This is the "Home" page of the "Book Reviews" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Book Reviews  

Last Updated: Apr 3, 2013 URL: http://libguides.auburn.edu/content.php?pid=132579 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Book Reviews

Finding Book Reviews
(To begin, you must know author, title of work and year of publication)
 

 General Databases

 For recent book reviews you may choose to use one of the Library's general databases such as Academic Search Premier.  From the library's homepage, (www.lib.auburn.edu) click on the "Articles and Databases' tab.  Once in a database, a keyword search using the author's name and the major words in the title of the book will yield the greatest results.

 Subject Specific Databases

 In the databases available at Auburn University Libraries you have access to hundreds of indexed journals in subject specific fields. From the libraries home page on click on the "Articles and Databases' tab and select 'Databases by Subject' for relevant area. Keyword searching in most databases will secure the best results.

 Print Indexes

 Book Review Digest (REF Z 1219 .B72)
      
Reviews are listed alphabetically by author, and a title index is included at the back of each volume. Check the volume corresponding to the year in which the book was published, as well as the next few years. Coverage begins in 1965 and runs through the present.

 Book Review Index (REF Z 1035 .A1 B6)
      
Reviews are listed alphabetically by author, and a title index is included at the back of each volume. Check the volume corresponding to the year in which the book was published, as well as the next few years. Coverage begins in 1965 and runs through the present.

 Combined Retrospective Index to Book Reviews in Scholarly Journals, 1886-1974  (Z 1035 .A1 C64)
      
Scholarly reviews of books dealing with history, political science, and sociology are listed alphabetically by the author of the book being reviewed. Volumes 13-15 serve as the title index.

 Combined Retrospective Index to Book Reviews in the Humanities, 1802-1974 (AZ 221 .C645 1982)
      
Reviews of book reviews in the humanities are listed alphabetically by the author of the book being reviewed. Volume 10 is the title index.

 Index to Book Reviews in the Humanities (AI 5 .I5)
      
Reviews are listed alphabetically by the author of the book being reviewed. This index begins coverage in 1960.

 National Library Service Cumulative Book Review Index, 1905-1974 (Z 1035 .A1 N3)
         
Reviews are indexed in "author" and "title" volumes. This index reviews for Book Review Digest, Choice, Library Journal, and Saturday Review.

 New York Times Book Review Index, 1896-1970 (Z 1007 .N562)
         Reviews are listed in author, title, subject, category, and by-line volumes.

TLS, Times Literary Supplement
       
Most recent editions in Current Issues section, Second floor; older editions in Microfilm (filed by title)

Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature (REF AI 3 .R4), Humanities Index (AI 3 .H9) and Art Index (N 1 .A454).

Social Sciences Index (H 1 .S632)

Business Periodicals Index, 1958-1993 (HF 5001 .B8288)

General Science Index (Q1 .G47)

Applied Science and Technology Index (Z 913 .I7)

Biological and Agricultural Index (S 1 .A1635)

 

English & Psychology Librarian

Profile Image
Jaena Alabi
Contact Info
Ralph Brown Draughon Library
2nd floor
Send Email

Search Google Scholar

Auburn University Libraries | 231 Mell Street | Auburn, Alabama 36849 | (334) 844-1737 or (800) 446-0387 |

Follow The Libraries on Twitter Follow the Auburn Libraries on Flickr Follow the Auburn Libraries on Facebook

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip