This is the "Home" page of the "Article Linker FAQ" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Article Linker FAQ  

Last Updated: Feb 1, 2013 URL: http://libguides.auburn.edu/articlelinker Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Tips

When Article Linker "fails" to link to an article, try clicking on the link for the Journal.

 

What is Article Linker? Will it work off-campus? Does it work with Google Scholar off-campus?

What is Article Linker?

Short answer ... a link to the full-text of an article.
Long answer ... an open URL link-resolver. Its goal is to link the full-text of an article to the record for the article in a library database (e.g., Academic Search Premier, PsycINFO, Google Scholar, etc.).
Will Article Linker work off-campus?
Yes. Enter your Auburn University user name and password when asked -- just like you do when using library databases from off-campus. Article Linker also works with AU Wireless in the same way.

Will Google Scholar work with Article Linker off-campus?

Yes. Open the "Scholar Preferences" link on Google Scholar. Under "Library Links" type in Auburn, select "Auburn University Libraries -- Full-Text @ AU Libraries", and save your preferences. When searching Google Scholar, just look to the right of the article title for the "Full-Text @ AU Libraries" link. Enter your Auburn University user name and password when asked -- just like you do when using library databases from off-campus.
 

Why doesn't Article Linker always take me to the article?

There are two main reasons Article Linker fails ...

[1]  We have online access to the article but Article Linker is having trouble linking from the database to the article. Why? There are a number of technical reasons. But don't give up. Just a few more clicks may get you the full-text of the article (see the section below).

[2]  We do not have online access to the article. If this is the case, then search the library catalog to see if we have a print copy of the journal in the library. If we don't have the journal for the year you need, then you can request the library to get a copy of the article by Interlibrary Loan.

 

What do the links for "article", "CrossRef", "journal", and "database" listed under "Try these links" do?

What do the links for "article", "CrossRef", "journal", and "database" listed under "Try these links" do?

The "article" link should take you to the full-text of the article if we have online access. However, since you have landed on the results page, the "article" link is likely to fail again. Insead, try the "CrossRef" link.

The "CrossRef" link often takes you to the full-text of the article when the "article" link fails.

The "journal" link takes you to the homepage for the journal which can be used to navigate to the full-text of the article.

The "database" link takes you to the vendor who provides access to the journal. This is often not an especially useful link but it does tell you from whom Auburn University has access to the journal. It may be possible to search the database for the article and find its full text.

 

How do I know if AU has online access via Article Linker?

How do I know if Auburn University has online access via Article Linker?

Look at the dates in the far left column called "Coverage Range" for the links listed under "Try these links". If any of the date ranges include the publication year for your article, then Auburn University has online access to it. Believe this until proven otherwise -- we have online access! If "CrossRef" is listed, try clicking it. Otherwise, click on the "jounal" link and navigate your way to the article.

 Is Article Linker part of the Library Catalog?

In a way it is. The data that powers Article Linker also supplies the Library Catalog with records for online access to journals. Most of the journal records in the Library Catalog that say [electronic resource] after the journal title were supplied by Article Linker.

 

CrossRef

What is CrossRef?

It is a organization that helps libraries link their journal subscriptions to online articles. 

What does the CrossRef link do?

It can take you to online full-text articles when Article Linker's "article" link fails to do so. Click on the CrossRef "article" link twice -- once to search CrossRef and once more to link to the article.

What if CrossRef is not listed or if CrossRef failed to link to the article?

If there is a "journal" link listed under "Try these links" and the far left column shows that we have online access to the journal for the year you need, then we have online access to the article. Believe this until proven otherwise -- we have online access! Try clicking on the "journal" link. This should take you to the online journal, from which you can navigate to the full-text of the article. If it does not, please let us know so that we can figure out why it did not work -- often the publisher has changed a link that we need to add to Article Linker or (gasp) the library has made a mistake. We pride ourselves on quickly fixing problems with Article Linker, so please let us know about them.

 

Journal links

What if there is no "journal" link?

We still may have the article -- probably in print on the library shelves. The Library Catalog record for the journal will tell you where the journal is located in the library and what years we own. The next question explains how Article Linker can help search the Library Catalog.

Can Article Linker search the Library Catalog for a journal?

Yes. Click on "By ISSN or ISBN" under "Search the Library Catalog". If that fails, click on "By Journal Title". This takes you to the Library Catalog record(s) for the journal. The Library Catalog has separate records for print and electronic access to journals. Carefully look at both records before deciding that the library does not have the journal for the year you need.
 

PubMed ID and DOI

What is a PubMed ID number or a DOI number?

A PubMed ID Number is the accession number assigned to each article record in the PubMed database. A DOI number is a unique number which is assigned to most online articles, or at least to those articles whose publishers participate in DOI.

Can I use a PubMed ID number or a DOI number to link to an article?

Yes. Enter the number into the "Search by DOI or PubMed ID Number" box on the E-Journals page.
 

E-Journals page (or tab)

 E-Journals page

The E-Journals page provides online access to journals to which Auburn University has a subscription. Just type the first few words of the journal in the search box. This quickly finds all journals whose title starts with those words. You can also keyword search for journals, browse by the first letter of the journal, or scan by journal categories. The E-Journals page, Article Linker, and the library catalog records for online journals are powered by the same database. Note that print holdings are not found on the E-Journals page.

 

 

What if this FAQ does not answer my question?

Still have questions? 

If you have any other questions about Article Linker, find it confusing to use, or run into any problems not described here, please let us know in-person at the Reference Desk on the 2nd floor of the library, by phone (844-1737), via email, or online chat.

 

Created by Bob Buchanan © 2012
Librarian for Veterinary Medicine and Chemistry
Auburn University Libraries

Auburn University Libraries | 231 Mell Street | Auburn, Alabama 36849 | (334) 844-1737 or (800) 446-0387 |

Follow The Libraries on Twitter Follow the Auburn Libraries on Flickr Follow the Auburn Libraries on Facebook

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip