This is the "Home" page of the "Linguistics Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Linguistics Resources  

Last Updated: Jul 30, 2010 URL: http://libguides.auburn.edu/content.php?pid=132803 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Linguistics Resources

The Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics P29 .E48 1994
This ten volume set is international in scope and directed at an academic and professional audience, although the entries are not intended to be incomprehensible to the novice. Name and title indexes, as well as a general article list, are included.

International Encyclopedia of Linguistics  P29 .I58 1992
This four volume set is designed for students and scholars in linguistics and related areas. An index is included.

Barnhart Concise Dictionary of Etymology PE1580 .B35 1994
Traces the origins of 25,000 words from modern English.

Comprehensive Etymological Dictionary of the English Language PE 1580 .K47
The author of this 2 volume set wanted to clear up what he saw as unnecessary vagueness in earlier etymological dictionaries and includes origins for words he found explained elsewhere as "of undetermined origin." Appears to trace words to language origins, but not to source of first recorded use.

Morris Dictionary of Word and Phrase Origins PE1580 .M6 1988
Traces the origins of several thousand words and phrases. The tone is not overly scholarly, and the entries are selectively chosen as "more interesting words and phrases."

Etymological Dictionary of the English Language PE1580 .S5 1910
This 1 volume work includes the language and history of the word defined as well as the references for that word.

Idioms and Phrases Index PE 1689 .I3 1983
This three volume set is an index to over thirty idiom and phrase dictionaries. Each volume includes a bibliography of references. It is arranged alphabetically by first significant word.

Dictionary of American Regional English PE 2843 .D52 1985
This work in progress is based on fieldwork which interviewed "informants" regarding aspects of word use.

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) includes abstracts of articles from 2000 journals worldwide, as well as monographs, books, technical reports, dissertations, and citations for book reviews. Coverage is from 1973 to present. The library receives semi-annual updates.

 

English & Psychology Librarian

Profile Image
Jaena Alabi
Contact Info
Ralph Brown Draughon Library
2nd floor
Send Email

Search Google Scholar

Auburn University Libraries | 231 Mell Street | Auburn, Alabama 36849 | (334) 844-1737 or (800) 446-0387 |

Follow The Libraries on Twitter Follow the Auburn Libraries on Flickr Follow the Auburn Libraries on Facebook

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip