If you have an idea of what you'd like to research, take a couple of minutes to brainstorm relevant keywords and then head to one of our databases to search for relevant articles. We've recommended a couple of databases for several disciplines below.
Multidisciplinary Scholarly Sources
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to several collections of backfiles of scholarly publications covering the social sciences, humanities, and sciences. JSTOR includes the full runs of each journal, generally up to 1-7 years from the present. Note: Auburn University subscribes to the Arts & Sciences I & II Collections and the Life Sciences Collection.
Project MUSE - Standard Collection This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE offers journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers and covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
Art & Architecture Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text coverage of more than 240 periodicals and more than 150 books. Art & Architecture Complete also provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 630 academic journals, magazines and trade publications as well as for over 150 books. The database also provides selective coverage for more than 50 additional publications.
Avery Index This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive listing of journal articles on architectural design, the history and practice of architecture, historic preservation, interior design and city planning. The Index currently produces 15,000 citations per year from approximately 800 journals published in more than 40 countries. Seventy-five percent of the journals are not covered elsewhere.
ArtStor This link opens in a new window
ArtStor is a growing digital library that includes more than 300 collections over 2.5 million images that cover a wide range of subject areas.
ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window
ProQuest One Business is a comprehensive business database that includes over 2,800 scholarly journals, more than 2,500 magazines and trade journals, 27,000 e-books, 21,000 streaming videos, and the content of over 130 newspapers. This resource also includes thousands of market, country, and industry reports, more than 25,000 case studies and business cases, and over 55,000 dissertations.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Provides full text articles for business journals--and other periodicals--covering management, economics, finance, accounting and international business. Also includes indexing and abstracts for other journals/periodicals.
EconLit This link opens in a new window
Produced by the American Economics Association, EconLit indexes and abstracts more than 450 international economic journals. EconLit source material includes journal articles, essays, research papers, books, dissertations, book reviews, and working papers. The database contains more than 350,00 records and covers subjects from accounting, consumer economics, monetary policy, labor, marketing, demographics, modeling, economic theory, planning, and more. The database contains records from 1969-present with approximately 15,000 records added annually.
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Education Research Complete is the definitive online resource for education research. This massive file offers the world's largest and most complete collection of full text education journals. It is a bibliographic and full text database covering scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete also covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,820 journals, as well as full text for more than 900 journals. This database also includes full text for 71 books and monographs, and full text for numerous education-related conference papers.
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Contains summaries of the world's journal literature in psychology and related disciplines, as well as dissertations and technical reports. Covers over 1300 journals in over 30 languages from approximately 50 countries. To integrate behavioral information from other fields, PsycINFO scans publications from related disciplines such as sociology, linguistics, education, medicine, law, physiology, business, psychiatry, and anthropology, and represents those relevant to psychology.
Engineering (including Computer Science)
Ei Compendex This link opens in a new window
Ei Compendex, often shortened to Compendex, indexes engineering and technology journals, monographs, and conference proceedings. Auburn University's subscription to Ei Compendex is hosted on the Engineering Village platform and includes online coverage from 1884 to present.
Health Sciences and Medicine
MEDLINE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
The complete MEDLINE database, including such topics as microbiology, delivery of health care, nutrition, pharmacology, and environmental health. The categories covered in the database include anatomy, organisms, diseases, chemicals and drugs, techniques and equipment, psychiatry and psychology, biological sciences, physical sciences, social sciences and education, technology, agriculture, food, industry, humanities, information science and communications, and health care.
CINAHL This link opens in a new window
Provides authoritative coverage of the literature related to nursing and allied health fields including: cardiopulmonary technology, emergency service, health education, medical laboratory, medical assistant, medical records, occupational therapy, physical therapy, physician assistant, radiologic technology, technology therapy, social service and surgical technology.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Provides historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes information abstracted from over 2,000 journals published worldwide.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
A bibliographic reference to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada). Currently over 2,000 journals published throughout the world are covered. Historical Abstracts includes citations from a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities that are of special interest to researchers and students of history. Also, citations to useful historical books as reviewed by the most prestigious journals in the field and citations to abstracts of dissertations completed worldwide of particular interest for historical research.
Criminal Justice Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This database covers international journals, books, reports, dissertations and unpublished papers on criminology and related disciplines. It contains indexes and summaries of international journal articles, books, and governmental and non-governmental reports on a wide range of topics in criminal justice.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of legal and government information that includes full-text documents for Case Law, U.S. Statutes, U.S. Congressional materials, all U.S. treaties, the State Constitution of Alabama, and other Alabama resources, as well as many other collections, treatises, and presidential documents. Auburn University's paid subscription includes HeinOnline Academic, FastCase Premium, and the Alabama State Package, as well as multiple databases made freely available by HeinOnline.
Westlaw This link opens in a new window
WestlawNext is a online legal research tool that includes: Decisions and case law from the courts of all 50 states and the federal courts in addition to over a million unpublished cases; Laws from all 50 states and federal statutes as published in the United States Code Annotated; Federal regulations published in the Federal Register and the Code of Federal Regulations; American Law Reports; American Jurisprudence 2d; and law review and legal journal articles.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides access to various databases, including current news, business information, company directories, federal and state laws, regulations, legal cases, etc.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Produced by the Modern Language Association of America, the index consists of bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore, and includes coverage from 1926 to the present. Provides access to scholarly research in over 3,000 journals and series, and covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies, and other formats.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides non-evaluative abstracts of articles from approximately 2,000 serials published worldwide, coverage of recent books, enhanced dissertation listings from Dissertation Abstracts International, and bibliographic citations for book reviews that appear in journals abstracted for Sociological Abstracts LLC. Coverage from 1973 to the present.
Sociology and Anthropology
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
A primary resource for research sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database draws information from an international selection of over 2,600 journals and other serials publications, plus conference papers, books, and dissertations.
