Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Gale Virtual Reference Center is a database containing reference works (dictionaries and encyclopedias). It may be a very helpful resource for you.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
A database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Dictionary of Media and Communication Studies by The Watson and Hill dictionary in its 8th edition presents a fresh and comprehensive overview serving all aspect of the study of media and communication. It provides a detailed compendium of the different facets of personal, group, mass media and Internet communication and continues to be a vital source of information for all those interested in how communication affects our lives. The Dictionary of Media and Communication Studies has provided students and the general public alike with a gateway into the study of intercultural communication, public relations and marketing communications since 1984. New entries in this edition explore the profound shifts that have taken place in the world of communication in recent years. The impact of the new online leviathans such as Amazon, Facebook, Google, Twitter and YouTube is measured against the traditional dominance, globally, of the mass media. Other themes include the interesting changes affecting public service broadcasting, the role of advertising and PR, the nature and extent of regulation, the impact of globalisation and the consumerisation of knowledge and culture. This volume seeks to make its twenty-first century readers more media literate, as well as more critical consumers of modern news.
Call Number: ELECTRONIC
Publication Date: 2012-02-16
Critical Dictionary of Film and Television Theory by The Critical Dictionary of Film and Television Theory clearly and accessibly explains the major theoretical approaches now deployed in the study of the moving image, as well as defining key theoretical terms. This dictionary provides readers with the conceptual apparatus to understand the often daunting language and terminology of screen studies. Entries include: *audience * Homi K. Bhabha * black cinema * the body * children and media * commodification * cop shows * deep focus * Umberto Eco * the gaze * Donna Haraway * bell hooks * infotainment * master narrative * medical dramas * morpheme * myth * panopticon * pastiche * pleasure * real time * social realism * sponsorship * sport on television * subliminal * third cinema * virtual reality Consultant Editors: David Black, USA, William Urricchio, University of Utrecht, The Netherlands, Gill Branston, Cardiff University, UK ,Elayne Rapping, USA
Call Number: PN 1993.45 .C75 2001 (RBD 3rd floor)
Publication Date: 2000-12-19
Dictionary of Teleliteracy by This Dictionary of Teleliteracy, which will do for television and popular culture what The Dictionary of Cultural Literacy did for 'high culture, ' explores 500 programs and televised events whose impact on American culture, Good or ill, will not likely be forgotten. These include all-time-favorite shows.
Call Number: PN 1992.3 .U5 B5 1997 (RBD 3rd floor)
Publication Date: 1997-11-01
Call Number: PN 1995.9 .H6 W74 1986 (RBD 3rd floor)
Publication Date: 1986-04-01