Subject Guides: Law: Databases, Websites and Reference

Key Reference Sources

American Jurisprudence
Call Number: KF 154. A42 (3rd Floor)
Black’s Law Dictionary
Call Number: Ref KF 156. B532 (2nd Floor)
Click on title for online access.
Oxford Companion to American Law
Publication Date: 2009
The Bluebook: A Uniform System of Citation by Harvard Law Review Association et al.
Call Number: KF 246 .U5 v.21 2020 (2nd Floor - Reference)
ISBN: 0578666154
Publication Date: 2020
A Uniform System of Citation: The Bluebook is the definitive style guide for legal citation in the United States.
Oxford Companion to the Supreme Court of the United States
Publication Date: 2009
Great American Court Cases
Call Number: Ref KF 385. A4 G68 (2nd Floor)
Landmark Briefs and Arguments of the Supreme Court of the United States
Call Number: KF 101.9 .L36 (3rd Floor)
These volumes are shelved in a special location.They are located on the 3rd Floor in the window atrium area facing the Hotel and Conference Center.
Word’s and Phrases
Call Number: KF 156. W6712 (3rd Floor)

Law Databases

Westlaw
WestlawNext is a online legal research tool that includes: Decisions and case law from the courts of all 50 states and the federal courts in addition to over a million unpublished cases; Laws from all 50 states and federal statutes as published in the United States Code Annotated; Federal regulations published in the Federal Register and the Code of Federal Regulations; American Law Reports; American Jurisprudence 2d; and law review and legal journal articles.
Nexis Uni
Provides access to various databases, including current news, business information, company directories, federal and state laws, regulations, legal cases, etc.
HeinOnline Searchable database of legal and government information that includes full-text documents for Case Law, U.S. Statutes, U.S. Congressional materials, all U.S. treaties, the State Constitution of Alabama, and other Alabama resources, as well as many other collections, treatises, and presidential documents. Auburn University's paid subscription includes HeinOnline Academic, FastCase Premium, and the Alabama State Package, as well as multiple databases made freely available by HeinOnline.
ProQuest Congressional Brings together a vast amount of information published by and about the United States Congress. It provides a seamless link to the full range of legislative and public policy resources, including: Congressional documents and related resources as well as a number of publications such as the Congressional Record, United States Code, Statutes at Large, Code of Federal Regulations, and the National Journal. Includes indexing: CIS congressional indexes.