Social Marketing in the 21st Century by Alan R. Andreasen
Publication Date: 2005-11-30
The goal of this cutting edge book is to reposition social marketing so that foundations, government agencies, and various nonprofits will approach social change in a way that reaches both upstream and downstream individuals in society. Author Alan R. Andreasen outlines potential roles, restates fundamental principles, and then suggests how social marketing might be applied to a sample of nontraditional challenges.
Social Marketing by Marvin Goldberg (Editor); Martin Fishbein (Editor); Susan E. Middlestadt (Editor)
Publication Date: 1997-05-01
Social Marketing: marketing in the service of societal problems. Does this approach represent dangerous social engineering, or is it the best hope we have to treat what are often regarded as intransigent problems? For both academics and practitioners involved with social marketing, the domain remains in its infancy. Programs and approaches are being developed and implemented by practitioners; academics are defining "what it is," "where it comes from," and "where it is going." This book incorporates many of the presentations made at the "Role of Advertising in Social Marketing" Conference sponsored by the Society for Consumer Psychology. Professionals from academia, government, and non-government organizations address a highly diverse and interesting set of societal concerns ranging from organ donation to violence in sports, from efforts to promote safe sex and family planning to better understand cigarette smokers and their perceptions. Are marketing's "four Ps"--product, price, place, and promotion--enough to help solve these problems, or does social marketing at the end of the 1990s need to call on other Ps, such as political persuasion? This volume thoughtfully addresses theoretical and empirical issues challenging academics and practitioners alike to find out how to borrow the best of marketing for application in social marketing.
Social Marketing to Protect the Environment by Doug McKenzie-Mohr; P. Wesley Schultz; Philip Kotler; Nancy R. Lee
Publication Date: 2011-05-11
Social marketing takes key marketing principles and applies them to campaigns and efforts to influence social action. In Social Marketing to Protect the Environment, the focus turns to the environment, and how social marketing can be successful to change environmental behaviour. The text begins with a definition of the Social Marketing Model and includes a discussion of various tools that can be used to develop social marketing strategies. It then moves into sections on Residential-Related Behaviours and Commercial-Related Behaviours. These sections follow a consistent format and: - Describe a variety of environmental issues - Give examples of the numerous changes in behaviours and/or practices that would contribute to reducing the problem - Provide mini-cases that illustrate the successful use of social marketing principles along with tools to influence this behaviour in similar situations - Review what worked and what could have been improved. A final section provides future directions and recommendations.
Hands-On Social Marketing by Nedra Kline Weinreich
Publication Date: 1999-06-14
This book demystifies the process of developing and implementing a social marketing campaign. The author translates the concepts of marketing into a clear, step-by-step process that almost anyone can follow. It will be indispensable to practitioners in the fields of public health, social services, and health care communications.
Routledge Handbook of Health Communication by Teresa L. Thompson (Editor); Roxanne Parrott (Editor); Jon F. Nussbaum (Editor)
Publication Date: 2011-08-24
TheRoutledge Handbook of Health Communicationbrings together the current body of scholarly work in health communication. With its expansive scope, it offers an introduction for those new to this area, summarizes work for those already learned in the area, and suggests avenues for future research on the relationships between communicative processes and health/health care delivery. This second edition of the Handbookhas been organized to reflect the goals of health communication: understanding to make informed decisions and to promote formal and informal systems of care linked to health and well-being. It emphasizes work in such areas as barriers to disclosure in family conversations and medical interactions, access to popular media and advertising, and individual searches online for information and support to guide decisions and behaviors with health consequences. This edition also adds an overview of methods used in health communication and the unique challenges facing health communication researchers applying traditional methods to efforts to gain reliable and valid evidence about the role of communication for health. It introduces the promise of translational research being conducted by health communication researchers from multiple disciplines to form transdisciplinary theories and teams to increase the well-being of not only humans but the systems of care within their nations. Arguably the most comprehensive scholarly resource available for study in this area, the Routledge Handbook of Health Communicationserves an invaluable role and reference for students, researchers, and scholars doing work in health communication.
