This is the "Home" page of the "Political Science" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Admin Sign In 

Political Science  

Last update: Aug 4, 2011 URL: http://libguides.auburn.edu/PoliSci  Print Guide   RSS Updates ShareThis
HomePrint Page
  Search: 
 
 
 

Welcome

UNDER CONSTRUCTION

   Welcome to the Political Science page.  This page serves as a gateway to some of the library's Political Science resources.  General informaton is located here to help you get started with research in this field.  This page is undergoing a major redesign but, for now, features rather extensive lists of resources useful to those doing research in the area of Political science.

 

Reference Tools

Reference Tools

Encyclopedias and Guides
International encyclopedia of the social & behavioral sciences (26 vols.)
2nd Floor Call Number: (REF H 41 .I58 2001)
The Sage encyclopedia of social science research methods (3 vols.)
2nd Floor Call Number: (REF H 62 .L456 2004)
Social Science Reference Sources: a Practical Guide
2nd Floor Call Number: (REF H 65 .L5 2000)
The illustrated book of world rankings
2nd Floor Call Number: (REF HA 155 .K87 2001)
Country Forecasts
2nd Floor Call Number: (REF HC 10 .C66)
Encyclopedia of Sociology (5 vols.)
2nd Floor Call Number: (REF HM 425 .E5 2000)
The Statesman's Year-Book
2nd Floor Call Number: (REF JA 51 .S7)
The Oxford Companion to Politics of the World
2nd Floor Call Number: (REF JA 61 .O95 2001)
Political Handbook of the World
2nd Floor Call Number: (REF JF 37 .P6)
America at the Polls: a Handbook of American Presidential Election Statistics
2nd Floor Call Number: (REF JK 524 .A73 1994)
CQ's Politics in America
2nd Floor Call Number: (REF JK 1010 .P64)
Directory of Congressional Voting Scores and Interest Group Ratings
2nd Floor Call Number: (REF JK 1051 .S555 1997)
The Encyclopedia of the United States Congress
2nd Floor Call Number: (REF JK 1067 .E63 1995)
The Book of the States
2nd Floor Call Number: (REF JK 2403 .B6)
Congressional Quarterly's Guide to the Presidency
2nd Floor Call Number: (REF JK 516 .C57 1996)
Encyclopedia of the American Constitution
2nd Floor Call Number: (REF KF 4548 .E53 1986)
Landmark Supreme Court Cases: a Reference Guide
2nd Floor Call Number: (REF KF 4549 .L58 1999)
The Supreme Court Justices: a Biographical Dictionary
2nd Floor Call Number: (REF KF 8744 .S859 1994)
Statistics Sources
2nd Floor Call Number: (REF HA 36 .S84)

 

Library of Congress Subject Profile

Call Numbers Subject Headings
JA Political Science (General)
JC Political Theory
JF Political Institutions and Public Administration - General
JJ Political Institutions and Public Administration - North America
JK Political Institutions and Public Administration - United States
JL, JN, JQ Political Institutions and Public Administration - International
JS Local Government
JV Colonies and Colonization. International Migration.
JZ International Relations
K Law in General. Jurisprudence.
KB Religious Law
KD-KDK Law - United Kingdom and Ireland
KF Law - United States
KG-KZ Law - International

Indexes and Databases

All databases are available on campus and remotely, unless otherwise noted.
To access a resource from home, you will need to type your library ID and last name.
Your library ID is usually:
two, zero, your Banner ID, then one.
For example: A person with the Banner ID 123-45-6789 has the library ID: 201234567891
(ALL LINKS WILL OPEN IN NEW WINDOW.)
Subject Databases
JSTOR
A full-text database covering the social sciences, humanities, and sciences. JSTOR provides access to the back files of hundreds of scholarly periodicals, starting with the first issues. Supports full-text and cross-disciplinary searching.
Coverage: Excludes most recent 2-5 years of currently available journals.
Project Muse
Provides access to the full text of the Johns Hopkins University Press's 40+ scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. The collection may be searched collectively or individually.
Coverage: 1990-
CQ Electronic Library
Provides access to five Congressional Quarterly products.
CQ Press Congress Collection
CQ Press Supreme Court Collection
CQ Press Public Affairs Collection
CQ Weekly
CQ Research Online
Coverage: 1992-
Gallup Brain
The Gallup Brain is a searchable, living record of 70 years of public opinion. Inside, you'll find answers to more than 136,000 questions, and responses from more than 3.5 million people interviewed by The Gallup Poll since 1935.
Coverage: 1930-

