- GrayLit Network http://www.osti.gov/graylit/
- Technical reports from U.S. Government Agencies such as Defense, Energy, EPA and NASA.
- AUETD (Auburn University Theses and Dissertations) http://www.lib.auburn.edu/AUETD
- Provides access to Auburn University theses and dissertations.
- Dissertation Abstracts http://www.lib.auburn.edu/DA
- Citations for U.S. dissertations since 1861. Dissertations with 350-word abstracts since 1980. Twenty-four page PDF preview for most dissertations since 1996. Master's theses with 150-word abstracts since 1988.
Finding Journals in the Library Catalog
- Search the Auburn University library catalog to see if Auburn Libraries has the journal for the year(s) that you need either in print and/or via electronic access.
- Journal Abbreviation search in "Basic Search" Type the journal abbreviation in the search box on the AU Libraries Homepage. This works for many, but not all journal abbreviations. If this does not find the journal, you must try method 2 or 4 below before concluding that AU Libraires does not have the journal.
- Journal Title search in "Basic Search" Select "Journal Title" from the pull-down menu for "Search By " in a "Basic Search". Type in the unabbreviated name of the journal. Do not include "The" or "A" if these are the first word in the journal title. It may not be necessary to type in the entire title because this search automatically right truncates. For example "chemistry a" will find the record for Chemistry: A European Journal, along with 2 other journal titles. See Mystery Citations (below) to figure out what is the unabbreviated name of a journal.
- Title search in "Keyword Search" Select "Title" from the pull-down menu for "Search By" in a "Keyword Search". Type in full words from the journal title or partial words ended with a question mark, such as chem?. This type of search usually finds more titles than just the desired journal. For example, "chemistry european" finds 39 titles, while "chem? eur?" finds 94 titles. Both searches find the desired Chemistry: A European Journal.
- ISSN Number search in "Keyword Search" Every journal is assigned a unique 8-digit number of the form xxxx-xxxx. In a "Keyword Search" select "ISSN" from the pull-down menu for "Search By". Type in the ISSN Number.
- Still can't find the journal in AubieCat for the year(s) you need?
- In most cases, you can get a copy of the article via Interlibrary Loan, Ingenta, or the Linda Hall Library. See Delivery Services for more information.
Lists of journal titles available at AU Libraries
- E-journals at AU Libraries includes all subject areas, not just physics.
- Physics--General E-journals at AU Libraries
- Selected list of physics journals.
- Note: If you don't see a journal you need on these two lists, AU Libraries may still have it. Check the Auburn University library catalog.
- Is there something wrong with your reference? Did Interlibrary Loan return your request because the article or book does not seem to exist? If the advice below does solve the problems, contact the physics librarian or Interlibaray Loan for help.
- Having trouble unravelling an unfamiliar abbreviation to the full journal title? To search for a journal in AubieCat, you need either the full name of the journal or its ISSN number (xxxx-xxxx).
Online Resources to "Unravel" Journal Abbreviations
Medline and National Library of Medicine Abbreviation
- LocatorPlus http://locatorplus.gov/cgi-bin/Pwebrecon.cgi?DB=local&PAGE=First Search on part, or all, of the journal abbreviation.
CAS Document Detective Service Title Search
- Keyword search on journal title words (automatic right truncation on all words). For example Zh Neoorg Khim finds Zhurnal Neorganischeskoi Khimii. But Recl Trav Chim Pays-Bas does not find Recueil des Travaux Chimique des Pays-Bas
Print Resources to "Unravel" Journal Abbreviations
Chemical Abstracts Service Source Index (CASSI) Ref Desk QD 1 .C473
- This is the best resource to convert abbreviations into full titles. Contains most journals, conference proceedings, and book series indexed by Chemical Abstracts.
Periodical Title Abbreviations: By Title Ref Desk Z 6945 .A2 W34 2001
- Less informative than CASSI, but easier to use.
Miscellaneous Physics Web Sites
How Things Work
National Geophysical Data Center
NIST Chemistry WebBook
NSSDC National Space Science Data Center
Online Courses: Physics
Periodic Table of Elements
Physical Law List
Superstring Theory Website
Table of the Nuclides
Societies & Associations
AAS American Astronomical Society
AGU American Geophysical Union
AIP American Institute of Physics
ANS American Nuclear Society
APS American Physical Society
ASA Acoustical Society of America
DOE Department of Energy
EPS European Physical Society
IOP Institute of Physics
IAE International Atomic Energy Agency
NIST National Institute of Standards and Technology Physics Laboratory
OSA Optical Society of America