Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Other Biology Databases
You may also like to try out the following databases:
Biosis Citation Index An index with abstracts to periodicals in biology and the life sciences. Provides access to biological and medical research findings, clinical studies, and discoveries of new organisms. Coverage is international, and includes agriculture, biochemistry, biomedicine, biotechnology, genetics, botany, ecology, microbiology, pharmacology, and zoology. (10 simultaneous users)
BioOne Complete A collection of the full texts of various research journals focused on the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences. Auburn University Libraries subscribe to the BioOne1 collection only.
Zoological Record Equivalent of the printed Zoological record. Covers worldwide systematic zoological literature and other areas of zoology such as anatomy, morphology, physiology, reproduction, ecology, evolution, life history, and behavior. Coverage is from 1864 to the present.
Google Scholar Provides access to much of the world's scholarly literature from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities. Results include peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, pre-prints, abstracts, technical reports, and scholarly articles available on the Web.
Library Help Session (Required)
Jan 27: Topic Selection Due
Feb 10 at 12 PM: Literature Collection Help Session: https://auburn.zoom.us/j/3543007992
Feb 11 at 12 PM: Literature Collection Help Session: https://auburn.zoom.us/j/3543007992
Feb 19: Outline & Literature Reading Due
March 17: Draft Poster Due
March 24: Revised Draft Poster Due
March 31: Final Poster and Audio Presentation Submission
Final Poster Exhibition April 14-21
Essential Databases and Search Engines
For a successful project, you must find and cite a minimum of 5 peer-reviewed scientific research articles or scholarly books. The following databases are essential to scientific research:
Web of Science Web of Science is the online version of the print and CD-ROM versions of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & humanities citation index; Science citation index (called Science citation index expanded, in online version); and, Social sciences citation index. (5 simultaneous users)
PubMed PubMed comprises more than 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
***In order to gain full access to articles, be sure to use the links on this course guide or log in through the AU Libraries website***