 

Berkeley Electronic Press Journals An electronic collection of peer-reviewed journals published in the fields of economics, political science, law and current affairs. Includes working papers and dissertations from variety of sources. Full text.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
This database provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy. (CSA Illumina allows searching a group of databases simultaneously.)
Coverage: 1975-
General Databases
Academic Search Premier(AU only)
Provides full text for nearly 4,700 publications, including full text for more than 3,600 scholarly journals. Covers the social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and more.
Coverage: 1975-
AUETD (Auburn University Theses and Dissertations
Electronic access to over 1600 Auburn University dissertations and theses, c. 2004 onward.

 

Expanded Academic ASAP
Indexes over 1500 journal titles in a variety of subject areas including astronomy, religion, law, history, psychology, humanities, current events, sociology, communications, and the general sciences. Articles in over 500 journals are full text.
Coverage: 1980-
Dissertations and Theses
Citations to U.S. dissertations from 1861 to the present; those since 1980 include an abstract written by the author. Masters theses included 1988-. The latest two years are available off-campus, but earlier years are only available on-campus.
Citation Database
Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Science)
Indexes thousands of the world's leading journals in humanities, sciences and social sciences. Especially useful in finding how often a particular author or article is cited in later publications.

 

Access to journals not owned by our library
Ingenta
A general database of article information taken from over 18,000 journals. Allows full-text PDF access and faxing of articles not owned by AU Libraries. Available to AU faculty, graduate students and staff.
Coverage: 1988-.
For other document delivery options, see:
AU Libraries Document Delivery Services
      
     

    Journals

    Check AubieCat, the Auburn University Libraries online catalog. By doing a "journal title" search in that database, you will get the call number for any paper subscription and/or a link to any electronic subscription of the journal.

    Search Catalog: by:

    
    

     

    Web Sites

    Advice to the President Carnegie Corporation of New York designed site. Compiles links to papers of potential interest to the Obama administration. Provides links to papers in 49 policy areas, with five major subdivisions.

    Center for Biosecurity Research and analysis in public and private sector concerning how to deal with aftermath of large-scale epidemics. Test scenarios and operational systems for response management.

    First Amendment CenterFeatures comprehensive research coverage of key First Amendment issues and topics, a unique First Amendment Library and guest analyses by respected legal specialists.

    HUD USER Sponsored by the Office of Policy Development and Research of the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD), this online portal is the primary source of reports and data compiled or commissioned by the federal government on housing policy and programs, building technology, economic development, and city planning. Offers full text of more than 500 housing reports, including regional and metropolitan housing market analyses; raw data in 20 thematic sets; and free access to three HUD periodicals that report original research and provide guidance for applying research to practice. Full-text publications span 1990 to present. Most data sets provide longitudinal information beginning in the 1990s or earlier

    JuRI (Judicial Research Initiative) United States district court and court of appeals data for all states plus the district of Columbia and Puerto Rico.

    JUSTIA Legal website with law blogs and Supreme Court coverage.

    Labordoc Provides access to the International Labour Organization (ILO) library collections. Includes citations to and also electronic access to to approximately 350,000reports, data, proceedings, and papers dealing with work-related issues worldwide.

    The Livingroom Candidate: Presidential Campaign Commercials, 1952-2008 This site requires appropriate software for viewing/playing the commercials. It is possible to view transcripts as well.

    LLRX.com: Law and Technology Resources for Legal Professionals A "premier free, independent one person produced Web journal" that supplies information on "a wide range of Internet research and technology-related issues, applications, resources and tools."

