Subject Guides: Speech, Language, and Hearing Sciences: Evidence-based Practice

Web Resources

Evidence-based Practice (EBP)
From ASHA (American Speech-Language-Hearing Association), Information about the evidence based process.
The EBP Process
A step by step guide to the EBP process.
ASHA Evidence-Based Practice Toolkit
Includes reference sheets to help identify bias and understand study designs and worksheets to help develop PICO questions and search strategies.
Evidence-based Practice Glossary
Glossary of evidence based and research terms.

Evidence Pyramid

Link to larger image of evidence pyramid

Evidence (research studies) can be arranged in a hierarchy. Studies at higher levels are considered to have less chance of bias than those at lower levels. To understand what type of study design is used, read the methods section of an article.

Visit this link to better understand the differences between study types, https://s4be.cochrane.org/blog/2021/04/06/an-introduction-to-different-types-of-study-design/.

Searchable Open Access Resources

ASHA Evidence Maps
Latest evidence in speech, language, and hearing sciences.
speechBITE
speechBITE™ is a database that provides open access to a catalog of Best Interventions and Treatment Efficacy across the scope of Speech Pathology practice
PubMed Clinical Queries
Specialized PubMed searches designed to connect clinicians to evidence-based literature. Can search for systematic reviews OR by 5 clinical study areas, Etiology (causation), Diagnosis, Prognosis, Clinical prediction guidelines, & Therapy.
DARE (Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects)
Focused primarily on systematic reviews that evaluate the effects of health care interventions and the delivery and organization of health services.
TRIP (Turning Research into Practice) Database
A clinical search tool designed to allow health professionals to rapidly identify the highest quality clinical evidence for clinical practice.
AHRQ Evidence Based Practice
Clinical guidelines and recommendations
Epistemonikos Database
Epistemonikos is a collaborative, multilingual database of health evidence, a source of systematic reviews relevant for health-decision making, and a large source of other types of scientific evidence.

Searching Licensed Resources for Clincial Evidence

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Databases include the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) which includes all Cochrane Reviews (and protocols) prepared by Cochrane Review Groups, the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), a highly concentrated source of reports of randomised and quasi-randomised controlled trials, and the Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE), which contains abstracts of systematic reviews that have been quality-assessed.
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window In PsycINFO, look for evidence types (clinical case study, empirical study, systematic review, meta-analysis, qualitative study, quantitative study) under 'Methodology' (located on the search page under Limit Your Results)
MEDLINE (OVID) This link opens in a new window To search for evidence in Ovid Medline, after entering search terms, click on Limits (under search boxes). If Publication Type is not visible, click on Edit Limits. Click the box by Publication Type and then click on Customize Limits. You will be returned to the search page, choose the publication type(s) of interest and Search.You can choose to search by a clinical area of interest under 'Clinical Queries'. Add and use Clinical Queries by editing limits as above. Provides indexing and abstracts for approximately 5,400 journals covering biomedical and allied health literature. 1949-present.
MEDLINE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window The complete MEDLINE database, including such topics as microbiology, delivery of health care, nutrition, pharmacology, and environmental health. The categories covered in the database include anatomy, organisms, diseases, chemicals and drugs, techniques and equipment, psychiatry and psychology, biological sciences, physical sciences, social sciences and education, technology, agriculture, food, industry, humanities, information science and communications, and health care.
CINAHL This link opens in a new window There are several ways to search CINAHL for evidence using the 'Limit Your Results' area (under the search boxes).1. You can choose 'Evidence Based Practice' for a broad search to find articles from evidence based practice journals, articles about EBP, research articles, and commentaries on research articles.2. You can search by clinical area of interest or by type of research by choosing one of the 'Clinical Queries' options.3. You can search for a specific type of article by choosing a 'Publication Type' (Clinical Trial, Meta Analysis, Practice Guidelines, Randomized Controlled Trial, Systematic Review)