Skip to main content

Community Planning: Dissertations & Theses

Guide to resources at Auburn University Libraries for community planning, urban studies, and city planning.

Find Dissertations and Theses

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses

Provides full-text access to most American dissertations and master's theses from 1995 onward. The database also includes citations for materials ranging from the first U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861, to those accepted as recently as last semester; those published from 1980 forward also include 350-word abstracts, written by the author, and many have a 24-page preview. Citations for master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts.  Dissertations published from 1980 forward contain abstracts and many have a 24-page preview. All of Auburn University's dissertations and theses may be downloaded for free when available.

Abstracts for older dissertations (pre-1980) may be found in Dissertation Abstracts International (DAI), the precursor to the online index. The volumes are shelved at Z 5055 .U5 D5 in closed stacks.  Ask for these volumes at the 1st floor Circulation Desk.

Scientific Commons

A database and index of technical reports, papers, dissertations, and theses. 

Theses Canada

A database and index of dissertations and theses written at Canadian universities.

EThOS

United Kingdom theses.

DART

European theses.

Trove

Australian theses.  For more information on finding Australian theses, see Finding Australian Theses.

NDLTD: Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations

Many other databases such as ERIC, Music Index Online, and PsycINFO index dissertations and sometimes link to the fulltext. 

Google Scholar

Acquiring Auburn University Dissertations & Theses

All Auburn University dissertations and theses are listed in the library's catalog and are available from several sources:

  • Search the Auburn University Libraries catalog for a copy.
  • Auburn University Libraries has paper archival copies of all Auburn theses and dissertations written before 2006.  Most can be checked out; others are available for examination in Special Collections and Archives. 
  • Electronic copies may be downloaded from Dissertations & Theses. Auburn students, faculty, and staff may download selected Auburn University dissertations and theses (some going back to the 1950s) for free.
  • Download a copy from AUETD (Auburn University Electronic Theses and Dissertations).  AUETD has digital copies of Auburn University dissertations from Fall 2005 to the present.

Acquiring a dissertation or thesis written at another university

  • Search the Auburn University Libraries catalog for a copy.
  • Search the internet for an online copy. Some universities have their dissertations online.
  • Try some of the databases listed here. Some national libraries have collections of electronic dissertations available for download. 
  • Try an internet search.  Sometimes a title search will bring up an electronic copy.
  • Use InterLibrary Loan (ILL).
  • A few tips for successful ILL requests:
    • Fill out the ILL request form as completely as possible.
    • Unless you want microfiche, put the following message in the Notes field: No microforms, please. If you still receive microfiche, contact ILL and ask them for a paper copy. However, sometimes only the microfiche is available.
  • Unfortunately, ILL cannot borrow or purchase some dissertations. In this case, please contact your subject specialist for assistance.

    Research Methods for Building Science

    Website Feedback | Privacy | Copyright ©