An alphabetical list of archival collections related to landscape architecture.
Formed in 1946, the ASGCA was the first professional organization of golf course designers in America, and for over 50 years, its members have designed some of the world's most outstanding courses. Our member designers are among the best in the world. They are actively involved in designing new courses and renovating existing courses in the United States and Canada.
Founded in 1899, ASLA is the national professional association for landscape architects, representing more than 18,200 members in 48 professional and 68 student chapters. Landscape architecture is a comprehensive land analysis, planning, design, management, preservation, and rehabilitation discipline.
The Canadian Society of Landscape Architects (CSLA) is the national professional association representing landscape architects in Canada.
The Council of Educators in Landscape Architecture comprises virtually all landscape architecture programs in the United States, Canada, Australia, and New Zealand. The faculty members of these institutions are invited to participate in the Council. CELA can trace its beginnings to 1920, and for more than seventy years, it has been concerned with the content and quality of professional education in landscape architecture.
The Environmental Design Archives holds nearly 100 collections documenting the built and landscaped environment. These records span a century, 1890-1990, and contain primary source materials such as correspondence, reports, specifications, drawings, photographs, and artifacts.
The Golf Course Builders Association of America is a nonprofit trade association of the world's foremost golf course builders and leading suppliers to the golf course construction industry. It was founded in the early 1970s, and its members represent all golf course construction industry segments.
IFLA represents the landscape architectural profession globally, providing leadership and networks supporting the development of the profession and its effective participation in the realization of attractive and sustainable environments.
PLANET, the Professional Landcare Network, is an international association serving lawn care professionals, landscape management contractors, design/build/installation professionals, and interior plantscapers. PLANET emerged on January 1, 2005, when the Associated Landscape Contractors of America (ALCA) and the Professional Lawn Care Association of America (PLCAA) joined forces to become a more encompassing network of green industry professionals.
Provides access to images and records documenting the evolution of gardens and landscapes throughout the United States.
This source includes digitized video interviews, sample architectural plans, golf course listings, and architect-specific biographies and bibliographies for selected members of the American Society of Golf Course Architects.
The Botanical Society of America encompasses all areas of plant biology, including development, physiology, reproductive biology, evolution, phycology, genetics, mycology, ecology, systematics, molecular biology, and paleobotany. The BSA is one of the world's largest societies devoted to the study of plants and allied organisms, and functions as an umbrella organization covering all specialties
Nearly 100,000 images of plants.
Sponsored by the Bard Graduate Center through a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities, Catena, the Digital Archive of Historic Gardens and Landscapes and its companion website, is envisioned as part of a larger, typologically organized archive of digital images with accompanying educational materials.
The Center for Land Use Interpretation is a research and education organization interested in understanding the nature and extent of human interaction with the earth's surface, and in finding new meanings in the intentional and incidental forms that we individually and collectively create. We believe that the manmade landscape is a cultural inscription, that can be read to better understand who we are, and what we are doing.
The Landslide Project highlights landscapes at risk and reports current issues in landscape preservation and interpretation. The Pioneers of American Landscape Design Oral Histories project not only landscape architects, but all who have played a role in creating our landscape heritage: landscape gardeners, architects, horticulturists, nursery owners, writers, engineers, educators, cemetery designers, planners, golf course architects, and naturalists.
History of Landscape Architecture is a bibliographic research guide to UC Berkeley library and Internet resources for the history of landscape architecture. It includes selected reference titles and historical surveys of landscape architecture history, as well as strategies for locating periodical articles, books, images, etc.
The LAIR Website has been designed to foster active, collaborative learning and encourage community building across a variety of campuses serving landscape architecture education. This shared image bank is a library of digital images that have been collected from a variety of sources. These images are available to anyone who would like to use them for educational purposes.
Landezine was started in June of 2009. Since then it has been showcasing landscape architecture projects made by landscape architects and architects from around the globe. Today, Landezine is internationally renowned landscape architecture website and one of the most visible in the profession. More than 5,000 visitors from all over the world visit landezine.com every day. In 2016 we expanded our network and empowered our voice in the global community by launching LILA, Landezine International Landscape Award.
This online presentation of the HABS/HAER/HALS collections includes digitized images of measured drawings, black-and-white photographs, color transparencies, photo captions, written history pages, and supplemental materials. Since the National Park Service's HABS, HAER and HALS programs create new documentation each year, documentation will continue to be added to the online collections. The first phase of digitization of the Historic American Engineering Record collection was made possible by the generous support of the Shell Oil Company Foundation.
Look up, view a photo and read about the over 7,500 plants which are growing or have been grown in the Kemper Center display gardens (plus selected additions) by scientific name, common name and/or selected plant characteristics
The National Association for Olmsted Parks (NAOP), established in 1980, is a coalition of design and preservation professionals, historic property and park managers, scholars, municipal officials, citizen activists, and representatives of numerous Olmsted organizations around the United States. Its concern is the legacy of landscape work left by Frederick Law Olmsted Sr. and the firm continued by his sons.
The Olmsted Center for Landscape Preservation promotes the stewardship of significant landscapes through research, planning, maintenance, training, and education.
PlantFacts has merged several digital collections developed at Ohio State University to become an international knowledge bank and multimedia learning center.
The Smithsonian’s Archives of American Gardens collects, preserves, and provides access to resources that document the history of gardens in America. The Archives includes photographic and written documentation on over 10,000 historic and contemporary gardens. The collections document the work of landscape architects, garden designers, and garden photographers as well as a handful of seed companies. Photographic formats and processes represented in the collections include stereographs, lantern slides, autochromes, glass plate negatives, 35mm slides, and digital images.
Created by an act of Congress in 1879, the U.S. Geological Survey has evolved over the decades, matching its talent and knowledge to the progress of science and technology. The USGS is the sole science agency for the Department of the Interior. It is sought out by thousands of partners and customers for its natural science expertise and its vast earth and biological data holdings.
Browse by Latin or common plant names or search for plants by attributes such as flower or fall color, sun exposure, or foliage characteristics. Also search for a plant’s tolerance to deer, drought, urban conditions and more. Search for appropriate plants by specifying landscape situations and ornamental traits. Or, enter a plant scientific or common name to go directly to a species of interest.
ULI is the oldest and largest network of cross-disciplinary real estate and land use experts in the world. ULI is its members. Through our members' dedication to the mission and their shared expertise, the Institute has been able to set standards of excellence in development practice.
"Agricultural Research Service programs generate many publicly accessible data products that are catalogued in the Ag Data Commons."
The PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories.
The map shows 10 different zones, each of which represents an area of winter hardiness for plants. It also introduces zone 11 to represent areas that have average annual minimum temperatures above 40 F (4.4 C) that are therefore essentially frost free.
Web Soil Survey (WSS) provides soil data and information produced by the National Cooperative Soil Survey. It is operated by the USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS) and provides access to the largest natural resource information system in the world. NRCS has soil maps and data available online for more than 95 percent of the nation’s counties and anticipates having 100 percent in the near future. The site is updated and maintained online as the single authoritative source of soil survey information.
Access agency reports, farm bills, and productivity documents, and request information directly from the National Agricultural Library
World Landscape Architecture (WLA) is a landscape architecture industry website founded by Damian Holmes in 2007, to publicise the work of landscape architects and to provide the landscape architecture industry and students with the ability to promote their work whether it be design, policy, or research.
Online resource of all known plants with 1,422,002 names, 381,959 from accepted species, 57,419 images,160,127 names with descriptions, 36,166 with distributions and 182,001 with references.
Digital Resources of Landscape and Architecture focused on Midwest and Chicago
The CLUI website includes a land use database, the Morgan Cowles Image Archive and access to the CLUI's Lay of the Land Newsletter, 1997-present
This University of Nottingham site on the cultural geography of 19th-century British Arboretums has sections on tree collecting, botanical and scientific arboreta, commercial arboreta, estate arboreta and other topics.
Small digital collection of virtual tours of important landscape architecture sites
Dumbarton Oaks, administered by Harvard University, serves as an international research center on Byzantine and Pre-Columbian culture and garden and landscape studies
The FLS bibliography contains books only up to 2012.
This biannual journal has themed issues on landscape topics dating back to 2003.
The Portfolio section highlights significant public and private gardens across the United States.
ICOMOS, located in the Parisian suburb of Charenton-le-Pont, works to preserve historical buildings and sites around the world.
This site includes a list of features often included in Japanese gardens, as well as a glossary of terms and bibliography on the subject.
The web site says of the LI: "The LI’s aim, through the work of its members is to protect, conserve and enhance the natural and built environment for the public benefit. The LI provides a professional home for all landscape practitioners including landscape scientists, landscape planners, landscape architects, landscape managers and urban designers."
This site provides a list of books published by the Library of American Landscape History.org.
"...Records in the Cartographic and Architectural Section (NWCSC) are over 15 million maps, charts, aerial photographs, architectural drawings, patents, and ships plans."
"The National Archives Catalog contains descriptions for NARA's nationwide holdings in the Washington, DC area; regional facilities; and Presidential Libraries. The Catalog is a work in progress and currently contains descriptions for 95% of our records, described at the series level."
Information on Frederick Law Olmsted (1822-1903) is presented, as well as various themed essays on Olmsted and his historical context and Olmsted-designed parks are included here.
The United States Department of the Interior's National Park Service maintains the NRHP, a list of historically significant buildings, structures and sites across the US.
Exhaustive Compendium of Digital Resources Libraries and Archives Across the US, includes architectural archive links
This United Nations-affiliated site includes a list and descriptions of all World Heritage Sites as well as pdf files of World Heritage Reports.
Center for Urban Forest Research - CUFR is one of 13 research work units affiliated with the Pacific Southwest Research Station, a USDA Forest Service Organization. "Since 1992 we have provided our customers with reliable scientific evidence that the benefits of urban forests add real value to communities. Our research confirms that trees in our community forests are assets that pay us back."
Urban & Community Forestry - The Urban and Community Forestry Program provides technical, financial, educational, and research services to states, cities, and nonprofit groups so they can plant, protect, maintain, and utilize wood from community trees and forests to maximize environmental, social and economic benefits.
i-Tree - i-Tree is a state-of-the-art, peer-reviewed software suite from the USDA Forest Service that provides urban and community forestry analysis and benefits assessment tools. It s in the public domain and available by request through the i-Tree website.
The i-Tree software suite 2.0 includes the following urban forest analysis tools:
Trees and Transportation / Human Dimensions of Urban Forestry and Urban Greening, University of Washington
"Transportation systems have traditionally been designed for traffic mobility and driver safety. Road systems and roadsides are now being designed to address a variety of other functions, including aesthetic, environmental, and community interests. Context Sensitive Design is a new approach in transportation planning that recognizes community values. Roadside vegetation and green spaces are often valued features of transportation corridors. The studies below are investigations of public values regarding trees and vegetation in urban vehicular use areas."
