Dictionary of Literary BiographyThis link opens in a new windowMulti-volume set covers different time periods and genres and contains essay-length career biographies. Entries may also include some criticism, explication, and plot synopses.
Selective print volumes: PS 221 .D515 (non-circulating)
Note: Many biographical volumes may be found by searching the Libraries catalog using author, date or genre, combined with "biography."
Oxford Dictionary of National BiographyThis link opens in a new windowBiographical entries focusing on the lives of people who shaped the history of Britain and beyond from the 4th century BC to the 21st century. Entries contain such information as date and place of birth, baptism, marriage, and death dates, place of burial, parental information, records of siblings and other noteworthy family members, education and occupational history, and portraits. Each essay includes additional references.
2004 print edition: REF DA 28 .O95 2004
Biographies of American figures including occupation, birthplace, and birth year. Closed Stacks - Ask at Circulation Desk Accession Numbers: 225508-225540 Non-circulating
Contemporary AuthorsThis link opens in a new windowA bio-bibliographical guide to current writers in fiction, general nonfiction, poetry, journalism, drama, motion pictures, television, and other fields. Provides biographical and bibliographical references for more than 120,000 authors in the U.S. and around the world.
Online access from 1998 to present. Earlier volumes in print: PN 453 .C615, PN 453 .C617, & PN 453 .C618.
Scribner Writer's SeriesThis link opens in a new windowIncludes some 1,600 full-text articles on writers and literary genres drawn from thirteen acclaimed print sets. Each signed article was written by a noted scholar and concludes with a bibliography of primary and secondary sources.
Twayne's Authors SeriesThis link opens in a new windowCritical introductions to the lives and works of writers, to the history and influence of literary movements, or the development of literary genres. The online version provides access to Twayne's U.S. Authors, Twayne's English Authors, and Twayne's World Authors.
