Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This Is Auburn Auburn University Libraries LibGuides

Psychology: Mental Measurements

Mental Measurements Yearbook

Identifying and Locating Mental Measurements

 

This page lists resources that provide direct and indirect access to literally thousands of tests, questionnaires, and other research instruments available. Be aware that many sources do not contain the instruments themselves, but only reviews or abstracts, often with instructions on how to obtain the full text. Research instruments may sometimes be copyrighted by their authors and require permission to use or reprint. Some are available for a fee from the publisher or other commercial vendor.

To locate a specific instrument, in addition to consulting the resources below, you might search in books or articles by the author of the instrument. Sometimes the instrument is published in the text or an appendix. Be sure to check footnotes and bibliographies citing previous works by the same author in which the instrument may have been published. You may need to contact the author or publisher of the instrument to obtain a copy.

PsycINFO is a good way to begin. Limit your search to articles, books and book chapters, specifically measuring a psychological construct, by limiting the search to TM Tests & Measures in the pull-down menu (rather than leaving it as default fields)!

Use for:

1) Finding articles in journals, books, or book chapters that use test measures.

2) Identifying test titles.

 

Use PsycINFO to identify tests and measures on your topic.PsycINFO  provides thorough coverage of both journal and book literature in psychology and the related disciplines of education, medicine, business, sociology and psychiatry, and points you to literature discussing measuring instruments of mental constructs, thereby providing avenues for identifying specific test titles. Coverage starts in 1887.

ERIC Indexes journal articles, government publications and unpublished materials such as conference papers, reports, theses on education topics. Also provides access to unpublished ERIC documents (indicated by an ED#) available through EDRS and on microfiche. You can also search our library catalog (see box on right) by the document number; e.g. ED509985.

The Internet

Recommended Search Engine:

Google or Google Scholar 

If you know the title of the test you are looking for, the best first step is to check the Internet. Sometimes you can find the publisher of the test through this method and determine if they're selling the test online. This method may also help to determine the publisher's phone number and address (including e-mail address). Also, you may be able to find the author of the test or instrument on the Internet and have the information you need to contact the author for permission to use her or his test. And there's always the off-chance that the entire test will be on the Internet for free. It's worth trying.

Use for:

1) Finding the full-text of the test on the Internet.

2) Finding web site for the publisher of the test.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

Search the Catalog

Catalog
Classic Catalog


Keyword Search

Psychology Librarian

Profile Photo
Jaena Alabi
she/her/hers
Contact:
231 Mell Street
Auburn, AL 36849-5606
334-844-1767

Other Library Resources

The following resources include discussion of test instruments in particular subject areas and sometimes provides the full-text of some of the instruments discussed.

Tests in Print VI (Reference Collection BF 176. T45)

A cumulative index to the tests included in MMY and previous Tests in Print.

Use for: 1) Identifying tests in all the MMYs. 2) Finding information on validity and reliability. 3) Finding a description of a test.

Tests: A comprehensive reference for assessments in psychology, education and business ( Reference Collection BF 176. T43)

Provides descriptions of over 3,000 published English-language assessment instruments. This reference guide is designed for quick identification of a test; it does not provide evaluations.

Use for: 1) Finding tests. 2) Locating publishers of tests.

Test Critiques (Reference Collection BF 176. T419)

Contains critical reviews of commercially available tests used in psychology assessment, education and business. Beginning with volume 3, test titles, test publisher, author/reviewer, and subject indexes cumulate. There is significant duplication with MMY.

Cumulative Index to Tests in Microfiche (Reference Collection LB 3051 .T4)

The cumulative index to Tests in Microfiche (1975-1998), which indexes all tests available for the first 25 sets of Tests in Microfiche.

 

Tests in Microfiche (1st Floor Microfiche Collection)

Beginning in 1975, an annual series of unpublished research instruments cited in educational and psychological literature. Authors agree to make tests available in microfiche through ETS.

 

Additional Library Sources

Alcoholism treatment assessment research instruments / edited by Dan J. Lettieri, Jack E. Nelson, Mollie A. Sayers. Rockville, Md. : National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism ; Washington, D.C. : For sale by the Supt. of Docs., U.S. G.P.O., 1985. (Closed Stacks) HE20. 8308/2:2 

Assessing Psychological Trauma and PTSD / edited by John P. Wilson, Terence M. Keane ; foreword by Susan D. Solomon. New York : Guilford Press, c1997. RC 552 .P67 A85 1997

Communication Research Measures: a sourcebook./ edited by Rebecca B. Rubin, Philip Palmgreen, Howard E. Sypher. New York : Guilford Press, c1994. P91.3 .C62 1994

A compendium of neuropsychological tests : administration, norms, and commentary / by Otfried Spreen, Esther Strauss. New York : Oxford University Press, 1991. RC386.6.48 S67 1991

Directory of test collections in academic, professional, and research libraries / edited by Paul G. Fehrmann and Nancy Patricia O'Brien. Chicago : The Association, c2001. LB3051.D564 2001

Directory of unpublished experimental mental measures / Goldman, Bert A. Washington, D.C.: American Psychological Association, 1974- BF431 .G6245 1974-2003 (Volumes 1-6)

