Subject Guides: ENGL 2250: Sommers: Welcome

English & Psychology Librarian

Jaena Alabi

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

231 Mell Street
Auburn, AL 36849-5606

334-844-1767

Subjects: English Language & Literature, Psychology

Recommended databases

As you work through your team research skills assignment, you may want to search or browse the recommended databases in this list.

Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Searchable database containing digital images of 19th-century newspapers presented as full page layouts as well as single articles; advertisements and illustrations included. Collection includes newspapers from urban and rural regions throughout the U.S.
Early American Imprints, Series I, Evans This link opens in a new window
Covering American history and literature through the colonial period up to the eighteenth century, this database is a full-text digitization of the microform set Early American Imprints, Series I (1639-1800), which was itself based on the American bibliography of Charles Evans and enhanced by Roger Bristol's Supplement to Evans' American bibliography. Offers fully searchable text and a browse feature with topical indexes. Evans Digital Edition makes available the full text of nearly every book, pamphlet, and broadside published during this period.
HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
HathiTrust is a large-scale collaborative repository of digital content from research libraries. It includes content digitized as part of the Google Books project and Internet Archive digitization initiatives, as well as content digitized locally by member libraries. Materials are available to the extent permitted by copyright law. As of March 2015, the HathiTrust digital library contained over 13 million digitized volumes, of which almost 5 million volumes were in the public domain (source: http://www.hathitrust.org/statistics_visualizations).
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection. This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1691 and 1877. Subject coverage includes: advertising, health, women's issues, science, the history of slavery, industry and professions, religious issues, culture and the arts.
African American Newspapers, Series 1: 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window
American Newspapers, Series 1, features 280 newspapers published for or by African Americans from 35 states. The collection includes many rare and historically significant 19th-century titles, including Freedom's Journal (NY)-the first African American newspaper published in the United States-The Colored Citizen (KS), Arkansas State Press, Rights of All (NY), Wisconsin Afro-American, New York Age, L'Union (LA), Northern Star and Freeman's Advocate (NY), Richmond Planet, Cleveland Gazette, The Appeal (MN).
Accessible Archives This link opens in a new window
Accessible Archives is devoted to primary source material in American history. Information archived is from leading historical periodicals and books, and includes eyewitness accounts of historical events, descriptions of daily life, editorial observations, commerce as seen through advertisements, and genealogical records. Transcribed individual entries are complete with full bibliographic citations and are organized chronologically.
Women and Social Movements in the United States 1600-2000 This link opens in a new window
Organized by historiographic questions, each of which includes an interpretative essay and related primary source materials. It also includes book, film, & website reviews, as well as teaching strategies.
Defining Gender, 1450-1910 This link opens in a new window
Primary source materials from British and European libraries and archives, organized by themes: conduct & politeness, domesticity & the family, consumption & leisure, education & sensibility, and the body. Each thematic area contains essays written by scholars that directly relate to the source materials.
Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America This link opens in a new window
This resource focuses on interactions between American Indians and Europeans from their earliest contact, continuing through the turbulence of the American Civil War, the on-going repercussions of government legislation, up to the civil rights movement of the mid-twentieth century. It contains material from the Newberry Library's extensive Edward E. Ayer Collection and also includes manuscripts, artwork, rare books, photographs and newspapers, treaties, speeches and diaries, historic maps and travel journals.

Images from the History of Medicine
Images from the History of Medicine (IHM) in NLM Digital Collections provides online access to images from the historical collections of the U.S. National Library of Medicine. IHM includes image files of a wide variety of visual media including fine art, photographs, engravings, and posters that illustrate the social and historical aspects of medicine dating from the 15th to 21st century.

Search for books owned by Auburn University Libraries

Catalog

Classic Catalog

Finding scholarly articles and book reviews

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Premier is a large multi-disciplinary database containing full text for thousands of publications, many of which are peer-reviewed. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for many more journals. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study.

Citing your sources

Style guides, such as the MLA Handbook, set out to create a standardized format for documenting sources used in a paper. The intent is to make it easier for other readers and scholars to quickly locate the referenced material. With the proliferation of so many different types of information sources now--YouTube videos, Tweets, blogs and comments on blogs, in addition to more traditional sources such as books and journal articles--the Modern Language Association (MLA) with the 8th edition of its handbook focuses more on guiding principles rather than an exhaustive list of rules for each kind of information source. Those guiding principles are listed below:

Cite simple traits shared by most works
Remember that there is often more than one correct way to document a source.
Make your documentation useful to readers.

The basic structure of a citation will be as follows:
Author. Title of source. Title of container. Other contributors. Version, Number, Publisher, Publication date, Location.

If your entry is longer than a single line, all lines after the first one should be indented (which I can't show well on this page).

Below are some examples provided in the Handbook for some of the sources you'll be using in this assignment.

An article in a journal, newspaper, or magazine

Baron, Naomi S. “Redefining Reading: The Impact of Digital Communication Media.” PMLA, vol. 128, no. 1, Jan. 2013, pp. 193-200.

Belton, John. "Painting by the Numbers: The Digital Intermediate." Film Quarterly, vol. 61, no. 3, Spring 2008, pp. 58-65.

An article from a newspaper in a database or digital collection

Craik, James, and Elisha C. Dick. “Treatment of General Washington in his Sickness.” Raleigh Register, vol 1., no. 13, 14 Jan. 1800. Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers, https://link-gale-com.spot.lib.auburn.edu/apps/doc/GT3012643299/NCNP?u=avl_auburnu&sid=NCNP&xid=dcf3f480. Accessed 5 Oct. 2020.

A book

Ellison, Ralph. Invisible Man. Vintage Books, 1995.

A book that is available online

Gikandi, Simon. Ngugi wa Thiong'o. Cambridget UP, 2000. ACLS Humanities E-book, hdl.handle.net/2027/heb.07588.0001.001.

An essay, a story, or a poem in a collection

Dewar, James A., and Peng Hwa Ang. “The Cultural Consequences of Printing and the Internet.” Agent of Change: Print Culture Studies after Elizabeth L. Eisenstein, edited by Sabrina Alcorn Baron et al., U of Massachusetts P / Center for the Book, Library of Congress, 2007, pp. 365-77.

Ephemera from a database or digital collection

Lewis, Mrs. W. L. “Freeda’s Sweet Sixteen Party.” Menu, Seating Arrangements, etc., 15 Apr. 1965. Memo. African American Communities, http://www.africanamericancommunities.amdigital.co.uk.spot.lib.auburn.edu/Documents/Details/ahc_MSS_0468_0003_0010_0001_0001. Access 5 Oct. 2020.

ENGL 2250: Sommers

English & Psychology Librarian

Recommended databases

Search for books owned by Auburn University Libraries

Search the Classic Catalog

Finding scholarly articles and book reviews

Citing your sources