Below are a few major History-related databases listed and described. For a complete list, please see the Databases by Subject link on the Auburn University Libraries homepage and then clicking History. All databases are available on campus and remotely unless otherwise noted. To access a resource from home, you will need to type your global i.d. and password just as you would do for logging in to any campus computer. This log in procedure is required so that the database companies can verify if you are a currently enrolled Auburn University student or currently employed faculty or staff member of the university.
In addition to the rather long list of databases found below, please be sure to visit the Adam Matthew Collections guide. It provides information concerning at least fifty databases useful for a wide variety of History research topics.
Early English books Online (EEBO)
EEBO is based on the microfilm collections curated by the Ann Arbor publisher Eugene B. Power (1905-1993). The founder of what became University Microfilms International or UMI, Power's first foreign project established the microfilming operation at the British Museum in 1942 and, since then, more than 200 libraries worldwide have contributed to the microfilm collection. Following its digital launch in 1998, Early English Books Online now contains page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales, and British North America, as well as works in English printed elsewhere between 1473 and 1700. Beginning with the very first book published in English, EEBO draws from four authoritative bibliographical resources - both Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) in their revised versions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) and the Early English Books Tract Supplement - to present more than 146,000 titles and over 17 million scanned pages of content. Transcribed texts - TCP I and TCP II - are now included on EEBO, adding transcriptions to approximately 50% of the texts featured. EEBO also covers texts in more than 30 languages, ranging from Algonquin to Welsh, and incorporates variant editions and multiple copies.
Medieval and Early Modern Studies
Large collection of primary sources covering social, cultural, political, scientific and religious perspectives during the 12th to 18th Centuries. Includes illuminated manuscripts, personal papers, diaries and journals, correspondence, rare books, receipt books, account books, and manuscript sheet music. Some highlights include the papers of Hans Sloane, books and manuscripts of John Dee, as well as letters and papers of Katherine Parr, Lady Jane Grey, John Foxe, Elizabeth I, Charles I, John Aubrey, Benjamin Franklin, Carl Linnaeus, John Locke, Isaac Newton, Alexander Orme, Samuel Pepys, Alexander Pope, Horace Walpole, Lord Stafford and Robert Walpole.
