Skip to main content

Nutrition Science and Dietetics: Evidence-Based Practice

Information about Evidence-Based Practice

Journals

Finding Systematic Reviews and Practice Guidelines

Listed below are sites to search for systematic reviews and practice guidelines.   You can also search library databases such as MEDLINE and CINAHL.

NOTE:  The sites below are on the Web.  The library does not have access to all of the full-text.

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews - Cochrane Collaborationhttp://www.cochrane.org/

 "Cochrane Reviews are systematic reviews of primary research in human health care and health policy, and are internationally recognised as the   highest standard in evidence-based health care. They investigate the effects of interventions for prevention, treatment and rehabilitation. They also assess the accuracy of a diagnostic test for a given condition in a specific patient group and setting. They are published online in The Cochrane Library."   From the homepage, you can access free summaries of systematic reviews.  From The Cochrane Library you can access some, but not all, of the full-text systematic reviews.

Academy's Evidence Analysis Library: http://www.andevidencelibrary.com

"The Academy's Evidence Analysis Library (EAL®) website houses systematic reviews and practice guidelines related to the topics of food and nutrition." If you complete a search using the search box in the upper-righthand corner, you will have access to Worksheets, Recommendations, and Topics.  If you register for a free account, you can also see Evidence Summaries.  You must be a member to view Questions.

American Society for Enteral and Parenteral Nutrition www.nutritioncare.org

"A.S.P.E.N. has been publishing Standards of Practice, Clinical Guidelines Statements and other Documents for more than 20 years. These documents are designed to assist practitioners in providing safe, efficacious nutrition care to patients. The Guidelines and Standards make specific practice recommendations based upon a rigorous and comprehensive evaluation of all available scientific data.   A.S.P.E.N. Documents are provided as a free service to the public, all you need to do is create an account.  Access includes full text of all Guidelines and Standards, printable versions and search capability.

Clinical Evidence: http://www.clinicalevidence.org

"Clinical Evidence (CE) summarises the current state of knowledge - and uncertainty - about interventions used to prevent and treat important clinical conditions. They do it by searching and appraising the literature to create rigorous systematic reviews of evidence on the benefits and harms of clinical interventions." You can search this site and see a results list of systematic reviews, but only subscribers can access full-text of the reviews.

National Guideline Clearinghouse:http://www.guidelines.gov

"NGC is an initiative of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) External Web Site Policy, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. The NGC mission is to provide physicians and other health professionals, health care providers, health plans, integrated delivery systems, purchasers, and others an accessible mechanism for obtaining objective, detailed information on clinical practice guidelines and to further their dissemination, implementation, and use."  Full-text of guidelines available.

European Society for Clinical Nutrition and Metabolism: http://www.espen.org

"The aims of ESPEN are to encourage the rapid diffusion of knowledge and its application in the field of Parenteral and Enteral Nutrition or, more broadly, Clinical Nutrition and Metabolism."  Full-text guidelines can be found under the Education tab on the righthand side of the homepage.

 

Website Feedback | Privacy | Copyright ©