Download Adobe Digital EditionsMoving items to an eReader via Adobe Digital EditionsSharing a copy of Adobe Digital EditionsAdobe Digital Editions Compatible E-Readers and Software
Previewing an EBL titlePreviewing an Ebrary titlePreviewing an EBSCO eBook title
Downloading eBooks from EBLDownloading eBooks from EbraryDownloading eBooks from EBSCO eBooksDownloading eBooks from Springer eBooks
Full text searching within EBL's eBook CollectionFull text searching within Ebrary's eBook collectionFull-text searching within EBSCO's eBooks collectionFull text searching within Springer's eBook collection
This is the "Before you start" page of the "Electronic Books" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Electronic Books   Tags: e-books, ebooks, electronic books, reference, research  

Last Updated: Sep 19, 2014 URL: http://libguides.auburn.edu/ebooks Print Guide RSS Updates

Before you start Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Important Points:

  • Many of our ebooks are available only to current faculty, students, and staff at Auburn University and may require a login.
  • Auburn University Libraries purchases ebooks to support the instructional, research, and outreach mission of Auburn University, consequently most of our electronic books are academic in nature.
  • Auburn Public Library is an excellent resource for recreational reading; they have a large collection of ebooks in a variety of formats.
  • AU Libraries cannot purchase books in Kindle format. Books must be available in PDF or EPub format in order to be considered for purchase. 
  • AU Libraries' ebooks can be read on computers, tablets, smartphones or other portable devices with Internet access; however, to download ebooks, you must have an Adobe Digital ID and be able to download Adobe Digital Editions or an app like Bluefire to your device. Click the Adobe Digital Editions tab for more information on downloading Adobe Digital Editions.
 

eBook Quick Guide

eBook Quick Guide
 
 

EBL

EBSCO ebooks Ebrary Springer

Do I need a special account login?

No, but both on- and off-campus users will login with their AU ID and password credentials

Yes Yes No but off-campus users will login with their AU ID and password credentials

Is there a limited loan period?


1 or 7 days - limited simultaneous users

 

Users are limited to 5 downloads

1-7 days - limited simultaneous users

7 days - limited simultaneous users

None - PDF download 

Springer eBooks also has a “My Copy” option to purchase a soft-cover book for $25.00

Do I need special software to download?


Download to a computer or portable device with Adobe Digital Editions to read there or move to an eReader device.

May be able to download directly to a tablet with the Bluefire app.

Download to a computer with Adobe Digital Editions to read there or to move to an eReader device. 

May be able to download directly to a tablet with the Bluefire app.

You can do a page at a time as simple PDFs.

Full Download to a computer with Adobe Digital Editions to read there or move to an eReader device.

May be able to download directly to a tablet with the Bluefire app.

Adobe Acrobat - files are simple PDFs with no digital rights management (DRM) restrictions

Can I cut and paste from the online preview?

To print or copy from the the EBL Online Reader, you are required to install Adobe Reader.

No

Yes (access preview through Table of Contents link).

No, but PDF download is simple and has no checkout period limit.

Can I cut and paste from the download?

You may print a limited number of pages (20%) and copy a limited amount of text (5%). These limits are displayed and tracked in the e-book interface.

Yes Yes Yes

Can I keyword search the full-text of the vendor's eBook collection?

Yes, from the EBL vendor platform 

(not from the library catalog) Instructions

Yes, from the EBSCO vendor platform

(not from the library catalog) Instructions

Yes, from the Ebrary vendor platform

(not from the library catalog)  Instructions

Yes, from the Springer vendor platform (limit your search to Books)

(not from the library catalog) Instructions

Auburn University Libraries | 231 Mell Street | Auburn, Alabama 36849 | (334) 844-1737 or (800) 446-0387 |

Follow The Libraries on Twitter Follow the Auburn Libraries on Flickr Follow the Auburn Libraries on Facebook

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip