Find the best library databases for your research.
The most frequently-used databases
Academic Search PremierThis link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Premier is a large multi-disciplinary database containing full text for thousands of publications, many of which are peer-reviewed. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for many more journals. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study.
APA PsycINFOThis link opens in a new windowContains summaries of the world's journal literature in psychology and related disciplines, as well as dissertations and technical reports. Covers over 1300 journals in over 30 languages from approximately 50 countries. To integrate behavioral information from other fields, PsycINFO scans publications from related disciplines such as sociology, linguistics, education, medicine, law, physiology, business, psychiatry, and anthropology, and represents those relevant to psychology.
CINAHLThis link opens in a new windowProvides authoritative coverage of the literature related to nursing and allied health fields including: cardiopulmonary technology, emergency service, health education, medical laboratory, medical assistant, medical records, occupational therapy, physical therapy, physician assistant, radiologic technology, technology therapy, social service and surgical technology.
Alternate Name(s):Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature
ERIC (Ebsco)This link opens in a new windowComprehensive in its indexing of communication and speech journals going back to 1966. ERIC through the .gov site provides full text for the majority of ERIC documents beginning in 1996. Documents are in PDF format and require Adobe Acrobat Reader.
Nexis UniThis link opens in a new windowProvides access to various databases, including current news, business information, company directories, federal and state laws, regulations, legal cases, etc.
Alternate Name(s):LexisNexis Academic
Web of ScienceThis link opens in a new windowWeb of Science is the online version of the print and CD-ROM versions of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & humanities citation index; Science citation index (called Science citation index expanded, in online version); and, Social sciences citation index. (5 simultaneous users)
The following databases are highlighted because they may be newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Black Authors: 1556-1922This link opens in a new windowCreated from the holdings of the Library Company of Philadelphia, Black Authors, 1556-1922, includes more than 550 works by black authors from the Americas, Europe and Africa, compiled by the curators of the Afro-Americana Imprints collection. These works include personal narratives, autobiographies, histories, expedition reports, military reports, novels, essays, poems and musical compositions.