    Media Matters for America Highlights bias perceived in the media by chronicling purported misrepresentations and atrocities, in this case of the conservative persuasion.

    National Indian Law Library A product of the Native American Rights Fund, provides coverage of federal and customary Indian law. Includes Tribal Law Gateway with links to 400 constitutions and 240 codes and ordinances of federally recognized tribes and Alaska Native villages, and more.

    OpenCongress Features bill text, detailed vote results, blogs, media articles on bills, congressional profiles, and more.

    Peace Corps Digital Library A searchable collection of select electronic Peace Corps materials from 1961 to the present.

    PolicyArchive "A comprehensive digital library of public policy research containing over 20,000 documents."

    Political Advertising Resource Center (PARC) Analyzes television ads used in local, state, and national political campaigns from 2004 onward. Features videos and scripts.

    SIPRI: Stockholm International Peace Research Institute Primary data on the arms industry, arms transfers, military expenditures, and multilateral peace operations and topics such as biosecurity, humanitarian military intervention, and foreign military bases. NOTE: some publications NOT available for free downloading.

    Small Arms Survey Data from the Swiss-based Graduate Institute of International Studies. Covers light weapons, ammunition, and related equipment.

    Social Science Information Gateway: Politics A freely available Internet service which aims to provide a trusted source of selected, high quality Internet information for students, academics, researchers and practitioners in the social sciences, business and law. It is part of the UK Resource Discovery Network.

    State & Local Sourcebook Links to information on topics ranging from demographics and education to finance and technology.

    The Torture Archive Part of the National Security Archive at George Washington University, provides access to over 83,000 pages of primary documents concerning the detention and interrogation of individuals by the U.S. government

    Understanding the World Today Created by sociologist Gene Shackman, the site offers sociological, political, and economic data about change worldwide, using data sets from U.S. governmental and other organizational bodies.

    United Nations Audiovisual Library of International Law Multimedia site offers materials "relating to the negotiation and adoption of significant legal instruments under the auspices of the United Nations and related agencies since 1945."

    United Nations Web Site The central portal for access to United Nations organizational information and international statistics.

    USA.gov The central portal for access to U.S. government information online.

    Voting America: United States Politics, 1840-2008 Data and interactive maps.

        

      Associations and Societies

      The American Political Science Association
      The American Political Science Association, founded in 1903, is the leading professional organization for the study of political science and serves more than 15,000 members in over 80 countries. With a range of programs and services for individuals, departments and institutions, APSA brings together political scientists from all fields of inquiry, regions, and occupational endeavors within and outside academe in order to expand awareness and understanding of politics.
      Alabama Political Science Association
      Includes a list of upcoming events in the Alabama area.
      Southern Political Science Association
      Professional organization of political scientists who recognize excellence in scholarship and public service through: (1) publishing the Journal of Politics, (2) hosting an annual conference, and (3) presenting awards for outstanding academic contributions.
      The Peace and Justice Studies Association
      Dedicated to bringing together academics, K-12 teachers and grassroots activists to explore alternatives to violence and share visions and strategies for social justice and social change.
          
         

        Auburn University Department and Course Pages

        Auburn University Political Science Department

        Page last updated on

        August 4, 2011 at 4:13 p. m.

        If you have any comments about this information page, please contact Tim Dodge at:
        mailto:dodgeti@auburn.edu

         

        Auburn University Libraries • 231 Mell Street • Auburn University, AL 36849
        Phone: (334) 844-4500 or 800-446-0387

        My Profile

        Profile Image
        Tim Dodge
        Contact Info:
        Reference Department
        Ralph Brown Draughon Library
        231 Mell St.
        (334) 844-1729
        Send Email
         

        Auburn University Libraries | 231 Mell Street | Auburn, Alabama 36849 | (334) 844-1737 or (800) 446-0387 |

        Follow The Libraries on Twitter Follow the Auburn Libraries on Flickr Follow the Auburn Libraries on Facebook

        Description

        Loading  Loading content... please wait