Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This Is Auburn Auburn University Libraries LibGuides

EndNote Basic: Adding References

Quick Links

Handout -- Contains everything from this guide -- How to use EndNote Basic, especially with Auburn University databases (8 pgs).

Adding references to EndNote Basic

Five ways to add references to EndNote Basic

Manual entry
Direct Export => From an online database to EndNote Basic 
Two-Step => From an online database (PubMed, SciFinder)
From EndNote Web => Access PubMed or the AU Library catalog from EndNote Basic
Capture from the Web => Using IE or Firefox

Adding references to EndNote Basic

Five ways to add references to EndNote Basic

• Manual entry
• Direct Export => From an online database to EndNote Basic
• Two-Step => From an online database (PubMed, SciFinder)
• From EndNote Web => Access PubMed or the AU Library catalog from EndNote Basic
• Capture from the Web => Using IE or Firefox

Manual entry

Manual entry

  1. Log on to EndNote Baisc if you have not already done so.
  2. Click on the New Reference link (screen top) in the Collect tab
  3. Select the Reference Type from the pull-down menu (Journal Article, Book, etc.).
  4. Fill in the fields such as author, year, title, etc. For multiple authors, press Enter after each author. For corporate authors, enter the name followed by a comma (e.g., Environmental Protection Agency,). Use the Tab key, or the cursor, to move from one field to the next.
  5. When done with the new reference, click on the Save. The reference will show “Reference is saved”.
  6. The reference will be added to the “Unfiled” group.
  7. Proceed with the next EndNote Basic operation you wish to perform.

Direct Export

Direct Export -- From online databases into EndNote Basic

Most databases allow references to be exported directly into EndNote Basic.

OVID Databases

Agricola, Biological Abstracts, CAB Abstracts, ERIC, International Pharmaceutical Abstracts, MEDLINE, and Zoological Record

  1. Log on to EndNote Basuc if you have not already done so.
  2. In an OVID database, mark the references you want bring into EndNote Basic.
  3. Click on the Export icon (top of results).
  4. Choose EndNote from the pull-down menu for Export Options.
  5. Choose the radio button for Complete Reference under Select Fields to Display.
  6. Click on the Export Citation(s) button. The reference(s) will be added to the “Unfiled” group. 

EBSCO Databases

Academic Search Premier, Alt HealthWatch, America: History & Life, Art & Architecture Complete, Business Source Premier, CINAHL, Communication & Mass Media Complete, Econlit, Education Research Complete, ERIC, Health Source, Historical Abstracts, Lexi-PALS Drug Guide, LISA, Mental Measurements Yearbook, Middle Search Plus, Military & Government Collection, MLA International Bibliography, Music Index, Philosopher's Index, Professional Development Collection, PsycARTICLES, PsycINFO, Regional Business News, SPORTSDiscus, Textile Technology Index, and Vocational and Career Collection.

  1. Log on to EndNote Basic if you have not already done so.
  2. In an Ebsco database, select references with the Add to folder button (below each reference).
  3. Click the Folder View link (screen top, right column).
  4. Click Export.
  5. Select Direct Export to EndNote Web.
  6. Click on Save. The reference(s) will be added to the “Unfiled” group. 

ABI/Inform (ProQuest)

  1. Log on to EndNote Basic if you have not already done so.
  2. In ABI/Inform, mark the references you want to add to EndNote Basic.
  3. Click on the Export link. (screen top)
  4. Click on the Export directly to Procite, EndNote or Reference Manager link.
  5. The reference(s) will be added to the “Unfiled” group. 

Engineering Village

  1. Log on to EndNote Basic if you have not already done so.
  2. In Engineering Village, mark the references you want to add to EndNote Web.
  3. Under Choose Format select Detailed Record (screen top or screen bottom).
  4. Click on the Download button (screen top or screen bottom).
  5. Select RIS, EndNote, ProCite, Reference Manager. Click Download.
  6. In IE, click on Save. In FireFox, click on Save and, if asked, choose Open with … FireFox.
  7. The reference(s) will be added to the “Unfiled” group.

Google Scholar

  1. Log on to EndNote Basic if you have not already done so.
  2. In Google Scholar, change your Scholar Preferences. Under Bibliography Manager select Show links to import citations into and choose RefMan instead of BibTeX. Save your preferences.
  3. Search Google Scholar. To transfer a reference to EndNote Basic, click on Import into RefMan.
  4. The reference(s) will be added to the “Unfiled” group.

IEEE Xplore

  1. Log on to EndNote Basic if you have not already done so.
  2. In IEEE Xplore, select the references you want to add to EndNote Basic.
  3. Click on the Download Citations icon (top of page).
  4. Choose the radio buttons for Citation & Abstract and for EndNote, Procite, RefMan.
  5. Click on the Download Citations button. In FireFox, if asked, choose Open with … FireFox.
  6. The reference(s) will be added to the “Unfiled” group.

JSTOR

  1. Log on to EndNote Basic if you have not already done so.
  2. In JSTOR, select the reference you want to add to EndNote Basic.
  3. Click on Export Citation.
  4. Choose RIS file (EndNote, Procite, Reference Manager).
  5. If asked, click Open and choose Open with … the browser you are using (IE or Firefox )
  6. The reference(s) will be added to the “Unfiled” group.

