Data Sets

"A community-maintained distributed repository for datasets and scientific knowledge."

A github repository of publicly available datasets. Some of the resources listed here require a subscription but many are free to use.

Data Planet provides easy access to an extensive repository of standardized and structured statistical data. The Data Planet repository contains more than 35 billion data points from more than 70 source organizations.

A clearinghouse for open data from the U.S. federal government.

DASL (pronounced "dazzle") provides data from a wide variety of topics so that statistics teachers can find interesting, real-world examples for their students.

"A weekly newsletter of useful/curious datasets." Includes a spreadsheet of all featured datasets.

A website and visualization engine of public US Government data.

"Enables users to find datasets stored across thousands of repositories on the Web."

The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) provides access to an extensive collection of downloadable data sets.

A collection of public data sets.

KDnuggets™ is a leading site on AI, Analytics, Big Data, Data Mining, Data Science, and Machine Learning. This site provides links to numerous repositories of data, organized into categories.

"A collection of free datasets from Microsoft Research to advance state-of-the-art research in areas such as natural language processing, computer vision, and domain specific sciences."

This registry exists to help people discover and share datasets that are available via Amazon Web Services resources.

A geotagged, curated list of 2600+ open data portals from around the world.

"Our World in Data makes [the best research and data] ... accessible and understandable, to empower those working to build a better world."

"Registry of Research Data Repositories"

"A web portal for discovering and requesting access to restricted microdata from federal statistical agencies."

An index to research repositories, including data sets.

A changing sample of datasets for use in teaching and learning.

Repository on Machine Learning where you can find around 450 data sets. It has categorized the data sets based on the type of problem you want to solve like Regression, Classification, Clustering, etc.

"The UNESCO Institute for Statistics (UIS) is the official and trusted source of internationally-comparable data on education, science, culture and communication. As the official statistical agency of UNESCO, the UIS produces a wide range of indicators in UNESCO’s fields of action by working with national statistical offices, line ministries and other statistical organizations."

Publishes visual data essays.