Skip to main content
This Is Auburn Auburn University Libraries Subject Guides

Immigration Research Guide: History and Background Information

This guide is intended to provide information sources including links concerning the topic of immigration. Sources range from books to library databases to reputable web sites.

Books

Helmut K. Anheier and others, editors.  Encyclopedia of Global Studies (Thousand Oaks, Calif.:  SAGE, 2012).  Location:  Electronic.   Click here.

G. Honor Fagan and Ronaldo Munck, editors.  Globalization and Security:  An Encyclopedia (Santa Barbara, Calif.:  Praeger Security International, 2009).  Location:  RBD Library, 1st. Floor, under call number D 763 .M47 G56 2009.

James Loucky and others, editors.  Immigration in America Today:   An Encyclopedia  (Westport, Conn.:  Greenwood Press, 2006).  Location:  RBD Library, 3rd. Floor, under call number JV 6465 .I4754 2009.

Neil J. Smelser and Paul B. Baites, editors.  International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences.  (New York:  Elsevier, 2001).  Location:  RBD Library, Reference Collection, 2nd. Floor, under call number H 41 .I58 2001

Yearbook of Immigration Statistics.  (Washington, D.C.:  U.S. Department of Homeland Security, Office of Immigration Statistics, 1996- ).  Location:  Electronic.   Click here.

Yearbook of the United Nations.  (Title varies).   (Department of Public Information, United Nations, 1947-   ).   Location:  Electronic.   Click here

 

Library Databases

Locate journal articles through these databases.

Academic Search Premier

A multi-disciplinary database containing full text for thousands of publications, many of which are peer-reviewed. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for many more journals. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study..

PAIS Index 

Covers issues in the public debate through selective coverage of a variety of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, and web content from 1972 to present.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts

Citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its related fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy

JSTOR

Provides access to several collections of backfiles of scholarly publications covering the social sciences, humanities, and sciences. JSTOR includes the full runs of each journal, generally up to 1-7 years from the present. Note: Auburn University subscribes to the Arts & Sciences I & II Collections and the Life Sciences Collection.

Project Muse

Offers journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers and covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others. Note: Auburn subscribes to the Standard package.

 

America:  History and Life

Historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.

 

Historical Abstracts

Historical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present excluding the United States and Canada

Web Sites

European University Institute (Migration Policy Centre)

Conducts advanced policy-oriented research on global migration, asylum and mobility. It serves governance needs at European and global levels, from developing, implementing and monitoring migration-related policies to assessing their impact on the wider economy and society.

 

HURIDOCS HuriSearch

  A "human rights search engine." HuriSearch enables one to search the content of over 5000 websites. In total over ten million pages of human rights-specific web content   HURIDOCS = Human Rights Information and Documentation Center.

 

Migration Integration Policy Index

Integration policy data for (so far) 38 countries in 8 policy areas.Produced by the Migration Policy Group and Centre for International Affairs (CIIDOP), Barcelona.

 

OECD iLibrary

Vast array of resources produced by the Organisation for Economic Co-Operation and Development.