ANTH 5200/6200_Gaetano

This book is written by anthropologists who are currently engaged in research on gender. The editors argue for the development of an ethnography-based feminism that both pays heed to what women in specific circumstances identify as their concerns and recognizes the contradictions inherent in the goals of feminist anthropology. The essays consider a range of "awkward" issues, including feminism in international contexts, the invisibility of women's working lives, and the problems of voice and ethnographic representation. Referring to a variety of ethnographic contexts, and working from diverse perspectives, the contributors examine the multiple dilemmas and conflicts of gender and power.

Though feminist ethnography has become fairly common, the question of what the term means remains open, with many of the texts falling under this rubric relying on unexamined notions of "sisterhood" and the recovery of "lost" voices. Writing about women in India, her work with them, and the nature of anthropology itself, Kamala Visweswaran addresses this question in the essays that make up "Fictions of Feminist Ethnography".

Summarizes the state of the art of gender issues in fieldwork both in anthropology and sociology. Warren shows how the researcher's gender affects both the fieldwork relationships and the production of ethnography. The authors focus is more empirical than theoretical; using literature on gender and ethnography, together with their own experiences as women ethnographers, they focus on ways in which researchers represent these experiences through narrative. 

Folklorist Elaine J. Lawless has devoted her career to ethnographic research with underserved groups in the American Midwest, including charismatic Pentecostals, clergywomen, victims of domestic violence, and displaced African Americans. She has consistently focused her research on women's speech in these contexts and has developed a new approach to ethnographic research which she calls "reciprocal ethnography," while growing a detailed corpus of work on women's narrative style and expressive speech.

Feminist Fields offers a rich and varied portrait of both the current work in feminist anthropology and future possibilities for dialogue between feminism and anthropology. Contributors to the book present critical analyses of a broad range of ethnographic topics: national feminism, gender and identity formation, cultural continuity, ethnographic authority, ethics and representation, empowerment and resistance.

In this collection of new reflections on the sexual politics, racial history and moral predicaments of anthropology, feminist scholars explore a wide range of visions of identity and difference. How are feminists redefining the poetics and politics of ethnography? What are the contradictions of women studying women? How have gender, race, class, and nationality been scripted into the canon?

Introduces novice and expert practitioners alike to the process of ethnographic research, including answers to questions such as who should and can do ethnography, when it is used most fruitfully, and how research projects are carried out from conceptualization to the uses of research results. Defines the qualitative research enterprise, links research strategies to theoretical paradigms, and outlines the ways in which an ethnographic study can be designed.

Examining the wide range of feminist research methods, Shulamit Reinharz explains the relationship between feminism and methodology, and challenges existing stereotypes. Concluding that there is no one correct feminist method, but rather a variety of perspectives, Reinharz argues that thisdiversity of methods has been of great value to feminist scholarship. With an extensive bibliography cataloguing the important work accomplished over the last two decades, Feminist Methods in Social Research is an essential resource for students of sociology and women's studies.

Contents: The history of the study of gender in anthropology -- Analyzing theories -- The evolutionary orientation -- The materialist orientation -- The psychological orientation -- Structuralist approaches -- Discourse analysis: poststructural and sociolinguistic orientations -- The self-reflexive approach and the postcolonial critique -- Gender and anthropology in a global world.

Introduction: Global-local connections: the view applied anthropology / Jacqueline Copeland-Carson, Mary Odell Butler and Christina Wasson -- 1. Global localities and the management of infectious disease / Mary Odell Butler -- 2. Engendering transport: mapping women and men on the move / Mari H. Clarke -- 3. Housing interests: developing community in a globalizing city / Jacqueline Copeland-Carson -- 4. Policy, applied feminist anthropological practice, and the traffic in women / Susan Dewey -- 5. Global climate change from the bottom up / Shirley J. Fiske -- 6. Aging and transnational immigration / Madelyn Iris -- 7. Defining family: anthropological contributions to practice and policy in child welfare / Susan Racine Passmore -- 8. From internationalism to systemic globalism in health leadership training / Eva C. Pinsker -- 9. Localizing the global in technology design / Christina Wasson and Susan Squires -- Conclusion: Toward a practice-based ethnography in the global village / Jean J. Schensul and Mary Odell Butler.

This landmark collection of essays provides a contemporary overview of feminist anthropology's historical and theoretical origins, the transformations it has undergone, and the vital contributions it continues to make to cutting-edge scholarship.   

A comprehensive, two-volume encyclopedia covering the major theories, research, people and issues in contemporary gender studies. The work will be distinguished by a cross-nationaloss-cultural perspective providing comparative analyses of life experiences of men and women around the world.

Comprehensive, providing full coverage of key subthemes and subfields within the discipline, such as applied anthropology, archaeology and paleontology, sociocultural anthropology, evolution, linguistics, physical and biological anthropology, primate studies, and more. Includes entry on Feminist Anthropology

Contents: The chapters gathered here present the state of the art in scholarship in the field, covering: epistemology and marginality; literary, visual and cultural representations; sexuality; macro and microeconomics of gender; conflict and peace. The most important consensus in this volume is that a central organizing tenet of feminism is its willingness to examine the ways in which gender and relations between women and men have been (and are) organized.

Demonstrating the interdisciplinary nature of feminist theory, book chapters offer innovative analyses of topics central to social and political science, cultural studies and humanities, discourses associated with medicine and science, and issues in contemporary critical theory that have been transformed through feminist theorization. The handbook identifies limitations of key epistemic assumptions that inform traditional scholarship and shows how theorizing from women's and men's lives has profound effects on the conceptualization of central categories, whether the field of analysis isaesthetics, biology, cultural studies, development, economics, film studies, health, history, literature, politics, religion, science studies, sexualities, violence, or war.