Skip to main content

MUSI 2310 - Music Theory: Find an analysis

Class guide for theory assignment

How do I find the full text of an article?

Need to find the full text of an analysis? 

See How to Get the Text of an Article

More places for analyses

  • Program notes
  • CD liner notes
  • DVDs

Find an Analysis

Auburn University Libraries catalog

Search for composer biographies and works on specific pieces.

Music Index Online

Indexes music periodicals from 1970 to the present, with links to selected full text.

UT Analysis Index

"The Analysis Index provides access to program notes and descriptions or analyses of musical compositions in books owned by the UT Music Library." Search the titles in the AU Libraries catalog to find these books in the Auburn University Library.

Grove Music Online

Includes access to Grove Music Online, Oxford Dictionary of Music, and the Oxford Companion to Music. Grove Music Online is also in paper as The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd ed. in the 2nd floor reference collection at ML 100.N48 2000.


Use these books to find published musical analyses.  All are located on the 3rd floor of the RBD Library.

Diamond, Harold J. Music Analyses: An Annotated Guide to the Literature. New York: Schirmer Books; Maxwell Macmillan International, 1991. ML 128 .A7 D5 1991

Hoek, D.J. Analyses of nineteenth- and twentieth-century music, 1940-2000. Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press and Music Library Association, 2007. ML 118 .H695 2007

Laskowski, Larry. Heinrich Schenker: An Annotated Index to his Analyses of Musical Works. New York: Pendragon Press, 1978. ML 423 .S33 L4

Wenk, Arthur. Analyses of Twentieth-Century Music, 1940-1970. Ann Arbor, MI: Music Library Association, 1975. ML 118 .W46

Wenk, Arthur. Analyses of Nineteenth-Century Music, 1940-1980. Boston: Music Library Association, 1984. ML 118 .W43 1984

Wenk, Arthur. Analyses of Nineteenth- and Twentieth-Century Music, 1940-1985. Boston: Music Library Association, 1987. ML 113 .W45 1987

Subject Guide

Liza Weisbrod's picture
Liza Weisbrod
Contact:
1st Floor RBD Library
231 Mell St.
Auburn University, AL 36849
334-844-1759 or 334-844-0954
Website Feedback | Privacy | Copyright ©