Download Adobe Digital EditionsMoving items to an eReader via Adobe Digital EditionsSharing a copy of Adobe Digital EditionsAdobe Digital Editions Compatible E-Readers and Software
Previewing an EBL titlePreviewing an Ebrary titlePreviewing an EBSCO eBook title
Downloading eBooks from EBLDownloading eBooks from EbraryDownloading eBooks from EBSCO eBooksDownloading eBooks from Springer eBooks
Full text searching within EBL's eBook CollectionFull text searching within Ebrary's eBook collectionFull-text searching within EBSCO's eBooks collectionFull text searching within Springer's eBook collection
This is the "Downloading eBooks from EBL" page of the "Electronic Books" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Electronic Books   Tags: e-books, ebooks, electronic books, reference, research  

Last Updated: Aug 27, 2014 URL: http://libguides.auburn.edu/ebooks Print Guide RSS Updates

Downloading eBooks from EBL Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Downloading from EBL

Note: At this time, eBooks from EBL, Ebrary, and EBSCO can't be "checked out" from AULibraries public or OIT Lab computers since the download must stay with the copy of Adobe Digital Editions (ADE) it is downloaded to and is only transferrable to the devices synced to that copy of ADE.  The online preview is available at library workstations. 

You can read an EBL e-book online from your computer/laptop/tablet through a regular web browser.  At the start of a session you will need to login to the EBL search or  book with your Auburn University ID and password.

  • Adobe Digital Editions  (ADE) will be required to download EBL ebooks for reading offline and for transferring books to e-readers. You will need to set up an Adobe account. EBL e-books can be checked out for 1 day or 7 days, after which the download is disabled and you will receive a message telling you the download has expired if you attempt to open it..  In EBL, you cannot copy and paste unless you download the book for checkout.   
  • To print or copy from the the EBL Online Reader, you are required to install Adobe Reader.

Printing & Copying

  • You may print a limited number of pages (20%) and copy a limited amount of text (5%). These limits are displayed and tracked in the e-book interface.
  •  Adobe Reader  is required in order to print and copy e-book content.
How to Download
 
When you click the "Link to Resource" link from the Libraries' catalog record, (you may have to login using your AU ID and password) EBL opens straight to your book and the page will look like this:
Click on the Read Online button you can then click on the Download tab in the vertical navigation bar
When you click Download you will choose your download options.  If you do not have  Adobe Digital Editions downloaded, there is a link for doing so.  Make sure to authorize your account with the Adobe ID you set up.
Make sure you download to the "My Digital Editions" folder  in your "My Documents" folder - this is where Adobe Digital Editions will look for the item to display it in your library. Note: Some tablet owners may be able to download directly to their device using the tablet's browser and the BlueFire app (iPads, Kindle Fire (Go to the Blog entry How to Install Bluefire Reader for Android on the Kindle Fire for more information), Android devices are a few examples).
In ADE, go to Library and then Add Item to Library
 
 
Some vendors will download what looks like a link. If your book does not show up in your My Digital Editions folder as a book file make sure the item didn't download to your computer's Download folder. The link names may start with "URL". You can go to your Download folder, locate the link/file, and then drag it into the reading area of ADE. It should open.

Auburn University Libraries | 231 Mell Street | Auburn, Alabama 36849 | (334) 844-1737 or (800) 446-0387 |

Follow The Libraries on Twitter Follow the Auburn Libraries on Flickr Follow the Auburn Libraries on Facebook

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip