Subject Guides: Sustainable Materials & Biopackaging: BIOP 2120

Welcome BIOP 2120 Students!

This guide is intended to help you find background and scientific information for your proposal and final project for Frontiers in Sustainable Biomaterials. Please feel free to contact me anytime with questions about searching for and evaluating literature.

News and Background Information

Use the UN Sustainable Development Goals webpage as your starting point! This breaks down the issues and the targeted outcomes. Not only does it general background information, it also includes detailed reports, recordings of presentations and conferences, and news.

Links on the Subject Databases & Websites page

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window The CQ Researcher explores a single hot issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology. There are 44 reports produced each year including four expanded reports.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window Provides access to various databases, including current news, business information, company directories, federal and state laws, regulations, legal cases, etc.

Essential Scientific Databases

GreenFILE This link opens in a new window A searchable database of information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Scholarly, governmental, and general-interest titles dating back to the 1970s include content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done on each level to minimize negative impact. Topics covered include climate change, global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. GreenFILE is multidisciplinary and draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window Web of Science is the online version of the print and CD-ROM versions of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & humanities citation index; Science citation index (called Science citation index expanded, in online version); and, Social sciences citation index. (5 simultaneous users)
Engineering Village This link opens in a new window Indexes engineering and technology journals, reports, monographs and conference proceedings from 1970 to the present. (3 simultaneous users)
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Provides access to much of the world's scholarly literature from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities. Results include peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, pre-prints, abstracts, technical reports, and scholarly articles available on the Web.

In-class Worksheet

BIOP 2120 Worksheet