Ethics in Social Marketing by Alan R. Andreasen (Editor)
Publication Date: 2001-02-05
Social marketing is being adopted by a growing number of government and nonprofit organizations around the world because of its power to bring about important social changes. An array of commercial marketing concepts and techniques has been applied to problems ranging from child abuse to teen smoking to environmental neglect. However, in crafting these programs, agencies face complex ethical challenges. For example, is it acceptable to exaggerate risk and heighten fear if doing so saves more lives? What if improving the lives of one group has negative effects on another? How does a marketing campaign respect a group's culture while calling for fundamental change within it? In Ethics in Social Marketing, ten contributors draw on their professional experience and the literature of ethics to set forth a range of problems and offer frameworks for their resolution. They introduce philosophical rules and practical models to guide decision making, and they focus on such complex issues as unintended consequences, ethical marketing alliances, and professional ethical codes. The book not only introduces students to the special moral and ethical burdens of social marketing but also challenges practitioners to address difficult issues that are easily minimized or avoided.
Social Marketing by Philip Kotler; Ned L. Roberto; Nancy R. Lee
Publication Date: 2002-03-19
`As this book attests, social marketing is an extremely powerful set of concepts and tools that can accomplish much to relieve the pain and suffering of populations around the world and to address social problems that have their roots in undesirable behaviors. We are fortunate to have some of the best thinkers and writers in our field-such as represented in this volume-committed to making this happen′ - From the Foreword, Alan R Andreasen, Georgetown University `This Second Edition of Social Marketing pulls it all together-new science and new practice. Hopefully, this will become the standard on which we can all build a solid future for tomorrow′s programs of social change′ - William A Smith, Executive Vice President, Academy for Educational Development `Professor Kotler′s dynamic team of marketers has created a valuable, comprehensive textbook. Didactic information is supplemented with marketing and research highlights that provide students with real-world examples of how social marketing is used to influence behavior change. This well-crafted text is an important resource for anyone teaching, studying, or working in the social change arena′- Carol A Bryant Co-Director Florida Prevention Research Center at the University of South Florida `This is perhaps the most comprehensive and well thought-out compilation of information for social marketing I′ve seen. A great blueprint for developing, implementing, and evaluating social marketing programs′ - Scott B Downing, American Cancer Society, Atlanta, GA, Marketing Director, Brand Development `This book provides a rich concentration of social marketing theory and experience, from classic examples to the current thinking in the field. In clear language, with over 100 examples, this text gives both experienced and novice social marketers a blueprint for creating a social marketing plan that transforms theory into doable programs′ - Rebecca Brookes, Planned Parenthood of Northern New England, Vice President, Marketing & Communications and social marketing consultant `The book pulls it all together¾ key concepts, case studies, and a step-by-step process for developing social marketing programs. World Bank supported programs and indeed all development practitioners can benefit from the ideas and concepts put forward by the authors′ - Cecilia Cabañero-Verzosa, World Bank, Head, Knowledge and Capacity-Building Unit Development Communication External Affairs Vice-Presidency `This is an inspiring and wonderfully written textbook which I plan to use as required reading for my courses in the future. It will serve as a strong motivator for students to think outside the box about creative solutions to social problems′ - Michael Baldwin, Adjunct Professor, Mark Hatfield School of Government, Portland State University, Lecturer, and Daniel Evans School of Public Affairs, University of Washington The authors provide a fully revised and updated Second Edition of the bestselling benchmark work. It is a comprehensive, multidisciplinary guide for planning and implementing social and behavioural campaigns in the health and social sectors: -offering the most up-to-date coverage in the field, the authors show how organizations devoted to social change can use commercial marketing concepts and tools to effectively influence the beliefs, attitudes, and actions of individuals - taking a hands-on approach, students and professionals are taken through the entire process of putting together a successful campaign which includes: analysing the environment, establishing target audiences, objectives and goals, designing market strategies, and developing a plan for evaluation and monitoring - each chapter contains case highlights, written by professionals from a wide range of agencies and organizations. They give readers an insight into the capabilities of their own organizations and the political and economic realities surrounding them. This important new work also contains clear and helpful aids that target both the student and professional needs Helpful features that include key chapter questions, chapter overviews, end of chapter summaries, terms and concepts and many more It is engrossing, easy to use and informative with an extensive collection of graphics and photographs that reinforce important concepts. Additionally, an appendix includes worksheets that show the step by step process of creating a social marketing campaign. This is a `Must Have′ for all those involved in the fields of marketing, health and communication.
