Last Updated: Oct 22, 2013
- Country Statistical Yearbooks (Univ. of WI - Madison)
Links to country statistical yearbooks or similar collections (census, "facts and figures," etc.) for 148 countries worldwide.
- European Sourcebook of Crime and Criminal Justice Statistics (European Sourcebook Group)
The European Sourcebook Group is a group of experts that produces on a regular basis the European Sourcebook of Crime and Criminal Justice Statistics.
- Eurostat (European Commission)
Eurostat is the statistical office of the European Union situated in Luxembourg. Its task is to provide the European Union with statistics at European level that enable comparisons between countries and regions.
- Little Data Book on Africa: Country Tables (via ABI/INFORM)
Produced by the World Bank. (2009 - present)
- Little Data Book (via ABI/INFORM)
Pocket version of: World development indicators, presenting demographic and economic statistics. (2009 - present)
- Little Green Data Book (via ABI/INFORM)
Presents environmental statistics drawn from World Bank Data. (2009 - present)
- OFFSTATS (Univ. of Auckland)
The OFFSTATS database provides access to free statistics from official sources on the web. Some specialized databases are only available to the University of Auckland staff and students. Web links are arranged by country, region or subject. The database can be searched by a single category, or a combination of categories. All of the content of the database is held in the public domain and is available through the Internet.
- World Development Indicators Online
World Development Indicators is the World Bank's annual compilation of data about development; provides direct access to more than 550 development indicators, with time series for 208 countries and 18 country groups from 1960 to present.
- World Development Indicators (via ABI/INFORM)
Prepared by the Development Data Group of the World Bank, (2009 - present.)
"AFRISTAT is an international organization created by a treaty signed on September 21 1993 to Abidjan by the 14 countries African members of the following Franc Zone: Benin, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Centrafrique, Comoros, Congo, Côte d'Ivoire, Gabon, Equatorial Guinea , Mali, Niger, Senegal, Chad and Togo."
- Statistical Abstract of the United States
The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Print editions are available in the Government Documents collection on 1st floor of RBD Library: C 3.134:
- Historical Statistics of the United States: Earliest Times to the Present
RBD Library (2nd Floor) - Reference Desk: HA 202 .H57 2006
"FedStats, which has been available to the public since 1997, provides access to the full range of official statistical information produced by the Federal Government without having to know in advance which Federal agency produces which particular statistic. With convenient searching and linking capablilties to more than 100 agencies that provide data and trend information on such topics as economic and population trends, crime, education, health care, aviation safety, energy use, farm production and more, FedStats is your one location for access to the full breadth of Federal statistical information."
- Digest of Education Statistics
Contains information on a variety of subjects within the field of education statistics, including the number of schools and colleges, enrollments, teachers, graduates, educational attainment, finances, Federal funds for education, libraries, international education, and research and development. Paper copies are available in the Government Documents collection on first floor of RBD Library: ED 1.140:
- Crime in the United States
By offense, by region, by state, by local agency
- Uniform Crime Reports (FBI)
Includes current along with older editions of Crime in the United States, Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted, Hate Crime Statistics, and National Incident-Based Reporting System (NIBRS).
- Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics (Univ. at Albany)
The Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics brings together data from more than 100 published and unpublished sources about many aspects of criminal justice in the United States. Since 1973, the project has been located at the University at Albany, School of Criminal Justice, and compiled and managed by staff at the Hindelang Criminal Justice Research Center in Albany, New York.
- Health, United States (CDC)
Health, United States is an annual report on trends in health statistics. This page gives you not only links to the current edition but also older editions, along with Excel tables and Chartbook Slideshows
- Many Eyes
"An experiment brought to you by IBM Research and the IBM Cognos software group... This site is set up to allow the entire internet community to upload data, visualize it, and talk about their discoveries with other people."
- Vizworld: Infographics
- Stanford Visualization Group
The Stanford Visualization Group "...investigates the perceptual, cognitive, and social factors involved in making sense of large data collections, and develop novel interactive systems for visual analysis and communication."
- Google Public Data Explorer
"...provides public data and forecasts from a range of international organizations and academic institutions including the World Bank, OECD, Eurostat and the University of Denver. These can be displayed as line graphs, bar graphs, cross sectional plots or on maps."
- tableau public
"Within minutes, our free data visualization tool can help you create an interactive viz and embed it in your website or share it. Anyone can do it, it’s that easy—and it’s free."
- The Top 20 Data Visualization Tools (Creative Bloq)
"From simple charts to complex maps and infographics, Brian Suda's round-up of the best – and mostly free – tools has everything you need to bring your data to life."