A bibliographic reference to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada). Currently over 2,000 journals published throughout the world are covered. Historical Abstracts includes citations from a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities that are of special interest to researchers and students of history. Also, citations to useful historical books as reviewed by the most prestigious journals in the field and citations to abstracts of dissertations completed worldwide of particular interest for historical research.
JSTOR provides access to several collections of backfiles of scholarly publications covering the social sciences, humanities, and sciences. JSTOR includes the full runs of each journal, generally up to 1-7 years from the present. Note: Auburn University subscribes to the Arts & Sciences I & II Collections and the Life Sciences Collection.
Project MUSE offers journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers and covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
The newspapers and news pamphlets gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757 - 1817) represent the largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media.The 700 or so bound volumes of newspapers and news pamphlets were published mostly in London, however there are also some English provincial, Irish and Scottish papers, and a few examples from the American colonies, Europe and India.
A comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1691 and 1877. Subject coverage includes: advertising, health, women's issues, science, the history of slavery, industry and professions, religious issues, culture and the arts.
This resource focuses on interactions between American Indians and Europeans from their earliest contact, continuing through the turbulence of the American Civil War, the on-going repercussions of government legislation, up to the civil rights movement of the mid-twentieth century. It contains material from the Newberry Library's extensive Edward E. Ayer Collection and also includes manuscripts, artwork, rare books, photographs and newspapers, treaties, speeches and diaries, historic maps and travel journals.
Covering American history and literature through the colonial period up to the eighteenth century, this database is a full-text digitization of the microform set Early American Imprints, Series I (1639-1800), which was itself based on the American bibliography of Charles Evans and enhanced by Roger Bristol's Supplement to Evans' American bibliography. Offers fully searchable text and a browse feature with topical indexes. Evans Digital Edition makes available the full text of nearly every book, pamphlet, and broadside published during this period.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online provides full text of significant English-language and foreign-language titles printed in Great Britain during the eighteenth century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas encompassing the American Revolution, the Industrial Revolution, the French Revolution, and the Age of Reason.
HathiTrust is a large-scale collaborative repository of digital content from research libraries. It includes content digitized as part of the Google Books project and Internet Archive digitization initiatives, as well as content digitized locally by member libraries. Materials are available to the extent permitted by copyright law. As of March 2015, the HathiTrust digital library contained over 13 million digitized volumes, of which almost 5 million volumes were in the public domain (source: http://www.hathitrust.org/statistics_visualizations).
Collections on the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S. as well as in Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions.
This collection documents key aspects of the history of slavery worldwide over six centuries, with 16 areas of focus: slavery in the early Americas; African coast; the Middle Passage; slavery and agriculture; urban and domestic slavery; slave testimony; spiritualism and religion in slave communities; resistance and revolts; the Underground Railroad; the abolition movement and the slavery debate; legislation and politics; freed slaves, freedmen and free black settlements; education; slavery and the Islamic world; varieties of slave experience; slavery today and the legacy of slavery. Also includes case studies from North America, the Caribbean, Brazil, and Cuba.