Subject Guides: Religious Studies: Find Journal articles

Databases for Finding Journal Articles

The following are multidisciplinary databases that index scholarly journals in a variety of different subject areas, including religion.

Academic Search Premier Provides full text for nearly 4,700 publications, including full text for more than 3,600 scholarly journals. Covers the social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and more.Coverage: 1975-present

JSTOR A full-text database covering the social sciences, humanities, and sciences. JSTOR provides access to the back files of hundreds of scholarly periodicals, starting with the first issues. Supports full-text and cross-disciplinary searching. Click here for a list of religion journals available for browsing:Coverage:Excludes most recent 2-5 years of currently available journals.

Project Muse Provides access to the full text of the Johns Hopkins University Press's 40+ scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. The collection may be searched collectively or individually. Click here for a list of religion journals available for browsing.Coverage: 1990-present

Arts & Humanities Citation Index Indexes 1,395 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals.

Subject Specific Databases

If your research topic is interdisciplinary--if it touches on other subjects in addition to religion--you may want to expand your search to article databases that focus on these other subjects. For example, if your topic encompasses both religion and philosophy, you could also search in Philosophers Index. The list of subject specific databases below may be relevant to your research:

America: History and Life: "[T]he definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present." Indexing for 1,700 journals back to 1910.

Early American Imprints, Series I, Evans: Covers American history and literature through the colonial period up to the eighteenth century. This database is a full-text digitization of the microform set Early American Imprints, Series I (1639-1800). Makes available the full text of nearly every book, pamphlet, and broadside published during this period. Browsable subject categories include religion and philosophy.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO): Provides full text of significant English-language and foreign-language titles printed in Great Britain during the eighteenth century, along with important works from the Americas encompassing the American Revolution, the Industrial Revolution, the French Revolution, and the Age of Reason. You may limit your search to the subject areas of philosophy and religion.

Historical Abstracts: Bibliographic reference to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada). Indexes over 2,000 journals published throughout the world.

MLA International Bibliography: Indexes critical scholarship in religion as it relates to literature, language, linguistics and folklore. Provides citations and abstracts for journal articles, series, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings, and other materials.; Coverage: 1963-present

Philosopher's Index: The premier international bibliographic resource in philosophy. Indexes and provides abstracts for journal articles, books, contributions to anthologies, and book reviews. Click here for a list of journals indexed by this database.; Coverage: 1940-present Scope: 570 journals/43 countries.

Sociological Abstracts: Indexes over 2,600 journals and other serials publications, plus conference papers, books, and dissertations in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.

Open Access Religion &Theology Databases

Index Theologicus: Contains bibliographical references from articles in more than 600 journals, Festschriften and conference volumes..

RAMBI: Index of Articles on Jewish Studies: A selective bibliography of articles in Hebrew, Yiddish, and European languages mainly from the holdings of the Jewish National and University Library.

Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
LDS [Latter Day Saints] Church Periodical Index
Seventh-Day Adventist Periodical Index

Print Indexes

Print indexes can be extremely helpful, especially if you are looking for historical material not covered by electronic databases.

Index to Religious Periodical Literature (Available: 1949-1976)
Print counterpart to ATLA Religion Database. Major resource for indexing of periodical articles on religion.

Religion Index One: Periodicals (Available: 1977-1998)
Print counterpart to ATLA Religion Database. Major resource for indexing of periodical articles on religion.

Index to Book Reviews in Religion (Available: 1986-1994)
Continues the book review index section of: Religion Index One: Periodicals.

Index to book reviews in religion: IBRR
Cumulated and revised edition of book reviews from Index to Religious Periodical Literature. Covers 1949 to 1974 in 3 volumes.

Religion Index Two: Multi-Author Works (Available: 1981-1992)
Coverage of essays on religious topics included in multi-authored works.

An index to English periodical literature on the Old Testament and ancient Near Eastern studies
Covers over 600 journals spanning 200 years

An Alphabetical Subject Index and Index Encyclopaedia to Periodical Articles on Religion, 1890-1899
Important resource for historical materials. 58,000 articles from over 600 journals. Arranged by subject heading.

The Catholic Periodical and Literature Index (Available: 1985-1993)
Continues: Catholic Periodical Index and absorbed Guide to Catholic Literature

Index Islamicus, 1906-1955
A catalog of articles on Islamic subjects in periodicals and other collective publications

Archiv für Reformationsgeschichte (Available: 1965-1993)
Focus is on the history of the Reformation

Christian Periodical Index (Available: 1956-1991)
Indexes publications of a primarily evangelical and fundamentalist nature.

Google Scholar

This feature of Google searches across many scholarly Internet sources including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts, and articles from academic publishers, professional societies, university repositories, etc. Google Scholar is also useful for verifying citations.

Try your search below, or access Google Scholar from the library's Articles and Databases page to view full text content available from AU Libraries.

Table of Contents Alerts

Alerts are the most convenient way to stay current with scholarly literature. Click here for a guide to setting up table of contents alerts for the most recent issues of specific journals.