Download Adobe Digital EditionsMoving items to an eReader via Adobe Digital EditionsSharing a copy of Adobe Digital EditionsAdobe Digital Editions Compatible E-Readers and Software
Previewing an EBL titlePreviewing an Ebrary titlePreviewing an EBSCO eBook title
Downloading eBooks from EBLDownloading eBooks from EbraryDownloading eBooks from EBSCO eBooksDownloading eBooks from Springer eBooks
Full text searching within EBL's eBook CollectionFull text searching within Ebrary's eBook collectionFull-text searching within EBSCO's eBooks collectionFull text searching within Springer's eBook collection
This is the "Downloading eBooks from Ebrary" page of the "Electronic Books" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Electronic Books   Tags: e-books, ebooks, electronic books, reference, research  

Last Updated: Jul 8, 2014 URL: http://libguides.auburn.edu/ebooks Print Guide RSS Updates

Downloading eBooks from Ebrary Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Downloading Ebrary eBooks for checkout

Note: At this time, eBooks from EBL, Ebrary, and EBSCO can't be "checked out" from AULibraries public or OIT Lab computers since the download must stay with the copy of Adobe Digital Editions (ADE) it is downloaded to and is only transferrable to the devices synced to that copy of ADE.  The online preview is available all Library and OIT computers. 

Adobe Digital Editions software will be required to download the eBook and transfer it to a portable device.  

Previewing with ebrary's QuickView reader does not require any software downloads or installations. You can: 

      • go to every occurrence of your search term
      • flip pages
      • search within a document
      • jump to sections with the table of contents
      • go to specific page numbers

Downloading is a "checkout" and will have a limited checkout period of 7 days, after which the download is disabled and you will receive a message telling you the download has expired if you attempt to open it. Downloading requires you to set up a free account in Ebrary.

When you click an eBook link to an item from Ebrary, note that you can read the book in the preview temporarily, you can cut and paste content, browse the table of contents, and search the book by keyword. To download and checkout the item, click the Download button. 
Sign in to Ebrary when you start your session or when you want to download or print. If you don't have an account, the Sign in option will have a link to allow you to create one.

If you click the download button before signing in, You will be asked to login or create an account. On the sign-in page, sign in if you have an account, or create one using the link.

Once you login, you will click the download button on the preview page.  Then you will be asked to set your preferences. Once they are set, click OK to download - remember, you must have Adobe Digital Editions on your computer for the file to be useable. You can transfer downloads via Adobe Digital Editions from your computer to your portable eReader device. Remember, you can only download to your own personal computer, not to a AULibraries public or OIT computer since the download is tied to a specific copy of Adobe Digital EditionsMake sure to authorize your account with the Adobe ID you set up. Note: Some tablet owners may be able to download directly to their device using the tablet's browser and the BlueFire app (iPads, Kindle Fire (Go to the Blog entry How to Install Bluefire Reader for Android on the Kindle Fire for more information), and some Android devices are a few examples).

If you download the entire book, you will get a pop-up message saying you no longer have online access to the book. 
Make sure you download to the My Digital Editions folder in your My Documents folder - this is where Adobe Digital Editions will look for the item to display it in your library.
In ADE, go to File and then Add to Library
Some vendors will download what looks like a link. If your book does not show up in your My Digital Editions folder as a book first make sure the item didn't download to your computer's Download folder. Then change the file type to Adobe Content Server Message, select the file you want to open, and press open.
Your books should then appear in your ADE library.

Auburn University Libraries | 231 Mell Street | Auburn, Alabama 36849 | (334) 844-1737 or (800) 446-0387 |

Follow The Libraries on Twitter Follow the Auburn Libraries on Flickr Follow the Auburn Libraries on Facebook

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip