Journalism

American National Biography is the first new comprehensive biographical dicionary focused on American history to be published in seventy years. Produced under the auspices of the American Council of Learned Societies, the ANB contains over 17,500 profiles on historical figures written by anexpert in the field and completed with a bibliography. The scope of the work is enormous--from the earlest recorded European explorations to the very recent past.

Print copy located in Petrie Collection - (Grnd Flr): E176 .A65

This is an excellent collection of two- to three-page biographical sketches of 500 noteworthy journalists from 1690 to the present. . . . This book, cross-indexed several ways, may become the takeoff point for thousands of term papers and should be in reference collections, as well as in all serious media collections. Library Journal This comprehensive reference offers nearly 500 biographical sketches, with bibliography, of significant journalists in American history, past and present, living and dead. Its subjects are drawn from the major mass media, including newspapers, radio, television, magazines, and film, and it provides a thorough representation of the various subfields of American journalism, such as reporters, editors, columnists, humorists, editorial cartoonists, illustrators, photographers, commentators, all types of correspondents, and sports journalists. Unlike similar volumes, this dictionary goes beyond the mainstream media to draw upon significant figures from the feminist and suffragist press, and the black press, and traces the development of American journalism from its beginning in Boston in 1690 to present global broadcast networks. The biographical sketches present perspectives on the lives of the people who help develop the big city and small city newspaper press, the regional press, the frontier press, the early radio and television news, and the radical and dissident press. Arranged alphabetically, each sketch includes a useful bibliography for further reference, and there is a general index as well as an appendix that lists the subjects according to media, professional fields and other categories. The broad scope of this valuable sourcebook will make it an indispensable aid in the fields of journalism and communications, and a useful addition to university and college libraries, metropolitan newspapers, national and local magazines, and broadcast networks and local stations in large cities.

A print copy is located in RBD Library under the call number E 176 .N28