Drug abuse instrument handbook : selected items for psychosocial drug research/ edited by Alexis Nehemkis, Mary A. Macari, and Dan J. Lettieri. Rockville, Md. : Dept. of Health, Education, and Welfare, Public Health Service, Alcohol, Drug Abuse, and Mental Health Administration, National Institute on Drug Abuse ; Washington : for sale by the Supt. of Docs., U.S. Govt. Print. Off., 1976. HE 20.8214:12

Family assessment : a guide to methods and measures / Harold D. Grotevant, Cindy I. Carlson. New York : Guilford Press, c1989. HQ518.G75 1989

Family measurement techniques; abstracts of published instruments, 1935-1965 / by] Murray A. Straus. Minneapolis, University of Minnesota Press 1969. HQ728.S86

Family measurement techniques : abstracts of published instruments, 1935-1974 / Murray A. Straus and Bruce W. Brown. Rev. ed. Minneapolis : University of Minnesota Press, c1978. HQ728.S86 1978

A Handbook for the Study of Human Communication: Methods and Instruments for Observing, Measuring, and Assessing Communication Processes / edited by Charles Tardy : Ablex Publications, 1988. P 91 .H36 1988

Handbook of adolescent sexuality and pregnancy : research and evaluation instruments / edited by Josefina J. Card. Newbury Park, Calif. : Sage Publications, c1993. HQ759.4.H367 1993

Handbook of assessment methods for eating behaviors and weight related problems : measures, theory, and research / David B. Allison, editor. Thousand Oaks, Calif. : Sage Publications, c1995. RC552.E18 H357 1995

Handbook of family measurement techniques/ John Touliatos, Barry F. Perlmutter, Murray A. Straus, editors. Newbury Park, Calif. : Sage, c1990. HQ728.T68 1989

Handbook of measurements for marriage and family therapy / by Norman Fredman & Robert Sherman. New York : Brunner/Mazel, c1987. RC488.5.F73 1987

Handbook of scales for research in crime and delinquency / Stanley L. Brodsky and H. O'Neal Smitherman. New York : Plenum Press, c1983. HV9724. B76

Measurement tools in patient education / edited by Barbara K. Redman. 2nd ed. New York : Springer Pub., 2003.

Measures for clinical practice: a sourcebook / Joel Fischer, Kevin Corcoran. 2nd ed. New York : Free Press ; Toronto : Maxwell Macmillan Canada ; New York : Maxwell Macmillan International, c1994. BF176.C66 v.1-2

Measures for psychological assessment : a guide to 3,000 original sources and their applications / Ki-Taek Chun, Sidney Cobb, John R. P. French, Jr. ; with a foreword by E. Lowell Kelly. Ann Arbor, Mich. : Survey Research Center, Institute for Social Research, 1975. BF39. C48 1975

Measures of family functioning for research and practice / Kathleen J. Sawin, Marcia P. Harrigan ; Pierre Woog, editor. New York : Springer Pub. Co., c1995. HQ515.S29 1995

Measures of occupational attitudes and occupational characteristics (Appendix A to Measures of political attitudes) / by John P. Robinson and Phillip R. Shaver. Ann Arbor, Mich. Survey Research Center, Institute for Social Research, 1969. JA74.5. R6 app.A

Measures of personality and social psychological attitudes / edited by John P. Robinson, Phillip R. Shaver, Lawrence S. Wrightsman ; contributors, Frank M. Andrews ... et al.. San Diego : Academic Press, c1991. BF698.4 .M38 1991

Measures of political attitudes by John P. Robinson, Jerrold G. Rusk and Kendra B. Head. Ann Arbor, Mich. Survey Research Center, Institute for Social Research, 1968. JA74.5. R6

Measures of social psychological attitudes (Appendix B to Measures of political attitudes). Chapters scheduled to appear in the rev. ed. by John P. Robinson and Phillip R. Shaver. Ann Arbor, Mich. Survey Research Center, Institute for Social Research, 1973. JA74.5. R6 app.B

Measures of social psychological attitudes / John P. Robinson, Phillip R. Shaver. Rev. ed. Ann Arbor, Mich. : Survey Research Center, Institute for Social Research, 1973, 1978 printing. HM251. R739

Measuring health : a guide to rating scales and questionnaires / Ian McDowell, Claire Newell. 2nd ed. New York : Oxford University Press, 1996. RA408.5.M38 1996

Positive Psychological Assessment: a handbook of models and measures / Eds., Shane Lopez and C.R. Snyder. Washington, DC: American Psychological Assocation, c2003. BF176. P67 2003

Research instruments in social gerontology / editors, David J. Mangen, Warren A. Peterson, with the assistance of Toshi Kii and Robert Sanders. Minneapolis, MN : University of Minnesota Press, c1982-c1984. HQ1061.R44 1982

"Rapid assessment instruments for practice," Levitt, J & WJ Reid. Social Work Research and Abstracts, v. 17:1 (1981) HV1. A2, v.17 (1981) pp. 13-19.

Sourcebook of adult assessment strategies / Nicola S. Schutte and John M. Malouff. New York : Plenum Press, c1995. RC473.P78.S38 1995

Tests and measurements in child development: a handbook by Orval G. Johnson and James W. Bommarito. 1st ed. San Francisco, Jossey-Bass, 1971. BF722.J64

Tests and measurements in child development : handbook II / Orval G. Johnson. 1st ed. San Francisco : Jossey-Bass Publishers, 1976. BF722.J643 1976 v. 1-2