Skip to Main Content
This Is Auburn Auburn University Libraries LibGuides

AU Libraries Alumni Services

A primary resource highlighting electronic resources and library services for alumni

Special Collections and Archives

Head of SC&A reviewing materialsAuburn Alumni members have access privileges to most collections within Special Collections and Archives. While our materials are non-circulating, visitors may use our reading room for access and research.

Off-site researchers may request photocopies or digital copies of most materials held in Special Collections and Archives. Please visit the SC&A Polices and Services page for details.


Information on the Auburn University Digital Library

The Auburn University Digital Library provides digital access to multiple resources from valuable collections, including the Special Collections and Archives Department.

Alumni users can browse the Digital Collections for different materials such as photographs, news articles, postcards, and community planning reports. Several collections from the Auburn University Digital Library are accessible through the showcase to the right.


Discover Auburn Lecture Series

Attend lectures in person or virtually through Zoom as part of the Discover Auburn Lecture Series. Hosted by Special Collections and Archives, see a list of upcoming Discover Auburn lectures for Spring 2022 by Auburn University scholars. 


For other inquiries on resources and services or for information on visiting the Special Collections and Archives Department, please call (334) 844-1732 or email archives@auburn.edu.

Plainsman article preview from AU Digital Library

AU Digital Library - The Plainsman

Since 1922, The Auburn Plainsman has operated as the student newspaper for the Alabama Polytechnic Institute, now known as Auburn University.

Dr. Harold Franklin walking onto AU Campus in 1964

The Auburn University Photograph Collection

Special Collections maintains thousands of individual photographs that capture Auburn University's history from 1869 to 2008, such as this documented moment of Harold Franklin, Auburn University's first black student, walking on Auburn's campus in 1964. These images are available online and through manuscript collections and self-indexing files in the Archives' reading room.

Page from 1997 Glomerata Yearbook Vol 100

Glomerata Yearbook Collection

The Special Collections and Archives department maintains a collection of Glomerata yearbooks dating from 1897 to 2019. The Glom and its staff aim to showcase Auburn's unique community of students, faculty, and campus life. Presently, 404 full-color pages complete the Glomerata, with yearbook formatting altering over the years.

Movie night at Landon Hall in 1984

Auburn: The Loveliest Village Collection

This collection features images from Auburn: A Pictorial History of The Loveliest Village by Mickey Logue and Jack Simms. These photographs showcase the Auburn community from 1852 to 2002, including historic districts and buildings of the Alabama Polytechnic Institute of 1899.