This is the "Home" page of the "Business Research after Graduation" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Business Research after Graduation   Tags: business  

Last Updated: Jun 20, 2012 URL: http://libguides.auburn.edu/busresearchtips Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Tips

Corporate Libraries

Check to see if the company you are now working for has a library.
Note that corporate libraries may not be called a library, but rather an information center, research center, knowledge center, etc.. If you’re not sure if your company has a library, ask a trusted colleague how business research is gathered in your organization. Keep in mind that corporate libraries sometimes operate differently from academic libraries. They may have a team of librarians who do all of the research for you or they may not have a librarian at all. Also, you may have different resources available to you than you had in school. Be sure to get training for these new resources before using them. Database vendors often offer different pricing schemes for companies. Corporations sometimes pay for each minute that you are logged on to an electronic database and for each article that you look at (whether it’s relevant to your research or not). You can very quickly run up a huge research bill using corporate databases. Don’t be shy about asking for help.

Public Libraries

Your local public library will usually have a business section.
The strength and depth of the business collection varies from city to city. Usually larger metropolitan areas have stronger business collections. Depending on where you live, you may even be able to access some electronic resources from outside the library. Many states now have a “virtual library” that provides every citizen within the state access to various databases. For example, the virtual library in Alabama is called “AVL: Alabama Virtual Library”, the state of New York has “NOVEL”, and Georgia has “GALILEO”. These programs are usually administered through public libraries, so check with your local public library for access and usage policies.

University Business Libraries

Use privileges with other academic business libraries.
Since most public universities are tax-supported, they usually allow public access to their libraries. Some libraries allow visitors to access their electronic databases while in the library, depending on their license agreements. However, they may be required to restrict some resources for use solely by their students/faculty. It’s best to call ahead to an academic business library to inquire about their access and usage policies before heading out to the library.

Outsourcing Research Services

Consult with an information professional.
There are many companies/individuals who will perform research services for a fee. The Association of Independent Information Professionals has a referral program to help you locate professionals by subject expertise or geographic location. (Note: no representation is made about the quality of services performed by these professionals. You should discuss at length the information needed and fees related to the service before contracting with a company for their services). http://www.aiip.org/AboutAIIP/referral.html

If you have any questions or need help locating a library in your area, please contact the Reference Desk at 844-1737, or e-mail askalibrarian@auburn.edu.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Bridget Farrell
Business & Economics Librarian
Logo - LinkedIn
Contact Info
2338F Ralph B. Draughon Library
email: bfarrell@auburn.edu
(334) 844-8268
 

Auburn University Libraries | 231 Mell Street | Auburn, Alabama 36849 | (334) 844-1737 or (800) 446-0387 |

Follow The Libraries on Twitter Follow the Auburn Libraries on Flickr Follow the Auburn Libraries on Facebook

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip