Subject Guides: NURS 3110: Articles & Databases

Finding Articles

To find journal articles about Nursing, try the library databases listed to the right. Other databases can be found on the Libraries database page.

Print Journals

If you'd like to physically browse through journals on this topic, you can do so on the 4th floor of RBD Library.

The R classification is for all aspects of medicine with RT the section dedicated to nursing. However, specific types of nursing may be found in other sections, for example, surgical nursing is found in RD 99- RD 99.35, ophthalmic nursing is found in RE 88 and pediatric nursing in RJ 245 - RJ 247.

RBD Library Floor Maps

Journal Abbreviations

PubMed/Medline Journal Abbreviations
Enter journal abbreviations in search box to find full title or enter full title to find abbreviation

Databases

Nursing/Medical

CINAHL This link opens in a new window Provides authoritative coverage of the literature related to nursing and allied health fields including: cardiopulmonary technology, emergency service, health education, medical laboratory, medical assistant, medical records, occupational therapy, physical therapy, physician assistant, radiologic technology, technology therapy, social service and surgical technology.
PubMed This link opens in a new window PubMed comprises more than 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
MEDLINE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window The complete MEDLINE database, including such topics as microbiology, delivery of health care, nutrition, pharmacology, and environmental health. The categories covered in the database include anatomy, organisms, diseases, chemicals and drugs, techniques and equipment, psychiatry and psychology, biological sciences, physical sciences, social sciences and education, technology, agriculture, food, industry, humanities, information science and communications, and health care.
MEDLINE (OVID) This link opens in a new window The complete MEDLINE database, including such topics as microbiology, delivery of health care, nutrition, pharmacology, and environmental health. The categories covered in the database include anatomy, organisms, diseases, chemicals and drugs, techniques and equipment, psychiatry and psychology, biological sciences, physical sciences, social sciences and education, technology, agriculture, food, industry, humanities, information science and communications, and health care.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Databases include the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) which includes all Cochrane Reviews (and protocols) prepared by Cochrane Review Groups, the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), a highly concentrated source of reports of randomised and quasi-randomised controlled trials, and the Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE), which contains abstracts of systematic reviews that have been quality-assessed.
Alt-HealthWatch This link opens in a new window Alt HealthWatch provides coverage of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness through a full text database of articles from more than 140 international and often peer-reviewed journals. The majority of the articles are available in searchable PDF or scanned-in-color.
Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window A collection of articles on consumer health issues providing information on health topics such as the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window Provides access to full text journals and other periodicals focusing on the nursing disciplines. Also includes abstracts and indexing for other journals

Psychology

APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window Contains summaries of the world's journal literature in psychology and related disciplines, as well as dissertations and technical reports. Covers over 1300 journals in over 30 languages from approximately 50 countries. To integrate behavioral information from other fields, PsycINFO scans publications from related disciplines such as sociology, linguistics, education, medicine, law, physiology, business, psychiatry, and anthropology, and represents those relevant to psychology.
APA PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window PsycARTICLES is a database of full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber. The database includes all material from the print journals with the exception of ads and editorial board lists. PsycARTICLES covers 53 journals, 1985-present, and provides both PDF and HTML formats.

Education

ERIC (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window Citations and abstracts of journal articles and reports on education-related topics

Business/Economics/Management

Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window Provides full text articles for business journals--and other periodicals--covering management, economics, finance, accounting and international business. Also includes indexing and abstracts for other journals/periodicals.
EconLit This link opens in a new window Produced by the American Economics Association, EconLit indexes and abstracts more than 450 international economic journals. EconLit source material includes journal articles, essays, research papers, books, dissertations, book reviews, and working papers. The database contains more than 350,00 records and covers subjects from accounting, consumer economics, monetary policy, labor, marketing, demographics, modeling, economic theory, planning, and more. The database contains records from 1969-present with approximately 15,000 records added annually.

Science

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window A Web database for scientific research that contains the full text of more than 1800 Elsevier Science journals in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences available through the Internet. Contains abstracts and articles from the core journals in major scientific disciplines. The Libraries subscribes to the Freedom Collection along with several backfile collections: Chemistry Backfile, Earth & Planetary Sciences Backfile, Inorganic Chemistry Backfile, Organic Chemistry Backfile, Psychology Backfile, and Social Science Backfile.

Web of Science This link opens in a new window Citation indexes back to the early 20th century for scholarly research in the sciences and social sciences.
Anatomy.TV This link opens in a new window 3D computer-generated models of human anatomy. Images may be manipulated by rotating, zooming, and peeling away layers while viewing accompanying text. Also contains interactive quizzes. Auburn University Libraries subscribes to three sections of Anatmomy.tv: 1) Audiology, SLP, and Head and Neck Neuroanatomy, 2) General Human Anatomy and Physiology, and 3) Functional Anatomy.

Database Tutorials

PubMed Tutorials and Handouts

Health Sciences Librarian

Adelia Grabowsky

Email Me

Contact:

Interested in a virtual meeting?
Click on "Schedule an Appointment" and choose location - online.

RBD Library
231 Mell Street
Auburn, AL 36849

(334) 844-1797

Subjects: Medicine, Nursing, Pharmacy, Speech, Language and Hearing Sciences

NURS 3110: Articles & Databases