Social Marketing Research for Global Public Health by W. Douglas Evans
Publication Date: 2016-07-14
Like all aspects of society, public health practice has been fundamentally changed by the emergence of electronic and social media as centerpieces of human communication and connection. More than ever, public health practitioners rely on these new marketing and communications technologies topromote longstanding goals like disease prevention and fostering social responsibility. Social Marketing Research for Global Public Health offers proven guidelines for crafting campaigns that work in public health. It equips readers with tools pioneered by corporate marketers to increase the efficacy of public health interventions in any setting. It also provides practical advice topractitioners seeking to assess their interventions, along with examples for effective outreach to promote smoking cessation, financial literacy, and other social goods. Combining overviews of marketing theory and methodology with practical chapters specific to public health, Social Marketing Research for Global Public Health provides a crucial and holistic understanding for this new imperative in the field.
This book provides the only comprehensive examination of contraceptive social marketing. It includes a full description of the most important of these programs, documenting a form of international assistance that has attracted over $1 billion from governments and other donors. The book contains a wealth of previously unpublished material that illustrates this remarkable story. The author challenges the widespread belief that family planning can only be made available through medically-oriented programs and that foreign assistance must be catalytic rather than long-term. Let Every Child Be Wanted, with its comprehensive overview, anecdotes and strategies, is a useful handbook for philanthropic agencies, independent charities, and government programs. It will also be valuable for preparing students to work in public health arenas around the world. With a new generation of health workers steeped in social marketing techniques like those offered in this book, tremendous advances can be made in the battle against unwanted pregnancy and AIDS.
Marketing Social Change by Alan R. Andreasen
Publication Date: 1995-10-05
This important book offers a revolutionary approach to solving a range of social problems--drug use, smoking, unsafe sex, and overpopulation--by applying marketing techniques and concepts to change behavior. For example, it shows that at-risk teenagers are consumers who decide whether or not to "buy" safe sex practices. This successful approach is based on Alan R. Andreasen's more than twenty years of experience in consulting, teaching, and research with social marketing programs around the world. Andreasen shows that effective social change starts with a thorough understanding of the needs, wants, and perceptions of the target consumer--who has ultimate control over the outcomes. The book offers a detailed explanation of how to design a step-by-step program that will move the customer from ignorance and indifference to action and ultimately maintenance of that action. Marketing Social Change offers a wealth of information for developing an effective social marketing plan.
Hiding Politics in Plain Sight by Patricia Strach
Publication Date: 2016-09-20
As late as the 1980s, breast cancer was a stigmatized disease, so much so that local reporters avoided using the word "breast" in their stories and early breast cancer organizations steered clear of it in their names. But activists with business backgrounds began to partner with corporationsfor sponsored runs and cause-marketing products, from which a portion of the proceeds would benefit breast cancer research. Branding breast cancer as "pink" - hopeful, positive, uncontroversial - on the products Americans see every day, these activists and corporations generated a pervasiveunderstanding of breast cancer that is widely shared by the public and embraced by policymakers. Clearly, they have been successful: today, more Americans know that the pink ribbon is the symbol of breast cancer than know the name of the vice president. Hiding Politics in Plain Sight examines the costs of employing market mechanisms - especially cause marketing - as a strategy for change. Patricia Strach suggests that market mechanisms do more than raise awareness of issues or money to support charities: they also affect politics. She shows thatmarket mechanisms, like corporate-sponsored walks or cause-marketing, shift issue definition away from the contentious processes in the political sphere to the market, where advertising campaigns portray complex issues along a single dimension with a simple solution: breast cancer research will finda cure and Americans can participate easily by purchasing specially-marked products. This market competition privileges even more specialized actors with connections to business. As well, cooperative market activism fundamentally alters the public sphere by importing processes, values, and biases ofmarket-based action into politics. Market activism does not just bring social concerns into market transactions, it also brings market biases into public policymaking, which is inherently undemocratic. As a result, industry and key activists work cooperatively rather than contentiously, and theydefine issues as consensual rather than controversial, essentially hiding politics in plain sight.
The Social Marketing Association of North America (SMANA) is a membership organization serving the professional needs of behavior change agents in Canada, the Caribbean, Central America, Mexico, and the United States.
The Institute for Social Marketing (ISM) is the UK’s leading social marketing research centre, bringing over 35 years' experience to the study and dissemination of social marketing theory and practice. ISM conducts research in three areas:
1. The use of social marketing concepts and theory to understand health behaviour and to inform the development and evaluation of behaviour change interventions.
2. The critical examination of the effects of commercial marketing on health and society.
3. The impact of policies to control commercial marketing and to protect public health.
The Australian Association of Social Marketing is an independent, volunteer based organisation. It is the peak body representing social marketers in Australia and aims to provide support for social marketers throughout the country and act as a central resource for those engaged in, or interested in, social marketing practice and research.