Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Technical reports from U.S. Government Agencies such as Defense, Energy, EPA and NASA.
Finding Journals in the Library Catalog
- Search the Auburn University library catalog to see if Auburn Libraries has the journal for the year(s) that you need either in print and/or via electronic access.
- Journal Abbreviation search in "Basic Search" Type the journal abbreviation in the search box on the AU Libraries Homepage. This works for many, but not all journal abbreviations. If this does not find the journal, you must try method 2 or 4 below before concluding that AU Libraires does not have the journal.
- Journal Title search in "Basic Search" Select "Journal Title" from the pull-down menu for "Search By " in a "Basic Search". Type in the unabbreviated name of the journal. Do not include "The" or "A" if these are the first word in the journal title. It may not be necessary to type in the entire title because this search automatically right truncates. For example "chemistry a" will find the record for Chemistry: A European Journal, along with 2 other journal titles. See Mystery Citations (below) to figure out what is the unabbreviated name of a journal.
- Title search in "Keyword Search" Select "Title" from the pull-down menu for "Search By" in a "Keyword Search". Type in full words from the journal title or partial words ended with a question mark, such as chem?. This type of search usually finds more titles than just the desired journal. For example, "chemistry european" finds 39 titles, while "chem? eur?" finds 94 titles. Both searches find the desired Chemistry: A European Journal.
- ISSN Number search in "Keyword Search" Every journal is assigned a unique 8-digit number of the form xxxx-xxxx. In a "Keyword Search" select "ISSN" from the pull-down menu for "Search By". Type in the ISSN Number.
- Still can't find the journal in AubieCat for the year(s) you need?
- In most cases, you can get a copy of the article via Interlibrary Loan, Ingenta, or the Linda Hall Library. See Delivery Services for more information.
List of Physics journals
- Is there something wrong with your reference? Did Interlibrary Loan return your request because the article or book does not seem to exist? If the advice below does solve the problems, contact the physics librarian or Interlibaray Loan for help.
- Having trouble unravelling an unfamiliar abbreviation to the full journal title? To search for a journal in AubieCat, you need either the full name of the journal or its ISSN number (xxxx-xxxx).
Online Resources to "Unravel" Journal Abbreviations
Print Resources to "Unravel" Journal Abbreviations
Miscellaneous Physics Web Sites
Societies & Associations
Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier is a large multi-disciplinary database containing full text for thousands of publications, many of which are peer-reviewed. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for many more journals. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study.
Web of Science
Web of Science is the online version of the print and CD-ROM versions of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & humanities citation index; Science citation index (called Science citation index expanded, in online version); and, Social sciences citation index. (5 simultaneous users)
Dissertations & Theses
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses includes the full text of most U. S. dissertations and master's thesis from 1995 forward. The database also includes citations for materials ranging from the first U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861, to those accepted as recently as last semester; those published from 1980 forward also include 350-word abstracts, written by the author. Citations for master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts.
Research Grants Opportunities
Central site for posting and applying for American research grants.