Skip to main content

Religious Studies: Christianity

Online Reference Shelf

Do you need to look up key people, places, concepts, and doctrines of Christianity? 

The featured titles below are available online.  In some cases, print versions of these texts are also available.

Christianity: Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Print reference books are located either in the Reference Collection or in the general collection. (Large, multi-volume sets are often located in the general collection.)
 
The Encyclopedia of Christianity (4 vols.)
(adapted English trans. of Evangelisches Kirchenlexicon)
Reference Collection: BR 95 .E8913 1999
The Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church
Reference Collection: BR 95 .O8 1997
Encyclopedia of the Early Church
1st Floor: BR 66.5 .D5813 1992
The Encyclopedia of Protestantism (4 vols.)
Reference Collection: BX 4811.3 .E53 2004
New Catholic Encyclopedia (18 vols.)
Reference Collection: BX 841 .N44 1967
World Christian Encyclopedia (2 vols.)
1st Floor: BR 157 .W67 2001
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation (4 vols.)
BR 302.8 .O93 1996 (may be requested from Closed Stacks; online version here )
The NRSV Concordance Unabridged (Kohlenberger)
Reference Collection: BS 425 .K645 1991
The New Strong’s Exhaustive Concordance of the Bible (KJV: King James version)
1st Floor: BS 425 .S8 1990
Anchor Bible Dictionary (6 vols.)
Reference Collection: BS 440 .A54 1992
The Interpreter’s Dictionary of the Bible (4 vols.)
1st Floor: BS 440 .I5
International Standard Bible Encyclopedia (4 vols.)
1st Floor: BS 440 .I6 1979
Harper’s Bible Dictionary
1st Floor: BS 440 .H237 1985
The Interpreter’s Bible (12 vols.)
Reference Collection: BS 491.2 I55
Harper's Bible Commentary
1st Floor: BS 491.2 .H37 1988
The Westminster Dictionary of Christian Theology
1st Floor: BR 95 .W494 1983
The New Dictionary of Theology
Reference Collection: BR 95 .N378 1987
A New Handbook of Christian Theology
1st Floor: BR 95 .N393 1992
Cyclopaedia of Biblical, Theological, and Ecclesiastical Literature (10 vol.)
Reference Collection: BR 95 .M352
Theological Dictionary of the Old Testament (11 vols.)
1st Floor: BS 440 .B5713
Theological Dictionary of the New Testament (10 vols.)
3rd Floor: PA 881 .K513
The New International Dictionary of New Testament Theology
Reference Collection: BS 2397 .N48
The Macmillan Bible Atlas
2nd Floor: G 2230 .A2 1993
The Harper Atlas of the Bible
2nd Floor: G 2230 .H47 1987
Oxford Bible Atlas
1st Floor: BS 630 .O96 1984
The Westminster Dictionary of Christian Ethics
1st Floor: BJ 1199 .W47 1986
The Catholic Encyclopedia
(Online version of the 1913 edition--a work in progress)
The Oxford Dictionary of Popes  [1996 online version ]
1st Floor: BX 955.2 .K45 1986
Butler’s Lives of the Saints (12 vols.)
1st Floor: BX 4654 .B8 1995
The Oxford Dictionary of Saints [2004 online version ]
1st Floor: BR 1710 .F34 2003
Blackwell Dictionary of Eastern Christianity

 
Website Feedback | Privacy | Copyright ©