1940 Census
The 1940 census records were released by the US National Archives April 2, 2012. You will be able to access all of the 1940 census images, along with the 1940 census maps and descriptions. Or, skip to Getting Started to begin your search.
Current Data
- American Community Survey (US Census Bureau)
- American FactFinder (US Census Bureau)
- Applinks (Missouri Census Data Center)
- A flash-based system which allows you to drill down by a specified geographic area. The non-flash version is th Master Menu web page.
- Census 2010 (US Census Bureau)
- Population Estimates
Historical Data
- Census 2000 (US Census Bureau)
- 1990 Census (US Census Bureau)
- 1980 Census (Missouri Census Data Center)
- 1940 Census (National Archives)
- "This website allows you full access to the 1940 census images, in addition to 1940 census maps and descriptions."
- United States Historical Census Browser, 1790-1960 (University of Virginia)
- This includes total, white, free African American and slave populations, churches, education and literacy, vital statistics, and economic data. Data collected varies by census.
- NHGIS: National Historical Geographic Information System (Minnesota Population Center)
- "The National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS) provides, free of charge, aggregate census data and GIS-compatible boundary files for the United States between 1790 and 2000."
- Decennials - Census of Population and Housing (US Census Bureau)
- Overviews for all Censuses (including pdf publications) can be found on the Census.gov History Through the Decades Overview link.
- Selected Historical Decennial Census Population and Housing Counts
- Statistical Abstracts of the United States
- Includes links to current and older editions of the Statistical Abstracts. Also includes PDF's of the Bicentennial Edition: Historical Statistics of the United States, Colonial Times to 1970 2 volume set along with links to Historical Statistics of the United States, 1789 - 1945.
- Social Explorer (AU only)
- Includes data beginning with the 1940 census
- IPUMS-USA (Minnesota Population Center)
Suggest a Link
U.S. Censuses in the Auburn Libraries
Clicking on the year will run a subject search in the Auburn University Libraries Classic Catalog. These listings include the Libraries' holdings of both the statistical and manuscript censuses. Remember, the manuscript census is released only after seventy years have passed, making 1940 the most current release. Also, Auburn primarily selects the manuscript census for Alabama and selected counties of other mainly southeastern states.

Submit
Loading...
