Subject Guides: NATR 2020: Natural Resources Field Methods: Welcome

Project Description

The AU Schoool of Forestry, Wildlife, & Natural Resources is working the US World War One Centennial Commission, partners in France, and the National World War I Museum and Memorial in Kansas City, to develop interpretive signs with information on tree species that were present on and near battlefields. This information will then be part of a new arboretum at the National World War I Museum and Memorial in Kansas City.

Your assigned tree is one of the species that will be highlighted in the arboretum. Your assignment is to develop a short summary that combines the information you gathered in Part 1 with additional information on the landscapes of WWI battlefields. Specifically, your summary should include: 1) information on that tree species, 2) the importance of that tree species in France and the US, and 3) the significance of that tree species in WWI. Ideally, the final product should be suitable for use as an interpretative sign at the Museum.

Most Important Databases

HathiTrust This link opens in a new window HathiTrust is a large-scale collaborative repository of digital content from research libraries. It includes content digitized as part of the Google Books project and Internet Archive digitization initiatives, as well as content digitized locally by member libraries. Materials are available to the extent permitted by copyright law. As of March 2015, the HathiTrust digital library contained over 13 million digitized volumes, of which almost 5 million volumes were in the public domain (source: http://www.hathitrust.org/statistics_visualizations).
CAB Abstracts (1910-present) This link opens in a new window A bibliographic database compiled by CAB International which covers the significant research and development literature in the fields of agriculture, forestry, aspects of human health, human nutrition, animal health, and the management and conservation of natural resources. Over three million records, from 1910-present, have been added to the database since its computerization in 1973. (Unlimited Users)
AGRICOLA (Ovid) This link opens in a new window Index to materials acquired by the National Agricultural Library and cooperating institutions. Includes journal articles, monographs, series, and materials in many non-print formats covering a broad range of agricultural topics. 1970-1985 international in scope. 1985+ focuses on U.S. related publications. (7 Simultaneous Users)