ScienceDirect

  1. Log on to EndNote Basic if you have not already done so.
  2. In ScienceDirect, mark the references you want to add to EndNote Basic.
  3. Click on the Export Citations link (screen top, middle) which is in tiny font.
  4. Choose Citation + Abstracts.
  5. Accept the default RIS format (for EndNote, ProCite, Reference Manager). Click Export.
  6. The reference(s) will be added to the “Unfiled” group.

Web of Science
(Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index)

  1. Log on to EndNote Basic if you have not already done so.
  2. In Web of Science, mark the references you want to add to EndNote Basic.
  3. Choose Full Record (page bottom, step 2)
  4. Click the Save to EndNote Web button (page bottom, Step 3).
  5. The reference(s) will be added to the “Unfiled” group.

Two-Step Method

Two-Step Method -- From online databases into EndNote Basic

This is a two-step method where you ...

Step One - Perform a database search and save selected references as a text file (details vary by database – see below for details)
Step Two - Import the text file into EndNote Basic

Step Two – General Procedure: Use this generic procedure for all “Two-Step” databases

  1. Log on to EndNote Basic if you have not already done so.
  2. Click on the Import References link in the Collect tab.
  3. Use the Browse button to find and select the file that was saved in Step One.
  4. From the pull-down menu select the appropriate Import Option. To populate the pull-down menu, log on to EndNote Basic. In the Import References section of the Collect tab, highlight the desired Import Option(s) and click on Copy to Favorites. Up to 25 Import Options may be added.*
  5. For the “To” box, select either:  (a) an existing EndNote Basic Group; (b) the “Unfiled” Group; or (c) or create a “New Group”.
  6. Click on the Import button.
  7. The reference(s) will be added to the EndNote Basic group selected in the 5th step above.

*More on populating the Import Option pull-down menu …

The Import option consists of two parts: database name followed by the vendor name in parentheses. Be careful to select the right database (vendor) combination. The same database is often available through different vendors.

The most commonly used Import Options for Auburn University are: SciFinder (CAS); PubMed (NLM); ASFA (CSA); and the rest of the CSA databases (see below for Cambridge Scientific Abstracts – Step One of the Two-Step Method). 

PubMed — Step One of the Two-Step Method

  1. Mark the references you want.
  2. Under Send to choose Clipboard from the pull-down menu.
  3. Click on the Clipboard link.
  4. Under Display Settings select MEDLINE from the pull-down menu. Click on Apply. You may need to select the references that you want.
  5. Save the file as a Text File (*.txt).
  6. Proceed to Step Two – General Procedure (see above) and select PubMed (NLM) as the “Import Option”.


SciFinder Scholar — Step One of the Two-Step Method

  1. Mark the references you want.
  2. Click the Save As button (screen top).
  3. Name the file and select Save As Type: Tagged Format (.txt). Click Save.
  4. Proceed to Step Two – General Procedure (see above) and select SciFinder (CAS) as the “Import Option”.

From EndNote Basic

From EndNote Web -- PubMed and the AU Library catalog

Two databases can be search from EndNote Basic:

PubMed
Auburn University Library Catalog

PubMed can be searched from EndNote Basic or by the Two-Step method described above in Method #3. Both methods have advantages. The Two-Step method uses the PubMed search interface which is superior to the one used by “From EndNote basic” However, the “From EndNote Web” method may be best if you are looking for a specific article(s) to add it to EndNote Basic. PubMed users should try both. The Auburn University Library catalog can also searched by the “From EndNote Basic” method.

Searching from EndNote Basic

  1. Log on to EndNote Basic if you have not already done so.
  2. Click on the Online Search link in the Collect tab in EndNote Basic.
  3. From the pull-down menu select either PubMed (NLM) or Auburn U to search PubMed and the Auburn University Libraries catalog, respectively. To populate the pull-down menu, highlight PubMed (NLM) and/or Auburn U and click on Copy to Favorites.
  4. Click on the Connect button.
  5. Perform a search and select the desired result(s).
  6. From the pull-down menu for Add to Group … select either:  (a) an existing EndNote Web group; (b) the “Unfiled” group; or (c) or create a “New group”. The reference(s) will be added to the selected EndNote Basic group.

Capture References

Capture references from the Web using IE or Firefox

The “Capture from the Web” feature allows you to save online references directly into EndNote Basic.

Warning: Although this method is convenient, it may be necessary edit the data or change the Reference Type. Methods 2, 3, & 4 require less editing of references than the does the “Capture from EndNote” method.

First, download the add-ons from the Options tab in EndNote Basic. This will put a tool for EndNote Basic and for Capture on Internet Explorer and Firefox. If these do not show up in your internet browser, go to View, then Toolbars and select EndNote Basic.

Second, click on the Capture tool to add web page references to EndNote Web. A window will open with bibliographic information. To see the window, turn off pop-up blockers. It may be necessary to edit the bibliographic data or choose the correct Reference Type from the pull-down menu. Once the data is correct, click on the Save button. This will add the reference to the “Unfiled” folder in EndNote Basic.