This is the "Home" page of the "Careers" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Careers   Tags: business, careers  

Last Updated: Sep 2, 2011 URL: http://libguides.auburn.edu/careers Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Careers

Auburn University Career Services

Career Development Services

The CDS website has a ton of information about researching careers, creating a resume, preparing for an interview, and researching companies. Be sure to check out their web resources link to find a lot of really great recommended sites.

Researching Careers

Occupational Outlook Handbook
This U.S. government guide provides information on hundreds of careers, including the training and education needed; earnings; expected job prospects; what workers do on the job; and working conditions.

AUBIECat Library Catalog
Search the Library Catalog to find books in the library on careers and job hunting. Try searches for "vocational guidance" or "occupations". You can also browse some of our career books on the 3rd floor of the library in the HF 5381-5386 call number ranges.

Job Postings on the Internet

AU Career Services
Net Temps
BestJobsUSA
Black Collegian Online
Business Week Online's Career Center
Career Builder
Career Guide to Industries
CareerNet
Career Path
Chronicle of Higher Education - Job Openings
College Grad Job Hunter
Cool Works
JobNet
JobWeb
Just Tech Jobs
MBA Job
Monster.com
The Riley Guide
US Federal Jobs
Washington Post Job Hunting On-Line
Yahoo! HotJobs.com

Creating a List of Potential Employers

Not all jobs are posted on the Internet. These sources can help you identify and target companies in a particular industry or geographic location that you may want to send your resume:

Hoover's Online(AU Libraries Database)-
Provides detailed information on more than 50,000 of the largest or fastest growing public and private U.S. companies. Includes company address, number of employees, key people, history, financial data, news items and selected links to company web sites, SEC filings, and current stock prices.

ReferenceUSA(AU Libraries Database)
Search for businesses and get brief company information. Includes more small, private companies than Hoover's Online. (More info)

www.fortune.com – Look under the rankings tab for these lists and others
-100 Best Companies to Work For
-America's 20 Most Admired Companies
-20 Greatest Companies for New Grads

Almanac of American Employers- (book)
Call Number: HF 5382.75 .U6 A45 2007
Reference Shelves, 2nd Floor Library

Basic Company Information

Keep in mind that the company type may determine how much information you will be able to find. Public companies, like Wal-Mart, Ford and Coca-Cola, are those that sell stock to investors, so they typically have the most information available to researchers. Private companies, which do not sell stock to investors, are not required to provide information about their companies. As a result, they can be more difficult to research. The Hoover's Online or Reference USA databases should indicate whether a company is public or private.

Hoover's Online(AU Libraries Database)-
Provides detailed information on more than 50,000 of the largest or fastest growing public and private U.S. companies. Includes company address, number of employees, key people, history, financial data, news items and selected links to company web sites, SEC filings, and current stock prices.

ReferenceUSA(AU Libraries Database)
Search for businesses and get brief company information. Includes more small, private companies than Hoover's Online. (More info)

Company Websites

You'll want to take a look at the company's website. This is the company's main communication tool with the world. Here, you'll find out about the company's products or services and what the company wants it's customers and investors to know about it. However, keep in mind that the website may not tell the entire story about what's going on with a company. You'll also want to look for news, articles and reports available in the AU Library business databases to verify what you find on a website.

Annual Report

For a public company, look for an Annual Report. Produced by the company each year for their stockholders, the annual report will describe the company’s operations, financial situation, and future plans. Try these sites to locate a copy of the annual report:

Company website- recent years are usually under links called Investor Relations, About Us, etc.

Annual Report Gallery- www.reportgallery.com

Search Business Publications

Look for articles that discuss the company’s history, operations, trends, etc. Try including some of those terms as keywords in your searches. Also, if you know the name of the top executives, try a search with their names to see if they've given interviews. If you can't find articles about your company, look for articles about the industry in which they operate.

Business Source Premier (AU Libraries Database)-
Includes business magazines, journals and trade publications. Also has Company Profile reports from Datamonitor that give detailed information about a company.

www.BizJournals.com
Great source to find articles on private companies or for local information on public companies.

LexisNexis Academic
Provides access to various databases, including current news, business information, company directories, federal and state laws, regulations, legal cases, etc.

Other Possible Sources:

History of the Organization

Business & Company Resource Center (AU Libraries Database)-
Includes in-depth company histories from the International Directory of Company Histories.

For Non-Profit Organizations

GuideStar
Provides access to IRS Form 990, which most non-profits must file. This form has info on revenue, expenses, salaries of directors and top employees.

Industry Reports

An industry report is a great way to find out what's important to a company in a particular industry. What are the forces that are impacting that industry? What opportunities or challenges does the company face in that industry? Finding out what's going on in the industry provides you with "talking points" during an interview. How would your skills help the employer in that industry?

ABI/Inform Complete (AU Libraries Database)
Includes great Industry Reports from FirstResearch. Once in the ABI/Inform database, click on the Browse tab at the top, then follow the link for FirstResearch. Industry overview, Challenges, Trends & Opportunities, call prep questions.

IBISWorld Industry Reports
Provides access to market research reports on over 700 U.S. industries. The reports cover key industry statistics, market segmentation, current industry conditions and future outlook. We also have access to the China industry reports.

Contact

If you have any questions about researching a company or using any of the resources, please contact the Reference Desk at 844-1737, or e-mail askalibrarian@auburn.edu . We have other library resources that might be able to answer your questions.

Auburn University Libraries | 231 Mell Street | Auburn, Alabama 36849 | (334) 844-1737 or (800) 446-0387 |

Follow The Libraries on Twitter Follow the Auburn Libraries on Flickr Follow the Auburn Libraries on Facebook

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip