archives A project of the Women's Studies Section of the Association of College & Research Libraries (ACRL) identifies women's studies content available in broad digital collections of primary sources. Focus is primarily on the United States.

Women's Studies Librarian's Website A comprehensive web site of resources relating women's studies including the field of history. Covers both United States and international history resources.

The World War I Document Archive Digitized primary research material including diplomatic correspondence and treaties, military records, and more.

WWW Virtual Library - American Indians: Index of Native American Resources on the Internet

      

    Web Sites: International

    INTERNATIONAL

    Academic Guide to Jewish History: Major Print & Internet Scholarly Resources

    American Geographical Society Library Digital Map Collection

    The Avalon Project at the Yale Law School Reproduces important documents in law, history, and diplomacy from the Code of Hammurabi through the present.

    Best of History Web Sites Online directory to over 700 History web sites covering everything from Prehistory to the Twentieth Century.

    The Biographical Dictionary Entries for over 28,000 "notable men and women who have shaped our world from ancient times to the present day."'''''Biography.com A product of Arts and Entertainment television network. Includes The Cambridge Biographical Encyclopedia (1994).

    Center for History and New Media Gateway to academic directories, journal articles, databases, and more with information on the use of electronic media within the discipline of history.

    Center for Jewish History

    Chief George Manuel Memorial Library and the Fourth World Documentation Archive Full-text access to social, political, economic, and political rights documents pertaining to the Fourth World ("nations forcefully incorporated into states which maintain a distinct political culture but are internationally unrecognized").

    The Cold War International History Project Online access to government documents and archival materials from the former Communist bloc countries as well as from the West.

    Computerhistory.org Web site of the Computer History Museum (located in Mountain View, Calif.)

    Constitution Finder Provides a listing of and test of constitutions, charters, amendments, and related documents for 211 governmental entities worldwide (as of 2007).

    Country Studies Online version of the standard federal government-produced series providing detailed information about the politics, anthropology, history, religion, economics, and more about countries throughout the world.

    David Rumsey Map Collection Digitized images of mainly nineteenth-century American atlases and school geographies.

    Digital History: A Guide to Gathering, Preserving, and Presenting the Past on the Web

    Diotima: Materials for the Study of Women and Gender in the Ancient World

    E.H.Net Encyclopedia of Economic and Business History A product of the Economic History Association. Mostly, but not entirely, focusses on the United States.

    Exploring Ancient World Cultures: An Introduction to Ancient World Cultures on the World Wide Web

    Fordham University's Internet History Sourcebooks Project

    Foreign Relations of the United States Online version of the important series published by the U.S. Department of State. Covers 1861-1976 so far. Presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity.

    Foreign Relations of the United States Digitized version by the University of Wisconsin - Madison Libraries of the important series published by the U.S. Department of State. Presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity.1861 - 1960, incomplete.

    Frontline Diplomacy: The Foreign Affairs Oral History Collection of the Association for Diplomatic Studies and Training More than 1300 transcribed interviews of foreign service officers in the diplomatic corps. Mostly concerning Europe and Latin America, c. 1920's - 1940's.

    Genocide Studies Program Articles, maps, and databases relating to projects of Yale University's Genocide Studies Program.

    Holocaust Encyclopedia Produced by the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum.

    The Index of Articles on Jewish Studies Bibliography with worldwide coverage.

    International Institute of Social History Online access to catalog of the Institute, established in 1935 in Amsterdam. Focus is on labor history.

    Internet Islamic History Sourcebook

    Intute: Arts & Humanities Large gateway (over 18,000 Web resources) for various specialities including History and Archaeology.

    The Jewish history Resource Center Thousands of links to organizations and Internet resources covering all eras of Jewish history.

    Library of Congress: Country Studies Online version of the standard "Country Studies" (also known as "Area Handbook") series. Valuable information about countries of the world, including history.

    Map History/History of Cartography: THE Gateway to the Subject

    MemoryArchive: The Encyclopedia of Memories Hundreds of memoirs submitted by members of the general public via "Wiki" technology. Focus is primarily, but not exclusively, the United States.

    The Mongols in World History Online curriculum materials including some primary sources.

    Museum of Jewish Heritage Digitized materials pertaining to 20th. century Jewish history including the Holocaust.

    MuslimHeritage.com Articles and article summaries about Muslim culture and history.

    National Geographic: Remembering Pearl Harbor Virtual war maps, first-hand accounts, photographs, and timelines pertaining to the attack of December 7, 1941 and World War II.

    NativeWeb "A cyber-community for Earth's indigenous peoples." Includes some historical information.

    naval-history.net Naval history, mainly British, focusing on World War I, World War II, and the Falklands War. Some information provided on American, European, and Japanese naval history.

    NYPL Digital Gallery Hundreds of thousands of digitized images from the collections of the New York Public Library. Broad subject divisions include History & Geography.

    OAIster Broad, generic information retrieval resource for publicly available digital library resources. A collaborative project among research libraries based at the University of Michigan.

    The Online Library of Liberty Online full-text access to over 1450 titles on individual liberty, limited government, and the free market. This web site is a product of Liberty Fund, Inc., a private educational fund promoting "a society of free and responsible individuals."

    Peace Corps Digital Library A searchable collection of select electronic Peace Corps materials from 1961 to the present.

    Portals to the World Links to "authoritative, in-depth information" about nations of the world selected by Library of Congress subject specialists.

    Repositories of Primary Sources Links to over 5500 repositories worldwide.

    Slave Trade Archives A joint project of UNESCO and the Slave Trade Archives Project to preserve primary documents concerning the transatlantic slave trade that are housed in the libraries and archives in Benin, Cape Verde, Gambia, Ghana, Senegal, Argentina, Barbados, Brazil, Colombia, Cuba, and Haiti. Social Science Data Archives Links to a wide variety of topics in sociology, history, and other social sciences.

