This is the "Home" page of the "Dictionaries & Thesauri" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Dictionaries & Thesauri  

Last Updated: Sep 6, 2011 URL: http://libguides.auburn.edu/Dictionaries_Thesauri Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

General Dictionaries

American Heritage Dictionary http://www.bartleby.com/am/

Cambridge Advanced Learner's Dictionary http://dictionary.cambridge.org/

Dictionary.com http://dictionary.reference.com/

Merriam-Webster Dictionary http://www.merriam-webster.com/

Oxford English Dictionary Online http://dictionary.oed.com/entrance.dtl

WordNet Search http://wordnet.princeton.edu/perl/webwn

Internet Acronym Server http://research.silmaril.ie/acronyms

Rhyming Dictionary http://www.rhymezone.com/

Online Slang Dictionary http://www.lexscripta.com/desktop/dictionaries/slang.html

Pronouncing Dictionary http://www.speech.cs.cmu.edu/cgi-bin/cmudict

 

Language Dictionaries

Translations via Babel Fish (http://world.altavista.com/) Translates up to 150 words of text, as well as web page addresses, into several major languages.

English-French Dictionary http://dictionaries.travlang.com/EnglishFrench/ French-English Dictionary http://freedict.com/onldict/fre.html

English-German Dictionary http://www.iee.et.tu-dresden.de/cgi-bin/cgiwrap/wernerr/search.sh

English-Greek Dictionary http://www.perseus.tufts.edu/cgi-bin/enggreek?lang=greek

English-Italian Dictionary http://www.aromatic.com/itaeng/ English-Spanish Dictionary http://www.v7w.com/es/

 

Indices to Dictionaries

OneLook Dictionaries, the Faster Finder http://www.onelook.com/

List of Dictionaries http://math-www.uni-paderborn.de/HTML/Dictionaries.html

alphaDictionary.com http://www.alphadictionary.com/index.shtml

Yahoo Index of On-line Dictionaries http://dir.yahoo.com/Reference/dictionaries/

AskaLibrarian

Profile Image
askalibrarian

Chat

Click the icon below to chat with one of our information professionals. If a librarian is not available you can send us an e-mail and we will get back to you within 24-48 hours.

Phone

Reference Desk: 334-844-1737 Toll Free: 800-446-0387

 

Auburn University Libraries | 231 Mell Street | Auburn, Alabama 36849 | (334) 844-1737 or (800) 446-0387 |

Follow The Libraries on Twitter Follow the Auburn Libraries on Flickr Follow the Auburn Libraries on Facebook

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip