The Library of Architecture, Design, and Construction (LADC) at Auburn University Libraries plays a crucial role in supporting both the academic and professional communities in various design-related fields. Here are some key aspects of the library's offerings and services:
Collection Focus: The library boasts a comprehensive collection of over 45,000 volumes that cover a wide range of disciplines within architecture, design, and construction. This includes areas such as architecture, building science, community planning, environmental design, graphic design, industrial design, interiors architecture, and landscape architecture.
Periodicals: In addition to its book collection, LADC subscribes to more than 100 domestic and foreign periodicals. This ensures that students, faculty, and professionals have access to the latest research, trends, and developments in their respective fields.
Research Assistance: The library provides research assistance to help users navigate its extensive collection and locate specific information for their projects and studies. This service is particularly valuable for students working on academic assignments or researchers conducting in-depth studies.
Extended Weeknight Hours: Recognizing the diverse schedules of its users, LADC offers extended weeknight hours. This accommodates the needs of students and professionals who may require access to library resources outside of regular business hours.
Specialized Technology and Equipment: The library is equipped with specialized technology and equipment relevant to the fields it supports. This may include software for design projects, specialized databases, printing and scanning facilities, and possibly equipment for model-making or prototyping.
Circulation of Materials: LADC offers circulation services, allowing users to borrow materials from its collection. This includes books, periodicals, and possibly other resources like multimedia materials or equipment, depending on availability and policies.
Community Resource: Beyond serving the university community, LADC also functions as a resource for professionals in related fields and for the local community. This broader access helps foster connections between academia and practice, supporting ongoing professional development and community engagement.