    The Spanish-American War in Motion Pictures 68 motion pictures produced 1898-1901 of the Spanish-American War and Philippine Revolution. Viewing the films requires downloading video software available on the site.

    The Torture Archive Part of the National Security Archive at George Washington University, provides access to over 83,000 pages of primary documents concerning the detention and interrogation of individuals by the U.S. government.

    Women's Studies in Digital Archives A project of the Women's Studies Section of the Association of College & Research Libraries (ACRL) identifies women's studies content available in broad digital collections of primary sources. Focus is primarily on the United States.


    Women's Studies Librarian's Website A comprehensive web site of resources relating women's studies including the field of history.

    The World Wide Web Virtual Library: Indigenous Studies

        
       

      Finding Book Reviews

       

      Finding BOOKS REVIEWS IN HISTORY

       

      Book Review Index; 1965-present. Location: 2nd floor Reference Collection. (Blue/yellow covers!) Citations to reviews listed alphabetically by author. Check the volume for the year in which book published as well as the next few years. A title index is included in back of each volume if author uncertain. Obtain full title of periodical from list of abbreviations in front of volume. Search Aubiecat to see if we have journal and issue

      Book Review Digest

      ; 1906-1999. Location: 2nd Floor Reference Collection. Citations to reviews listed alphabetically by author. Excerpts of some reviews included. A subject/title index found in back volume. Check the volume for the year in which book published as well as the next few years. To search Aubiecat to see if we have periodical, get full title from list of abbreviations in front.

      Combined Retrospective Index to Book Reviews in Scholarly Journals, 1886-1974.

      Location: 4th floor, Call Number: Z 1035 .A1 C64. Citations to reviews in history, political science, and sociology listed alphabetically by author. Volumes 13-15 are a title index. Search Aubiecat to see if we have the journal and issue you need.

      Academic Search FULLTEXT Elite

      ; 1990 - present. Electronic general index available under Indexes and Databases on homepage (use drop down arrow.). Many citations include full text of article indicated by book icon. If you do not have a full-text article, you must search Aubiecat under journal title to see if we have the periodical and issue needed to obtain the review.

      JSTOR

      . Location: from library homepage select Full-Text Databases. JSTOR is a full text index to backfiles of selected academic journals, mainly in social science, among them, fifteen titles in history. Each journal is indexed from the first issue until 1993-95, depending on the journal. In the first search box at the top of the screen, type in the title of your book, and select "title" from the drop-down menu next to it. Under "Search in," check off "All History journals", and under "Include only," choose "reviews." Scroll down to the bottom and click "Search."

      America: History and Life

      . 1969- Location: from Library homepage, select Indexes and Databases by Title. Type the title of the book in quotation marks in the title field. The title of the journal in which the review has been published appears in the full entry. Reviews of books in history sometimes appear two or more years after the publication of the book. Search Aubiecat to see if we have journal and year needed to obtain the full text of the review. Print volumes located on 3rd floor, index table #9, side A, cover from 1954-1995.

      Social Sciences Citation Index

      1984- Choose from list of Indexes and Databases from the home page. Choose full search option, check Social Sciences Citation Index and choose General Search option. Enter keywords for topic with an "and" connector then scroll to the bottom of the page and choose book reviews for document type. Enter search. Check Aubiecat to see if we have the journal listed in the citation.

      H-Net Reviews

      Online; 1993 - present. Location: URL: http://www.h-net.msu.edu/reviews/This website lists all the reviews of books posted to the H-net group of history listservs. Click on either "1998 Book

      Reviews," "Search the H-Net Reviews", or "Browse the H-Net Reviews" on the left of the page.

      Project Muse: Reviews in American History

      ; 1995/96 - present. Location: from library homepage, select Full-Text Databases, then Project Muse or Indexes and Databases by Title. Click "Search." In the search box at the top, type in your title in single quotation marks, the word "and," followed by the author�s last name. Example: �daybreak of freedom� and burns. At the bottom, check off the box next to Reviews in American History, and the circle next to search in titles, authors and subjects. Then select the "simple" search type option.

       

       

      Associations and Societies

      Associations and Societies

      Alabama Department of Archives and History
      Alabama Historical Association
      American Historical Association
      International Institute of Social History''''' Established in 1935.
      Organization of American Historians (Formed in 1907; American history)
      Southern Historical Association (Formed in 1934; history of the American South)
      SHOT: Society for the History of Technology (Formed in 1958; an interdisciplinary organization to encourage the study of the development of technology and its relations with society and culture.)
      Society of Alabama Archivists
      The Society of American Archivists

      Discussion Lists and Newsgroups

      Discussion Lists and Newsgroups

      Subject Specific

      H-Net book reviews The major listserv for research in history; includes book reviews.
      Electronic Mailing Lists at Auburn University Contains links to help sites for all varieties of mailing lists.
          
         

        Department and Course Pages

        Auburn University Department and Course Pages

        History Department

        Top of page

        If you have any comments about this information page, please contact:
        Tim Dodge at RBD Library Last updated December 15, 2011 at 9:11 a. m.

        My Profile

        Profile Image
        Tim Dodge
        Contact Info:
        Reference Department
        Ralph Brown Draughon Library
        231 Mell St.
        (334) 844-1729
        Send Email
         

        Auburn University Libraries | 231 Mell Street | Auburn, Alabama 36849 | (334) 844-1737 or (800) 446-0387 |

        Follow The Libraries on Twitter Follow the Auburn Libraries on Flickr Follow the Auburn Libraries on Facebook

        Description

        Loading  Loading content... please wait