Military Families: Military Web Resources

               The below databases can only be viewed by patrons with an Auburn University email and password!

Academic Search Premier -Academic Search Premier is a large multi-disciplinary database containing full text for thousands of publications, many of which are peer-reviewed. Be sure to combine the term "foundation" or "nonprofit" with other search terms because this is a general academic database.

Business Source Premier-Provides full-text articles for business journals--and other periodicals--covering management, economics, finance, accounting, and international business. Also includes indexing and abstracts for other journals/periodicals.

CQ Researcher-Is the choice of researchers seeking original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news.

GreenFile -Multidisciplinary database of information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Topics covered include global warming, climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.

Jstor -Provides access to several collections of backfiles of scholarly publications covering the social sciences, humanities, and sciences. JSTOR includes the full runs of each journal, generally up to 1-7 years from the present. *Note: Auburn University subscribes to the Arts & Sciences I & II and Life Sciences collections.

Military & Government Collection- Periodicals, academic journals, government documents, and primary sources covering topics of interest to all branches of the military

Nexis Uni - Comprehensive database of legal materials, including cases, statutes, and regulations of the U.S. government and the various state governments; case law from 1789 to present; current and historical statutes and regulations from 1980 forward.

Opposing Viewpoints- Is a rich resource for debaters and includes viewpoints, reference articles, infographics, news, images, video, audio, and more.

PTSDpubs This database, formerly PILOTS, is produced by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs National Center for PTSD. The database provides citations and abstracts to the worldwide literature on PTSD and other psychological effects of trauma.

      ​​​​​​

• Air University Library Index to Military Periodicals -This link opens in a new window Military and Aeronautical sciences
• Center for Strategic & International Studies -Provides strategic insights and practical policy solutions to decision-makers committed to advancing global security and prosperity.
• Center of Military History Online Bookshelves (U.S. Army)- The CMH collects, preserves, interprets, and expresses the Army's history and material culture to more broadly educate and develop the force, the military profession, and the nation.
• Combined Arms Research Library (CARL) Digital Library- Primarily composed of digital versions of paper documents from the CARL collections and student papers produced at the U.S. Army Command and General Staff College. CARL has recently partnered with several Army educational and historical organizations whose collections appear here also.
• Defense Technical Information Center- The Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC) serves the Department of Defense community as the largest central resource for DoD and government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business-related information available today.
• Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL)-Military and Security Studies, Political Science
• Institute for National Strategic Studies (National Defense University)- INSS conducts research in support of the academic and leader development programs at the National Defense University, provides strategic support to the Secretary of Defense, Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff, and unified combatant commands, and interacts with other U.S. Government agencies and the broader national security community.
• International Crisis Group: Reports & Briefings- Today, the International Crisis Group is generally regarded as the world's leading source of information, analysis, and policy advice on preventing and resolving deadly conflict.
• Military Education Research Library Network (MERLN)- MERLN is a consortium of military education research libraries working together to provide access to various unique resources for researchers and scholars. The National Defense University Libraries staff in Washington, D.C., and Norfolk, VA, maintain the MERLN website.
• National Defense University Press- Publishes and disseminates vital and complex defense and national security scholarship in a variety of media to inform and influence defense and policy decision-makers, as well as the joint professional military education community and the interested public
• National Security Archive (The George Washington University)- Declassified documents about the U.S.'s national security, foreign, intelligence, and economic policies.
• RAND Corporation: Reports- RAND's research and analysis address issues that impact people worldwide, including security, health, education, sustainability, growth, and development. Most publicly available research documents published since 1998 are available for purchase through the RAND website and a free download option.
• Strategic Studies Institute (U.S. Army War College)- The Strategic Studies Institute is the U.S. Army's geostrategic and national security research and analysis institute. SSI studies are published by the Institute and distributed to critical strategic leaders in the Army and Department of Defense, the military educational system, Congress, the media, other think tanks and defense institutes, and major colleges and universities.
• Women in Service Studies- List links to studies about women in military service by various U.S. Department of Defense units.