Five ways to add references to EndNote Basic
• Manual entry
• Direct Export => From an online database to EndNote Basic
• Two-Step => From an online database (PubMed, SciFinder)
• From EndNote Web => Access PubMed or the AU Library catalog from EndNote Basic
• Capture from the Web => Using IE or Firefox
Direct Export -- From online databases into EndNote Basic
Most databases allow references to be exported directly into EndNote Basic.
Agricola, Biological Abstracts, CAB Abstracts, ERIC, International Pharmaceutical Abstracts, MEDLINE, and Zoological Record
Academic Search Premier, Alt HealthWatch, America: History & Life, Art & Architecture Complete, Business Source Premier, CINAHL, Communication & Mass Media Complete, Econlit, Education Research Complete, ERIC, Health Source, Historical Abstracts, Lexi-PALS Drug Guide, LISA, Mental Measurements Yearbook, Middle Search Plus, Military & Government Collection, MLA International Bibliography, Music Index, Philosopher's Index, Professional Development Collection, PsycARTICLES, PsycINFO, Regional Business News, SPORTSDiscus, Textile Technology Index, and Vocational and Career Collection.
Web of Science
(Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index)
Two-Step Method -- From online databases into EndNote Basic
This is a two-step method where you ...
Step One - Perform a database search and save selected references as a text file (details vary by database – see below for details)
Step Two - Import the text file into EndNote Basic
Step Two – General Procedure: Use this generic procedure for all “Two-Step” databases
*More on populating the Import Option pull-down menu …
The Import option consists of two parts: database name followed by the vendor name in parentheses. Be careful to select the right database (vendor) combination. The same database is often available through different vendors.
The most commonly used Import Options for Auburn University are: SciFinder (CAS); PubMed (NLM); ASFA (CSA); and the rest of the CSA databases (see below for Cambridge Scientific Abstracts – Step One of the Two-Step Method).
PubMed — Step One of the Two-Step Method
SciFinder Scholar — Step One of the Two-Step Method
From EndNote Web -- PubMed and the AU Library catalog
Two databases can be search from EndNote Basic:
Auburn University Library Catalog
PubMed can be searched from EndNote Basic or by the Two-Step method described above in Method #3. Both methods have advantages. The Two-Step method uses the PubMed search interface which is superior to the one used by “From EndNote basic” However, the “From EndNote Web” method may be best if you are looking for a specific article(s) to add it to EndNote Basic. PubMed users should try both. The Auburn University Library catalog can also searched by the “From EndNote Basic” method.
Searching from EndNote Basic
Capture references from the Web using IE or Firefox
The “Capture from the Web” feature allows you to save online references directly into EndNote Basic.
Warning: Although this method is convenient, it may be necessary edit the data or change the Reference Type. Methods 2, 3, & 4 require less editing of references than the does the “Capture from EndNote” method.
First, download the add-ons from the Options tab in EndNote Basic. This will put a tool for EndNote Basic and for Capture on Internet Explorer and Firefox. If these do not show up in your internet browser, go to View, then Toolbars and select EndNote Basic.
Second, click on the Capture tool to add web page references to EndNote Web. A window will open with bibliographic information. To see the window, turn off pop-up blockers. It may be necessary to edit the bibliographic data or choose the correct Reference Type from the pull-down menu. Once the data is correct, click on the Save button. This will add the reference to the “Unfiled” folder in EndNote Basic.