Download Adobe Digital EditionsMoving items to an eReader via Adobe Digital EditionsSharing a copy of Adobe Digital EditionsAdobe Digital Editions Compatible E-Readers and Software
Previewing an EBL titlePreviewing an Ebrary titlePreviewing an EBSCO eBook title
Downloading eBooks from EBLDownloading eBooks from EbraryDownloading eBooks from EBSCO eBooksDownloading eBooks from Springer eBooks
Full text searching within EBL's eBook CollectionFull text searching within Ebrary's eBook collectionFull-text searching within EBSCO's eBooks collectionFull text searching within Springer's eBook collection
This is the "Downloading eBooks from EBSCO eBooks" page of the "Electronic Books" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Electronic Books   Tags: e-books, ebooks, electronic books, reference, research  

Last Updated: Aug 27, 2014 URL: http://libguides.auburn.edu/ebooks Print Guide RSS Updates

Downloading eBooks from EBSCO eBooks Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Downloading from EBSCO eBooks

Note: At this time, eBooks from EBL, Ebrary, and EBSCO can't be "checked out" from AULibraries public or OIT Lab computers since the download must stay with the copy of Adobe Digital Editions (ADE) it is downloaded to and is only transferrable to the devices synced to that copy of ADE. The online preview is available at library workstations. 

For downloading eBooks (those that are available for check-out & downloading) and reading them off-line on your computer or moving the to a portable eReader device, Adobe Digital Editions is required (see below).  You will also need to set up a free account in EBSCO.

Check-out available for select items for 7 days, after which the download is disabled and you will receive a message telling you the download has expired if you attempt to open it.. Clicking on "Show Details" will allow you to see if you can check-out and read offline.   

The Minimum Browser Requirements for EBSCO interfaces are as follows:

Internet Explorer 7.0 or later
FireFox 8.0 or later
Safari 5.1 or later
Google Chrome 16 or later
Other JavaScript, Cookies Enabled

 

  • The recommended screen resolution for EBSCOhost is 1024 x 768.
  • (Macintosh OS9 users who cannot run the latest Netscape version 7.2 can download a compatible version by clicking HERE, then clicking on the "Download Now" link inside right-hand column.)
  • Internet Explorer 8 users should turn off Compatibility View by clicking the button next to the web address bar in their browser. Compatibility View may cause some areas of EBSCO interfaces to not display correctly.
  • Adobe Flash Player 10.0 or later is required to use Text-To-Speech on interfaces in which it is available.
  • Page Composer will not appear for users who do not have browsers that meet these requirements.
  • If you are using a Mac, you will need to install a PDF Browser plug-in in order to use the eBook Viewer.

Printing

30 pages or less.

How to Download

When you click an EBSCO ebook record, you get the following screen.  Remember, these can only be downloaded on your personal computer, not on Morgan Library workstations. Note that EBSCO requires you set up a free account to download books.  For downloading eBooks (those that are available for check-out & downloading) and reading them off-line on your computer or portable device,  Adobe Digital Editions is required.

When setting up an account, look for the "Create New Account" tab in the login screen:

If you elect to preview the item, it will appear in a viewing pane. 

If you elect to download, you will get a download window - note you must download Adobe Editions to download the book.  A link for downloading Adobe Digital Editions is supplied.  Make sure to authorize your account with the Adobe ID you set up.

Make sure you download to the "My Digital Editions" folder in your "My Documents" folder - this is where Adobe Digital Editions will look for the item to display it in your library. Note: Some tablet owners may be able to download directly to their device using the tablet's browser and the BlueFire app (iPads and Android devices are examples).
In ADE, go to File and then Add to Library
Some vendors will download what looks like a link. If your book does not show up in your My Digital Editions folder as a book first make sure the item didn't download to your computer's Download folder. Then change the file type to Adobe Content Server Message, select the file you want to open, and press open.
Your books should then appear in your ADE library.

Auburn University Libraries | 231 Mell Street | Auburn, Alabama 36849 | (334) 844-1737 or (800) 446-0387 |

Follow The Libraries on Twitter Follow the Auburn Libraries on Flickr Follow the Auburn Libraries on Facebook

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip