Hallmarks of the Professional Nursing Practice EnvironmentAACN (American Association of Colleges of Nursing) task force report identifying those environmental characteristics or "hallmarks" of the practice setting that best support professional nursing practice and allow baccalaureate- and higher degree-prepared nurses to practice to their full potential
ICN (International Council of Nurses) Code of EthicsThe ICN Code of Ethics for Nurses, most recently revised in 2012, is a guide for action based on social values and needs.The Code has served as the standard for nurses worldwide since it was first adopted in 1953. Available in 12 languages.
NIH (National Institutes of Health), Department of BioethicsPremier center wrestling with major policy issues, offering educational and clinical services, and developing numerous research projects to help advance and inform public policy debate.
Web Resources: Drugs
Daily MedThis Web site provides health information providers and the public with a standard, comprehensive, up-to-date, look-up and download resource of medication content and labeling as found in medication package inserts.
Dietary Supplements Labels DatabaseOffers information about label ingredients in more than 7,000 selected brands of dietary supplements. It enables users to compare label ingredients in different brands. The Database can be searched by brand names, uses noted on product labels, specific active ingredients, and manufacturers.
LactMedIncludes information such as maternal levels in breast milk, infant levels in blood, potential effects in breastfeeding infants and on lactation itself, the American Academy of Pediatrics category indicating the level of compatibility of the drug with breastfeeding, and alternate drugs to consider. References are included, as is nomenclature information, such as the drug's Chemical Abstract Service's (CAS) Registry number and its broad drug class.
Web Resources: Complementary and Integrative Health
NCCIH (National Center for Complementary and Integrative HealthNCCIH is the Federal Government’s lead agency for scientific research on the diverse medical and health care systems, practices, and products that are not generally considered part of conventional medicine.
Chat
Web Resources: Consumer Health / Patient Ed
MedlinePlusValuable resource for patient teaching, drug and disease links, tutorials, and ready reference. Includes interactive health tutorials, encyclopedia, medical dictionary, medical videos, and more.
Clinical Trials.govClinicalTrials.gov is a registry and results database of federally and privately supported clinical trials conducted in the United States and around the world. ClinicalTrials.gov gives you information about a trial's purpose, who may participate, locations, and phone numbers for more details
Family Doctor.orgThe content on FamilyDoctor.org is intended for all individuals who are seeking reliable health information. Health content is written at a 6th to 8th grade reading level to make information understandable and accessible to all users. Content written specifically to children and teens is also available on the site.
Health.govHealth information for individuals and families.
PSNet (Patient Safety Network)AHRQ Patient Safety Network (PSNet) is a national web-based resource featuring the latest news and essential resources on patient safety. The site offers weekly updates of patient safety literature, news, tools, and meetings ("What’s New"), and a vast set of carefully annotated links to important research and other information on patient safety ("The Collection").
WHO (World Health Organization) Collaborating Centres for Patient SafetyThe Centro Gestione Rischio Clinico e Sicurezza del Paziente (Centre for Clinical Risk Management and Patient Safety) works with WHO to collate knowledge from global experiences, devise methods for human factors and communication for patient safety, and provides safety and quality education and training in collaboration with WHO. The Centre is helping to develop an online knowledge sharing platform for best practices, scalable solutions and for capturing and sharing structured learning from patient safety incident reporting.
Web Resources: Lab Tests
Lab Tests OnlineFor medical professionals, this site can serve as a quick reference tool or as a resource for keeping up with advances in laboratory science. The site can also help patients to better understand the many clinical lab tests that are part of routine care as well as diagnosis and treatment of a broad range of conditions and diseases.
Web Resources: Palliative Nursing
Dying in America: Improving Quality and Honoring Individual Preferences Near the End of LifeIn Dying in America, a consensus report from the Institute of Medicine (IOM), a committee of experts finds that improving the quality and availability of medical and social services for patients and their families could not only enhance quality of life through the end of life, but may also contribute to a more sustainable care system.
Web Resources: Health Disparities
CDC Office of Minority Health and Health EquityThe United States has become increasingly diverse in the last century. According to the 2010 U.S. Census, approximately 36 percent of the population belongs to a racial or ethnic minority group. Though health indicators such as life expectancy and infant mortality have improved for most Americans, some minorities experience a disproportionate burden of preventable disease, death, and disability compared with non-minorities.
National Healthcare Quality & Disparities ReportsTools for measuring healthcare quality, including the National Healthcare Quality and Disparities Reports, AHRQ Quality Indicators, and ambulatory clinical performance measures
NIMHD National Institute on Minority Health and Health DisparitiesThe National Institute on Minority Health and Health Disparities (NIMHD) is one of the 27 Institutes and Centers of the National Institutes of Health (NIH), the nation's premiere medical research agency.
National Center for Disaster PreparednessThe National Center for Disaster Preparedness works to understand and improve the nation's capacity to prepare for, respond to and recover from disasters. NCDP has four focus areas: system readiness, disaster recovery, citizen engagement, and vulnerable populations.
