Subject Guides: ENGL 2200: Grinberg: Research

Library Databases

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to several collections of backfiles of scholarly publications covering the social sciences, humanities, and sciences. JSTOR includes the full runs of each journal, generally up to 1-7 years from the present. Note: Auburn University subscribes to the Arts & Sciences I & II Collections and the Life Sciences Collection.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
A bibliographic reference to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada). Currently over 2,000 journals published throughout the world are covered. Historical Abstracts includes citations from a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities that are of special interest to researchers and students of history. Also, citations to useful historical books as reviewed by the most prestigious journals in the field and citations to abstracts of dissertations completed worldwide of particular interest for historical research.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Premier is a large multi-disciplinary database containing full text for thousands of publications, many of which are peer-reviewed. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for many more journals. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study.
Project MUSE - Standard Collection This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE offers journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers and covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
Britannica Online This link opens in a new window
Consists of a fully searchable and browsable collection of authoritative references, including Britannica's latest article database; articles not yet in the print Britannica; Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary (tenth edition); the Britannica Book of the Year; and links to other World Wide Web sites selected by Britannica editors.

Criticism & Definitions

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window Produced by the Modern Language Association of America, the index consists of bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore, and includes coverage from 1926 to the present. Provides access to scholarly research in over 3,000 journals and series, and covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies, and other formats.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window Integrates searching for literary information including critical analyses, biographies,and bibliographies for more than 120,000 authors from every age and literary discipline. The Center covers 90,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers with additional coverage for 2,500 of the most-studied authors. Includes Scribner Writer's Series.
Oxford English Dictionary (OED) This link opens in a new window Contains the complete 2nd ed., its three-volume Additions series, and also draft material from the revision programe, which represents the latest progress towards the 3rd ed.

ENGL 2200: Grinberg: Research

Library Databases

Criticism & Definitions

Find Books & Articles with Discovery