Dictionary of Literary Biography. Multi-volume set covering different time periods and genres contains essay length career biographies. Entries may also include some criticism, explication, and plot synopses.
Selective print volumes: PS 221 .D515 (non-circulating)
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography. Biographical entries focusing on the lives of people who shaped the history of Britain and beyond from the 4th century BC to the 21st century. Entries contain such information as date and place of birth, baptism, marriage, and death dates, place of burial, parental information, records of siblings and other noteworthy family members, education and occupational history, and portraits. Each essay includes additional references.
2004 print edition: REF DA 28 .O95 2004
Dictionary of National Biography: From the Earliest Times to 1900
Reprint: Oxford University Press REF DA 28 .D47
American National Biography Biographies of American figures including occupation, birthplace, and birth year.
1999 print edition: REF CT 213 .A68 1999
Dictionary of American Biography. Biographies of American figures including occupation, birthplace, and birth year.
1964 print edition: REF E 176 .D563 1964
Contemporary Authors. A bio-bibliographical guide to current writers in fiction, general nonfiction, poetry, journalism, drama, motion pictures, television, and other fields. Provides complete biographical and bibliographical references for more than 120,000 authors in the U.S. and around the world.
Print volumes: PN 453 . C615 &.C617 (Last volume 137, 2005)
Scribner Writers Series. Includes some 1,600 full-text articles on writers and literary genres drawn from thirteen acclaimed print sets. Each signed article was written by a noted scholar and concludes with a bibliography of primary and secondary sources.
Print volumes: PN 453 . C615 &.C617 (Last volume 137, 2005
Twayne’s Authors Series. Critical introductions to the lives and works of writers, to the history and influence of literary movements, or the development of literary genres. The online version provides access to Twayne's U.S. Authors, Twayne's English Authors, and Twayne's World Authors.
Print volumes: PN 453 . C615 &.C617 (Last volume 137, 2005 By Genre/Period
Note: Many biographical volumes may be found by searching the online catalog using author, date or genre, combined with ‘biography’.